We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“doesn't feel away from home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hak's House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hak's House
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“doesn't feel away from home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

Apart from the tuktuk driver who picked me up a bit late from the bus station, all my experienced with Haks House & staffs were amazing.
Mr. Hak was very efficient & responsive towards the guest's needs. And he offered a good service with suitable price. Also arranged a tuktuk driver to Angkor on the next day.
He managed to borrow me a free bike to downtown.
My room was clean & comfy, although I expected there'd be hot shower (no biggie anyway).
I had a great time inn Siem Reap, thks to Mr. Haks :)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nontjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    70
    20
    8
    10
See reviews for
15
86
76
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Hak's House is very much homey and so is the host...Hak. He has a way of make his guests comfortable. Always ready for chit chats and honest advice. The place was basically clean. Breakfast was always something to look forward to. "Sin", his tuktuk driver was very pleasant and patient. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jemsan18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Had a lovely stay here for 3 nights.
Its a 10min walk from the walking street and very convenient.

Rooms are basic and clean. Mine was AC and had a TV.
Overall great value for money.

Hak is a great host. organised my tours and tickets to PP etc.

Will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sohil g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Its all about Hak :)

Hak is the man you want as a first introduction to the real Cambodian experience! He gives honest advice, charges good prices for tours ( $45 for 3 day temple tour, or 1 day tuk tuk for $12) and makes you feel very welcome every day of your stay. When we first arrived we had to stay at his brother's place just up the road as Hak's was full but this is equally as nice and clean and we got a free lift for breakfast every day.

We stayed with Hak for 8 days in total. The rooms are clean, showers work well and the aircon is quite. There isn't a fridge in the room but you can get cold water from the fridge down stairs or free water that Hak provides. Rooms are big and wifi is available. You get breakfast included within your room price and i can recommend the scrambled eggs, which come with a baguette and fruit.

All in all Hak makes the place with his understanding of business which translates in to great service and not getting ripped off! We would stay here again without question and thanks to Hak and all his staff for making our stay very pleasant

Room Tip: You must have the food! Cheaper than elsewhere and very tasty
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denpasar
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

Locate quite far from the main street but it is what we want! a peaceful and quiet place to rest after one long walking day at Angkor Wat :)
I had a great great time at Angkor Wat with Mr.Hak's tuk tuk driver, he is an english speaking with a good sense of humor, very friendly and funny tuk tuk driver (er..Mr.Bond / Mr.Bon / Mr.Bong?)!!
The Double room with A/C have a good air conditoner and bathroom condition! for 12$ ($6 per person) including breakfast, I think I got more than what I paid :)
The living room is cozy place with books, computer, internet, and wifi service.
Mr. Hak himself is a friendly and helpful person, he help me to book a car to continuing my trip to Poipet Border.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocky_Liem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Hak's House. Hak was a great person to chat to about Cambodian life, plus he was very helpful when it came to travel. His english is the best I've heard from a local Cambodian. The rooms are clean and tidy, the free breakfast quite nice and for the price, very good value. Wireless internet worked well and I met many other travellers who also stayed at Hak's house and loved their stay.

The walk into pub street is about 10-15 minutes, so really not too far away.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

I found Haks House quite enjoyable. I was a little dubious when the shower was cold (and the website says it's hot) but we were told we could move rooms as soon as one was free.

Overall it was fairly clean, great price and decent location (too far to walk to town but when the Tuk Tuk is $1...). Couple of times the bathroom didn't look as if it had been cleaned, but when there is that much dust and dirt in the city itself it'd be difficult).

Hak and his staff were really helpful (hats off to Pier our Tuk Tuk driver, he was a legend).

I'd stay here again :-)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samun89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.9 mi away
The Siem Reap Hostel
The Siem Reap Hostel
#3 of 249 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
1.1 mi away
Same Same Backpacker, Siem Riep
0.8 mi away
Funky Flashpacker
Funky Flashpacker
#9 of 249 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hostel Siem Reap
Hostel Siem Reap
#55 of 249 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Dancing Frog Hostel
The Dancing Frog Hostel
#82 of 249 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bambu Stay
Bambu Stay
#32 of 249 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hak's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hak's House

Property: Hak's House
Address: Street 52, Wat Chowk Road | Phnear Chey Village, Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap 120000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 249 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hak's House 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy the total comfort at Hak's House - Siem Reap bed and breakfast, a tropical and peaceful garden villa with 16 spacious rooms with relaxing lounge where you can relax your mind with friendly Khmer staffs who can speak English very well. We are located just about 10min walk from Old Market and Pub Street (City Center) and 15mins ride from Angkor Wat & Siem Reap's International Airport.We are a Khmer family-run business that aims to provide our guests with a home away from home! Enjoy a friendly, relaxing and intimate stay with us in our 16 exclusive private Deluxe Rooms (A/C room); each room comes equipped with 80-channel satellite TV, hot shower, and fresh sheets and towels when our staff cleans your room everyday! We provide free airport pickup or bus station pick up as well. All rooms rate included breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hak's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hak`s House - Siem Reap Guesthouse Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing