We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Tradition D'Angkor Boutique Resort
Ranked #295 of 353 Hotels in Siem Reap
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 2 December 2012

This was my family's second stay here. Both times it was for a group stay for the Angkor International Half Marathon weekend. Each time we were traveling in a group of students and staff, everyone at the hotel was helpful. The rooms are great, pool is perfect, and they helped to arrange so we could eat around our early schedules in regards to getting out/back from the races/events...
Off the main area of Siem Reap, but easy to get around and they have a shuttle to take you in to the city center

Room Tip: they offer real family suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CodyFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    33
    19
    5
    4
See reviews for
28
32
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

This hotel may lack in room internet service but it readily becomes available next to the pool and reception. It is out of town but this is a benefit as it is therefore much more peaceful. These are the only slight negatives in what was a wonderful stay. The staff hover waiting to anticipate your every move, the service even by Far Eastern standards was out of this world. Without being asked, the staff provided a wake up call tactfully just to our room not our son's the day of the sunrise trip to Angkor and also breakfast boxes for our trip. The breakfast is lavish and of good quality. The food and bar are very good. The rooms are beautiful and furnished in teak wood. We would definitely come back as there is such a charming atmosphere and beautiful gardens and rooms. The staff are so friendly and have a great sense of humour too. Just loved this place - it felt as if it had all the great aspects of historic Cambodia with wonderful service and amenities in a peaceful setting. Many thanks for making our trip so special.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahWeybridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane australia
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel because of a friend's recommendation and were very happy with our choice. As most of the reviews point out, it is a little way out of town, but only $3 by tuk tuk, and the hotel does have a free shuttle a couple of times a day as well. The Wi-fi is obviously an ongoing problem as most of the time we couldn't connect from our room as others have reported, but it was always available in the garden area and at reception.
The rooms are spacious and clean and the staff always friendly and helpful.
Can't believe that someone complained that the breakfast had few choices, as during our stay it was always a huge buffet with a great selection. The hotel also did a breakfast pack of fruit and pastries for the couple of mornings that we left do do sunrise at the temples ready to collect at 5am..
The gardens and pool area are beautifully maintained and it was delightful to have a massage (and a good one) in the pool side cabana on our last day.
If I have to find fault, it is the bathroom mirror that is so low placed it did not even reflect my neck (a good thing early morning, but not so much fun to shave !) and the pool bar staff that found it necessary to put on loud 80's music every time we settled in for a peaceful time by the pool. It was sort of funny, but perhaps I should have just asked for quiet?
Apart from that the place is pretty well perfect for a peaceful stay.

Room Tip: there are no lifts so if stairs are a problem ask for ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozteddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed here in early October and had the Royal Family Suite. Highly recommend this option for families with older kids as the rooms are huge and there is plenty of space to spread out. It accomodated our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 kids - 11 and 16) with ease and LOADS of room to spare.

In reality this hotel is probably somewhere around a 3.5 rating but I'm giving them the benefit of the doubt and bumping up to a 4 because a) I would easily and happily stay here again and b) the staff is really friendly and tries hard to correct any issue you point out to them.

With all that said, here are my assessments of our stay...

Positives...
+ Huge rooms. Really huge. The Royal family suite is 2 LARGE bedrooms (one king and one king plus a single), a large sitting/family room and 2 bath rooms (both large).
+ Very clean and everything is new and in good repair.
+ Great pool of good size - not huge but plenty large enough for a hotel this size. Well maintained and clean.
+ Nice grounds and improving. Staff makes obvious efforts to keep things up
+ A bit out of town and away from things. It's great to fall asleep to the (albiet somewhat noisy) serenade of frogs singing each night. Really lends an exotic feel to the stay.
+ Friendly helpful staff. Nothing was ever a problem for them to help with.
+ Showers hot and good pressure - a bit tricky to adjust the first time but no big issue
+ Hotel will pack box breakfasts for you at no cost if you want to get out to the temples early. Just remember to bring a drink (not included in the box)
+ Great professional airport pick-up and drop-off...and included in the room price!

Negatives...
- Internet Wi-Fi did not reach to our room. The hotel really should change their website to say common area access for wi-fi and only wire available in room as we could not get even a poor connection in the room. In the common area the internet is a bit slow....but this seems to be a Cambodian infrastructure issue as we had the same issue at other sites in town as well.
- The hotel is not close to anything. While we liked being away from things abit the down side is that you are really forced to take a tuk-tuk every day into town for lunch and/or dinner or eat room service. This was fine for our short stay but would be an issue if much longer, Tuk-tuk cost is $3 each way and the tuk will wait come back to get you at a predetermined time if you want.
- Breakfast was tasty but not well organized. The buffet was to open every morning at 6am but usually we arrived at 6:30 to find only about 50% of the items ready to go. Fair amount of variety but after 5 days we were looking for something new.
- There technically is dinning on site but other than breakfast you have to find someone to get service for lunch or dinner. The restaurant area is pretty much empty and we had to ask one night if they were open becuase everything was dark. They opened up for us and the meal was not bad for hotel fare but we ate in town every meal after that. Might not be an issue in high season as perhaps part of the issue was that it's hard to have someone waiting when there are few guests...but they advertise a full service restaurant and it's not quite like that really.
- We ordered room service ice cream deserts 3 times and each time it was a real adventure. English is not a strong suit of the person who take the order and "vanilla" appearently is VERY hard for Cambodians to understand. Made for some humorous conversations and for one order we go strawberry in place of Chocolate....but it was tasty so no real harm. By the way the ice cream is VERY good and well presented.
- The Royal Family Suite has 2 bathrooms but one has 3 walls of windows with sheer drapes that limits it's usefulness especially at night - especially for showering. The hotel might want to at least wall off the shower area in the future.

While I've given a lot of detail on the negatives I need to emphasize we had a GREAT time at this hotel. Also, I generally found services to be a developing talent in Cambodia as the facilities and employees work to meet the growing tourist industry. I think the biggest hotels may do a bit better but I always find those stays sterile and bland; And none of the large hotels have such cost effective large rooms for sure - nor the charming frog serenade at night!

Really nice place inspite a few flaws. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lsdjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Attentive and caring staff. Nothing was a problem. Hotel is stunning. Pool was lovely and everything we asked for was taken care of as quickly ask possible. Staff were very warm and friendly and helpfull in every way.m

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cfalexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

The hotel is nice, clean and well equipped. We stayed here end of august.
The swimming pool is also great and the hotel courtyard is very nice. Breakfast is good, not too many choices, but enough and decent.
The hotel is a little bit far from the city, but tuk-tuks are available for 3 dollars/one way to the city.
The internet is very poor. We couldn't connect from our room. We had to use the business centre to get proper internet connection.
At the checkout time we had some ugly issues, as we have been charged for some water in the minibar that we haven't consumed. At the payment time, the hotel staff entered the wrong amount to be charged; we spotted out and the receptionist reentered the amount. I assumed he cancelled the first transaction, but I was wrong. When I checked my bank statement both amounts were there. It is frustrating to see such things happening. It left us with the feeling that the staff is completely incompetent, although when we arrived we met a very competent and helpful person at the reception.
Overall the hotel is nice. Maybe we had bad luck with these two incidents.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spahac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The tropical feel of the hotel is very inviting and serene. All the other hotels in the area look contemporary and common. But La Tradition d'Angkor stands out above the rest, like an oasis.
Further, all the staff were very warm, helpful and attentive to us. I have no complaints. :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gracemacabata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.3 mi away
Empress Residence Resort & Spa
Empress Residence Resort & Spa
#290 of 353 in Siem Reap
17 reviews
0.3 mi away
Empress Angkor Resort & Spa
Empress Angkor Resort & Spa
#145 of 353 in Siem Reap
413 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tanei Resort & Spa
Tanei Resort & Spa
#99 of 353 in Siem Reap
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Angkor Century Resort & Spa
Angkor Century Resort & Spa
#163 of 353 in Siem Reap
335 reviews
3.4 mi away
Spring Palace Resort Hotel
Spring Palace Resort Hotel
#168 of 353 in Siem Reap
120 reviews
1.0 mi away
Java Wooden Villa & Residence
Java Wooden Villa & Residence
#124 of 353 in Siem Reap
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tradition D'Angkor Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tradition D'Angkor Boutique Resort

Property: La Tradition D'Angkor Boutique Resort
Address: # 168, War Museum Road, Phum Krous | Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#132 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#169 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Tradition D'Angkor Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise on earth with tranquility and charm, at the gateway to Angkor World Heritage Park, our boutique hotel is a great place to rejuvenate after a day exploring the temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Tradition D'Angkor Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tradition d`Angkor Boutique Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing