We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home in Siem Reap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Firefly Guesthouse- The Berlin Angkor
Ranked #85 of 486 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home in Siem Reap”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Wow, we didn't expect too much of the Guesthouses in Cambodia - but Firefly Guesthouse surely amazed us. We arrived just for two nights to stay because we love to be in different Guesthouses. But we ended up staying a Week, what should say everything about that beautiful place. The whole crew incl. owners were incredibly nice and helpful, giving us all information we needed about Siem Reap, Tuk Tuk prices (the have tuk tuks there as well), booking tours around the city, attractions and so on... The room was very clean in traditional khmer style, designed with love. We booked through booking.com and even got the breakfast for free. The breakfast is held at the rooftop terrace, absolutely beautiful. We've never seen such a peacful place, beeing relaxed was easy achieved.

Ask the owner about his crocodiles, you may have the chance to see him feeding them :-) fun to do! This place is highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjoein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    29
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
31
25
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Firefly Guesthouse is for sure one of the best price-quality accomodations in Siem Reap. I stayed here for almost 4 weeks so I did some intensive research on guesthouses in Siem Reap and this one was by far the best. And after 4 weeks I still agree! They didnt dissapoint me at all.
The situation is great, in between the town and the temples but above all in the middle of the real life!! So interesting. And no loud pubs or drunken teenagers around. Very peaceful, especially in the amazing rooftop garden. Perfect spot to relax between the green and to enjoy sunset.

And very unique in SEA is that all of the staf is not only very friendly but they are clever, independent, helpful and speak very good English. And if they cant help you, the owner is always around for tips and a chat. Great job!!

As well the food and especially the included breakfast is delicious. Every morning fruits, eggs, bread, coffee/tea, ....

For lunch or dinner you can enjoy some streetfood as well. Around the guesthouse are plenty of very cheap places and the locals are so friendly because there are not so many tourists around as in town. Very nice to observe the daily life as well.

So if you want a peaceful place, only 10 minutes biking from the city and close to the temples, Firefly Guesthouse is a terrific choice! Enjoy!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Maesquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The owner is german and knows the country and people really well so he can give you some interesting insights. I stayed there with my two friends for four nights. It was our first stay on our trip through Cambodia and Vietnam and the perfect start to handle the cultural shock when being in these East Asian countries for the first time. A big plus for the service too, the owners employ young students as staff who speak english very well and are ALWAYS friendly which is not everywhere the case. When you start talking to them, they tell you interesting stories about their home country.

The rooftop terrace was the perfect chillout area for getting used to the hot temperatures (around 38 degrees at midday) when coming from the german winter period. The food was awesome too. The breakfast always contains fresh fruit and you can choose between three different options (baguette,cheese, tomatoes, scrambled eggs etc). You can taste that the people put lots of love into the preparation of their food. You can even get traditional german sausage with sauerkraut. The bartender is a really nice guy from Dublin that is always open for a little chat.

Our room had everything you need, airconditioning, very clean, the toilet flush was broke but after we told them, they repaired it in one day. You feel really safe because there is a security man in front of the house during nighttime. You can rent bikes, they have free pick-up from the airport and they offer guided tours for the temples. Don't do the sunrise tour though, too many tourists there destroy the peaceful atmosphere bit start the tour as early as you can to avoid big crowds. The sunlight is at its best around 6.30 am, we got greater shots then then during sunrise. There are a lot less tourists on the smaller temples of the big tour. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veraliee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed in a double room for five days, great stay. Fantastic reception on arrival, staff is very kind and helpful. The place has a great rooftop bar/ restaurant, nice and cool in the evenings. Menu is a touch limited with only some 10 dishes but food is delicious. Close to Angkor, a 15 minute bike ride from Angkor Wat.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are more quiet, the hotel is on a carpenters street, they generally open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BvanderBroek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

I thought this is a great place for the price, the staff are great, very helpful & friendly. The WiFi connection is the best I've had in SEA so far, sure it's not really fast but it works and more than quick enough for browsing the web and uploading some photos.

The food is good & it's not to far to cycle to the Angkor temples from here. For example from the front of the guesthouse to the west entrance of Angkor what is 25 minutes on a bicycle for me and I haven't cycled for many, many years so don't go all that fast. Especially as it took me a little while to get used to their road system but Siem Reap is generally quite enough that I didn't find cycling to much of a problem.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Neil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile



The rooms are basic, but clean. The bathroom was a little old and dilapidated but fine for what we wanted.
The outstanding part was the staff and the service. They were absolutely fantastic. So lovely and always wanting to help. Even the tuk tuk drivers they hired for the tours they offered.
We found the location to be perfect because we could easily ride (they offer rentals of which the money goes to charity) into the town, but also ride to Angkor Wat and therefore not need a tuk tuk, which we really enjoyed.
The food at the restaurant was fantastic too; slightly more expensive than if you went into town, but really good quality and service.
Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JessVZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Firefly is neatly situared near the temples, pick-up was free and on time. The owners and staff are most helpful and come with good suggestions about the temples and their tuktuk driver listens to your wishes. This is not the place for party animals as it is pretty quiet and farr off the city center, this might be a disadvantage as scooters (as in all SEAsia called motors...) are not for rent in Siem Reap so you are really in tuktuk country but the hotel rents pedalbikes. Room and bathroom are adequate and well kept clean, breakfast, lunch and diner are simple but reasonably priced and there is good coffee.
What I did not like was the iron grille before the windows but this seems unavoidable in Cambodia.
The klamboe/mosquitonet I did not use, mosquitos seem to feed mainly on the really white Brits but some repellant might be wise. A visit to the national museum in Siem Reap is very helpful for better understanding the the reliefs and stonecarvings. And oh, do not feed the crocodiles in the Firefly garden....

Room Tip: Wifi seemed to be stronger in the rooms in the back of the hotel, it is excellent in the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.0 mi away
Ta Som Guesthouse
Ta Som Guesthouse
#190 of 340 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
1.4 mi away
Happy Guest House
Happy Guest House
#25 of 486 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sam So Guesthouse
Sam So Guesthouse
#75 of 486 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Schein Guesthouse & Restaurant
1.4 mi away
Seven Candles Guest House
Seven Candles Guest House
#12 of 486 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
1.8 mi away
Siem Reap Rooms Guesthouse
Siem Reap Rooms Guesthouse
#10 of 486 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Firefly Guesthouse- The Berlin Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firefly Guesthouse- The Berlin Angkor

Property: Firefly Guesthouse- The Berlin Angkor
Address: #37 Trapeang Ses Village | Korkchok, Siem Reap 12345, Cambodia (Formerly Berlin Angkor Guesthouse)
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 486 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Firefly Guesthouse- The Berlin Angkor 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming bed & breakfast with large and nicely decorated rooms, all of them have A/C and en-suite bathroom with hot water. German & Spanish owned and managed. Located very close to the entrance of the Angkor Wat Conservation Area, in a colorful local neighborhood just minutes from the center of town. The shared rooftop terrace is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the sunset, here you will also find a coffee and tea station available 24h and a shared open fridge. We only serve breakfast. Packed breakfast/lunch boxes available on request. We have set up a simple outdoor kitchen facility in case you would like to cook your own meals. At times we might have some specials, we'll let you know! Soft drinks, beer and wine are available at reception, free water refill also available at reception area. We would like to encourage our guests in our efforts to reduce plastic waste. We have some free bicycles available for you to move around. Wi-Fi access through all the property and a communal room available with a PC for your use, table games, a wide selection of free rental movies and a library where you can rent, exchange or buy books. Small gift shop with some local products from some of the projects and organizations we support. We offer free pick up service from the airport with our tuktuk for reservations of 2 nights minimum stay. Contact us for details. We also organize pick up to bus and boat stops, customized tours to Angkor Wat and surroundings, bicycle rental, Khmer massage, tickets for most of Siem Reap attractions, dinner reservations or provide you bus tickets to your next destination. Firefly has 9 rooms available, most of them with garden views. Firefly can also be privatized if you have a big group, sleeps up to 19/20 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Firefly Guesthouse- The Berlin Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing