We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people, great service and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sweet Dreams Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

It is placed among many other guesthouses and the employees are aleays smiling. The rooms are very clean and the restaurant is okay. All in all a good place for backpackers. There are tuk tuk drivers on the the street and they can take you anywhere you want to an okay price.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MathiasSteenstrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2013

I stayed at Sweet Dreams guesthouse for 2 months while volunteering at a local charity school and absolutely loved it! Spatious and clean rooms, good wifi, fantastic value and lovely staff. The location is great too, just a 10-15 minute walk from the centre and 1 min walk to a local store if you need something urgently. If lazy to walk, you can always take a tuk tuk and will be in a city centre in a few minutes. NiNi, the owner and his brother Chhany are wonderful people, very helpful, caring and friendly and speaking great English.There were a number of volunteers staying at the guesthouse for a longer period of time and also thanks to NiNi and his family it felt very friendly and relaxed, the guesthouse has its own restaurant where you can hang out too and it really felt like home. When we asked NiNi for help from booking the tickets, to general advice or to fix something in the room, it was done immediately. Aret and Peit working in the kitchen and housekeeping are very nice and sweet too and make the best pancakes in the world!

I have to comment on the negative review as well and agree with denlutay, why didn't the reviewer do something themselves instead of writing absolute nonsense about the staff not caring about their guests?!! I have never seen people who care about their guests more than NiNi and his family do and I have worked/stayed at a number of accommodation facilities! Don't hesitate to stay at Sweet Dreams, you definitely won't regret it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zuzanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Hello. I was in sweet dreams for 3 months and it was great! I did a volunteer program and I really felt in "home". All the staff and the owner, Mr. Nini, were so so friendly! Me and my friends used to call him our "cambodian father" because he really cared about us!

Besides, the guest house is located in a good and safe street, near the center. The rooms are really nice and you also have the restaurant where the food is... great!

I really recommend you to stay here if you want to feel wellcome in Cambodia!

I feel so thankfull to all your atention. I wont forget this place or the people here.

Okun Sharang Sweet Dreams! :)
Sara Silva - Portugal

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaraDuarteSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

it surely lives upto the name of family- run guesthouse.............................................guests are taken care of like family. awesome experience........ i highly recommend for those who are looking for a family atmosphere.......

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank IndiaPayal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed at sweet dreams guesthouse over christmas after a recommendation from a girl we met on the bus. And what a great place it was.

Located over the river from the main town and down a quiet little road we were given an excellent room for $6 which was more like a hotel room than the usual standard guesthouse travellers room. A massive kingsize bed, good fan, spotlessly clean with modern bathroom. We had a downstairs room but you can have upstairs rooms too - ask to see a few as some are newer than others. Rooms were well looked after while we were there - bins were emptied and clean towels were given when we asked for them.

The restaurant is great - good breakfasts and evening meals, Khymer and western if you want. You can rent bikes for a dollar a day to cycle around the temples. NiNi the boss can arrange transport to anywhere at a good price.

Concerning the bad reveiw - we were there at that time and we heard nothing (ok we were downstairs) but why didnt the reviewer go and tell the guy to shut up himself? The staff are really nice here and I can imagine a drunk westerner is quite an intimidation to a young cambodian who is on nightshift. The staff can not be held responsible for the actions of an idiot who can not handle his beer.

Back to the guesthouse - it is family run and NiNi's sons are always running about entertaining. The staff are really polite and friendly and most of the other guests are really great - it attracts a mixed crowd of backpackers, older tourists and volunteers staying for longer so it is a great place to meet people whilst having your breakfast or watching a dvd or using the free internet or wifi.

The town is a good 15 minute walk away but there are good local restaurants on the main road and the river is just a few minutes walk away.

All in all, it was a great place to spend christmas, we would go back again and I would highly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Some rooms are newer than others so have a look before settling for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denlutay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Hello everyone!
I have spent three months in Cambodia doing a volunteer program in an orphanage and I could not choose anything better than Sweet Dreams Guesthouse. The owner, Mr. Nini, was like a real father to me. If we needed anything he was always there! We always had great food, TukTuk, visa and bus arrangements, tours, etc.
The room is very Nice for a good price. You can also have a TV.
If you prefer you can also stay in a room with not only television but also hot water and air conditioner for a higher price.

When it comes to the people I have to say that the staff is really friendly and Mr. Nini knows how to speak English very well. It is very easy to meet people there as they have many backpackers tourists and volunteers. I have never had a problem there with the people. :)

Regarding the location I have to say that Sweet Dreams guesthouse is close to the city center, it is like 10 minutes walking from the pub street which is great if you like to go out at night. It is also a good place to meet local people and get the taste of the Cambodian life in Siem Reap.

Thank you for everything Sweet Dreams Guesthouse. You are like a big family to meet. I will never forget you.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudiaguerreiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

That was the most terrible night comparing to all guesthouses I ever been. The staff totally don't care about quests. From late evening they started some kind of furniture moving around the restaurant. It took for few hours. Ok, We can stand it. At midnight some drunk french guy came back from the town and started to kick and break his room dors as his mate was sleeping. He cobntinued to kick the doors, shout and scream, making noise from 24 to - 04 in the morning.... At first we didn't realize what was going on. All building was in such a noise. And nobody from the staff came to this drunk guy to let him in his room. Only at 04 in the morning some staff guy come to see what's going on. Everyone on that floor was wake up all the night.
Next morning we went to reception for explanation why did they do nothing when such things going on? And guess what. They showed us their silly smiles and pretended nothing happened there. They continue denying that there was no noise. And only when the same staff guy showed up, they somehow rememeber what was that night..... Such a marons. Never ever come back there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mantas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.6 mi away
Bambu Stay
Bambu Stay
#45 of 313 in Siem Reap
53 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hak's House Residence
Hak's House Residence
#44 of 313 in Siem Reap
333 reviews
0.8 mi away
Funky Flashpacker
Funky Flashpacker
#6 of 313 in Siem Reap
2,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Siem Reap Hostel
The Siem Reap Hostel
#4 of 313 in Siem Reap
1,181 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Siem Reap Chilled Backpacker
0.6 mi away
Onederz Hostel Siem Reap
Onederz Hostel Siem Reap
#5 of 313 in Siem Reap
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Dreams Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Dreams Guesthouse

Address: #0126 Wat Bo Street | Salakamreuk, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 313 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range: £7 - £11 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweet Dreams is a local family run guesthouse located in Siem Reap just 1km away from the city centre. We offer 24-hour security and friendly 24-hour English speaking reception. We have a big selection of affordable rooms ranging from basic rooms, standard rooms, and deluxe rooms with air-conditioning and cable TV. We also have a restaurant serving delicious food from 6am to 11pm. We have two areas for relaxation: one large terrace in the cool shade of the palm trees and one lounge area with a TV and DVD player, plus free DVDs to watch. There is also a free book exchange. We have two computers with internet access provided free of charge. Our staff are very knowledgeable about the area and are happy to arrange tours, transport and guides as required. Or we can just give you tips on the local area if you prefer to do your own thing. Additional services available include: laundry - $1/kg, free pick-up from airport, boat or bus station in Siem Reap, and coming soon bicycle rental will be available for $1/day. We look forward to meeting you. Nini, family and staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Sweet Dreams Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing