We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fabulous food experience in fantastic surroundings”
Review of Cuisine Wat Damnak

Cuisine Wat Damnak
Ranked #19 of 869 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$27 - US$31
Cuisines: Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A fabulous food experience in fantastic surroundings”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were recommended this restaurant and were very glad we took up that recommendation. What a fabulous meal and in a lovely setting. (Although we were a little worried when the tuk tuk turned down a few dark streets on the way!!) It was great to try something different from other food we'd had on our trip. I wasn't sure of the menu and was a little concerned that 5 courses would be too much, but although it was a lot of food it wasn't too much and I enjoyed every mouthful.

The prawn and calamari pancake in ‘noum pao style’, bean sprouts and fermented cabbage was absolutely delicious but the braised pork shank with caramelized palm sugar and star anise, lotus root, stem and fresh seeds was 'to die for'.

Fabulous food, great service in lovely surroundings - we had a wonderful evening with new friends we made on our trip and really appreciated Joannes coming out to chat with us at the end of the evening.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,166
    199
    89
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“A beautiful place, but for me, a bit of a let down...”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Very nice setting, great staff, promising menu. But at the end, the cuisine was just so-so, and for the prices charged, just not worth the whole experience. A typical "Foreigner (farang) comes to Asian country; sets up a beautiful, fancy restaurant and calls it a contemporary take on the country's local cuisine.a.and charges guests top dollar for it". In short, a rather expensive CELEBRATION OF MEDIOCRITY that's well-positioned and marketed.

But to be fair, when I say expensive, I mean by Siem Reap standards - compared to many other parts of Asia, this is a fancy dining experience that's still very easy on your wallet.

And when I say mediocre, I mean to someone who wants the full-on authentic taste of local cuisine, not some twisted and tweaked fusion confusion...

So if you're not on a tight budget and want to avoid the normal Joe in the street, dining at Cuisine Wat Damnak will definitely keep you happy and satisfied. But if you're looking for affordable, real authentic and truly satisfying Khmer cuisine (not Khmer cuisine a la foreign palates), it's not to be found here...

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Asia-aficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perseverance gets its due reward”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This restaurant was not easy to find and you really need to make sure your tuk-tuk driver gets you there rather than just into the general area of Wat Damnak.However, you must persevere as its a real treasure. There is top floor open roof "terrace" or garden settings but we chose the downstairs a/c'd main dining room.
The menu is limited to two degustations but they will help to fit in with allergies etc if you let them know in advance. The food was delightful - we even enjoyed the frog legs. I would not say it had the best atmosphere but this was probably down to the lack of punters on the day we ate.
You have to compare this to what you find elsewhere in Siem Reap restaurants. We found nowhere as good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Delightful Find”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Set in the grounds of an adjacent temple, the food here is an eclectic mix of French, Modern and Cambodian, varying on what is available in the markets. A choice of two set menus is offered (although the staff were more than happy to adapt to my mother's seafood allergy). The kaffir lime mojito is also highly recommended! Half the fun of dining in Siam Reap is going by tuk - tuk; the staff will happily call one for you, or else arrange with your driver to return at a certain time, for the Wat is slightly off the beaten track. Not to be missed, and a great escape from the bustle of much of Siam Reap at night.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulon, France
Level Contributor
219 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Excellent Cambodian fusion food, highly recommended”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The restaurant is open only for dinner and it is recommended to book to get a table in the elegant and air conditionned room on ground floor (2nd floor isn't so elegant and there isn't AC...).
No "à la carte" menu ; there are just two testing menu (changed every week), each with 5 or 6 services.
We experienced the 2 formulas, with 6 services.
Except the "mise en bouche" (a little bit disappointing), everything was really excellent !!!
The service was good and efficient.
I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorenzaccio2A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cuisine Wat Damnak also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Cuisine Wat Damnak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing