We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent all the way around”
Review of The City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The City
Ranked #309 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 23 September 2012

The place is a 10 minute walk from the center of Siem Reap. The rooms are dark due to dark lacquered wood, basic, with clean if not aged bathrooms. The staff's english is not the best but hey, you can make due. The place across the driveway has a pool. They tell you you have to pay $2 to use it, but just walk over there and jump in man.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UncleTravellingMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for The City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2012

Stayed here for 8 nights while doing volunteer work in the local area. Found this guesthouse online and it was the cheapest so booked it through there. Initially very hard to find (even the tuktuk drivers had no idea where it was - had to call for directions) the guesthouse is down a dirt track just off the main road to the airport. About a 30 min walk from pub street in the centre of Siem Reap, this guesthouse is not exactly central, but could be worse.
When I got to the guesthouse initially there was trouble with finding me a room, but in the end I got one right off the reception. The room was big and had a tall ceilings. The room was a little nosiy due to it being right next to reception, but I got used to that.
Staff were very helpful and friendly, but not many of them speak good English, and infact like to try and practise/learn English with you too.
Think this guesthouse was opened by a Japanese couple and caters to Japanese guests very well, including a manga bookcase available for guests to read!
Food at the guesthouse is cheap and good quality! Bikes are free for guests, which is great if you want to take a trip to Angkor Wat (which you have to go to!!!!), or the town centre.
If you are on a budget (like I was) then there are 2 supermarkets close to this guesthouse - reccmond star mart!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nightair91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Although on short notice, we were able to arrange for pick-up service from the bus station as we arrived at night in Siem Reap. We thought the driver would have left considering we were 30 minutes late, but we were happy that he was there waiting for us with a smile.
Upon arrival at the hotel, we were greeted with warm towels and complementary drinks which can be refilled freely. The use of their refrigerator is also free. Staff was very friendly, accommodating, and helpful - always with a smile.
We stayed there for 3 nights and the room we had was great. We were able to sleep restfully after traipsing around Angkor.
During our last day, Mr. Soh allowed us to stay and even use the shower in his room because our bus for HCM will be leaving at 12MN. He was very helpful, even called the bus company when they were late from picking us up. When we left, the staff and the owner all went at the gate and waved us goodbye - feels like a family.
For sure, when I go back to Siem Reap with my family, I will use the City again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

The stay did not start well, with them forgetting about the arranged airport pickup, and giving me an AC room which I paid for only to hpfind out they made a another mistake by forgetting the AC was broken. They were genuinely sorry and put me downstairs in the family room for no extra charge. The room was huge, and had cable TV in it, although the guesthouse restaurant is literally next to the window so things might get a bit loud at night. The next day I moved back into the original room with AC fully operational. The included breakfast was standard omelette and baguette, and a couple bananas. The bus booked to Phnom Penh was with Sokha Komar Tep company, and the bus was AC and decent. They also have their own tuk tuk driver for any purpose. The location is away from the main area of Siem Reap, and is hidden in a street off the main road. So keep the address handy, and otherwise it's not too long of a walk to the Siem Reap river.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomaszng07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

i loved the atmosphere at the hotel very quiet and relaxed ,and with the helpfull staff , nice beakfast and free refill of drinking water,I warmly recommend this place,
HPを見て予約しました。
気に入らなければすぐに移動しようと思っていたのですが
あまりの居心地の良さに17泊もしてしまいました。
それまで5ヶ月近く旅してきていろんな宿に泊まりましたが
これほどまでにコストパフォーマンスの高い宿は無かったです。
部屋は広くて清潔だし、オーナーのベンさんは日本語ペラペラで穏やかで
とても親切で、何度もお勧めのご飯屋さんに連れて行ってもらいました。
ここは大当たりです!
是非ともcityに滞在してシェムリアップを存分に楽しんでください。

Room Tip: infront room with Garden view and window .
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarou1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

value for money!
the staff is really friendly and help you in any manner. 24h reception and they can also organize for you every sort of visit at the temple (i recomendo to do at least 1 day by bike).
the room are very different. some big, other small, other w/o any window and a/c - and you are in cambodia, so it's a sort of owen - . so, when you arrive and DEAL for the price of the room, ask the guys to show you all the rooms in order to decide which one is better for you.
the first room we saw was really dirty, and they changed! the other one was ok!

the b&b it's not easy to find (small sign on the road) but it's on the national road so in good position. 10 min walking distance from bar street (1$ by tuk tuk) in a quiet location whre you can rest after a whole day in angkor wat!!!!!!!!!

not superb, but with 7$ we had a clean fan room, so..not bad!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fera_ed_san_lazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

I enjoyed staying here for 3 nite, free internet/wifi, free bfast, free bicycle n free airport pick up, though i missed it as i was told that i had to inform the GH directly which i didnt, thinking that the booker will liase with the GH, so please take note!
The boss Mr Soh was so flexible that he allowed me to stayed on; until my connecting bus to Phomn Penh arrived at nite without charging me, thanks Mr soh , Sokhim n ur great team in the GH, for making my stay a memorable one !

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kupek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.9 mi away
Lotus Blanc Resort
Lotus Blanc Resort
#37 of 361 in Siem Reap
2,271 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
1.0 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#38 of 361 in Siem Reap
5,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#48 of 361 in Siem Reap
892 reviews
1.0 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#20 of 361 in Siem Reap
3,672 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kiri Boutique Hotel
Kiri Boutique Hotel
#141 of 361 in Siem Reap
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The City

Address: Road No.6, #665, Group 7, Sala Kanseng, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #309 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: £10 - £16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Garden Villa and Restaurant is the Siem Reap Best Rate Accommodation Relaxing Environment with Private Tropical Garden, Full Services, Central Location, Interior Wooden Design, Volunteer Home Stay Programs, In Rooms Free WIFI internet, 24h Receptionist, Our conveniently located on main Road Number 6 in the heart of Siem Reap Quiet place, (1O minuts by Walk) to the Bank and ATM machine, We are (15 minutes by tuk tuk) from the fantastic Angkor Wat temple complex and (10 minutes by tuk tuk) from the famous Old Market, Night Market and Siem Reaps's renowned Pub Street, Old French Quarter, Near by is the Star-mart convenience store which is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week , Extra shopping Lucky Mall ( 5 minutes walk ) and go downtown in 10-15 min, But everything you need is at walking distance from the Hotel, Night Market ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The City Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing