We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel wity wonderful staff”
Review of The City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The City
Ranked #301 of 353 Hotels in Siem Reap
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ok hotel wity wonderful staff”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

The city hotel is very cheap. It is a hotel for those on a serious budget. The hotel isnt wonderful but the staff are. The workers are very understanding and cooperative. They try to make you as happy as possible which is good. The air conditioner was amazing and cold. Overall it was an ok stay in siem reap.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    17
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
3
10
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The City hotel is a good place to stay in Siem Reap. It is not exactly located in the cuty center (you will have to use a tuktuk to go the the old market area...) but it is not too bad neither. They have a very confortable relaxing common area where you can watch tv, talk to the other guests... the staff i welcoming. We would wake up very early to go Angkor, and they offered to serve us the breakfast anyway, so out of their working hours.

The rooms are confortable and clean, although they don't clean them during your stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms that have few to the garden otherwise you won't have a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miriam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnum Pénh, Phnum Penh, Cambodia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

incredible service, far walking distance to the main street, dollar or two by tuk tuk to pub street, quiet, well decorated, everything works, for an incredibly low price. I would choose this hotel if I RETURN to Cambodia.

Room Tip: air con recmmended, dorms are also great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

The staff are friendly and protective and hilarious. The rooms are clean and the breakfasts are very generous. The service for this price is amazing. The garden is pretty and restful. Mostly it is quiet. I was here a couple of weeks working in Siem Reap so an annoyingly loud bunch of Brits turned up on last night to wreck the tranquillity but usually the distance from Pub Street keeps the all night beer drinking crowd away. Free use of computers, late check out and good simple meals. If you're on a budget and want a family atmosphere this is the perfect option.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room, much the quietest and there's a lovely upstairs balcony to sit on and read...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sapporo, Japan
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This is a great little guesthouse about a 20 minute walk to the Old Market, which is nice because 99% of the Old Market area is a loud, obnoxious tourist trap. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the area is nice to walk around. The hotel has a fairly priced bar/restaurant with actually good local food, and some western dishes as well. And for US$2 you can use the pool at the hotel next door as well as get a free beer. The staff can all speak Japanese as well as English, so もし日本人だたら、みんなの従業員は日本語を話せます。
In Cambodia everywhere you go tuk-tuk (motorbike taxis) will annoy the hell out of you offering rides. It's easy to say "no" but it can be a bit tiring, they are all friendly, just persistent. I found my tuk-tuk driver eating in a restaurant, and he was just eating there and very friendly so I gave him my business. I paid a fair rate and was happy to tip him in the end. He took us to temples, restaurants, a far trip out-of-town (2hrs each way), a few trips to the airport (I met a friend), and trips into town. He also recommended places that were good, and off the beaten path a bit. Another completely randomly fact about my tuk-tuk driver was that he could speak a bit of Japanese, which was good because my friend that met me in Cambodia was Japanese, and doesn't speak English. He's a wonderfully nice guy and I was more than happy to use him for the 4 days. トゥクトゥク運転手も日本語を話せます。そして、彼がいい人です。 It's my pleasure to recommend him so contact me for his phone number: stuff2780[at]gmail[dot]com if you want to use him.

Room Tip: It gets pretty hot there so "splurge" for the A/C Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I enjoy the lay back, no hassle style and ever so helpful and friendly staff at the guest house. My children totally enjoy the environ and it was a joyous span of time them playing snooker for the first time. Imran & Aliya - how many times did you kids jump the ball to teh floor???

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zulfzr1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

The City itself is quite a nice guesthouse, and a good value for money. However, our stay was a fiasco. When we arrived around dinner time we were told there was a plumbing issue in our room and we were whisked away to another hotel where we spent the first night. Because of this, I remain convinced they had over booked, especially because once we were able to return the next day we were given a lovely 4 person room! Anyways, the hotel they brought us to was AWFUL!!!!!! Never let them bring you to Asia Happy Villa. So we were happy to get back to The City. Our room there was clean, bathroom had hot water (the one at the awful hotel had none), and through it all the staff was very pleasant and helpful.
We had some food in the little restaurant one evening and it was quite nice as well. We waited quite a while, but it was all fresh and steaming hot when it came out!
You can also arrange at the front desk for a tour guide for Angkor wat, which we did and really enjoyed him a lot! Just make sure to settle on a price from the start. We found many tricksters in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.0 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
1.0 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#42 of 353 in Siem Reap
5,000 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lotus Blanc Resort
Lotus Blanc Resort
#35 of 353 in Siem Reap
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#19 of 353 in Siem Reap
3,594 reviews
0.3 mi away
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Angkor Pearl Hotel
#89 of 353 in Siem Reap
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The City

Property: The City
Address: Road No.6, #665, Group 7, Sala Kanseng, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #301 of 353 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The City 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Garden Villa and Restaurant is the Siem Reap Best Rate Accommodation Relaxing Environment with Private Tropical Garden, Full Services, Central Location, Interior Wooden Design, Volunteer Home Stay Programs, In Rooms Free WIFI internet, 24h Receptionist, Our conveniently located on main Road Number 6 in the heart of Siem Reap Quiet place, (1O minuts by Walk) to the Bank and ATM machine, We are (15 minutes by tuk tuk) from the fantastic Angkor Wat temple complex and (10 minutes by tuk tuk) from the famous Old Market, Night Market and Siem Reaps's renowned Pub Street, Old French Quarter, Near by is the Star-mart convenience store which is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week , Extra shopping Lucky Mall ( 5 minutes walk ) and go downtown in 10-15 min, But everything you need is at walking distance from the Hotel, Night Market ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The City Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing