We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy and plain awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hak's House Residence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

We had made a reservation to stay two nights at Hak's House, but when we arrived they told us that the place was full and that they had arranged for us to stay at his brother's hotel instead. We were too tired to argue, so we went to his brother's, but we didn't stay there in the end. The place was extremely dirty and the walls were covered with mold.

Stayed: January 2014
4  Thank Mariasofie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

I have been there three of hers ago (dec 2011) Very good place. Hak is a nice guy. He will provide everything you need: tuk tuk drivers, taxi to the border and so on. Rooms are quite good. Just some unpleasant smell from the bathroom sometimes. Cambodia and its people are magic: Hak's house is a nice place to start feel this magic!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ipnos85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We re doing this trip, 3 ladies. It was long journey for us, from Pnom Pehn to Siem Reap. When we re reach this guesthouse it was late at nite, but the front office boy said if u like to go out to night market there's tuk tuk to deliver all of us. There s some mineral water available before we enter this place. Our room content 2 bed that can be use for 4 person. But it was difficult to lock the door, so one day when we re going to Bayon temple, we leave our without lock it. And thanks God, so far when we re return back. Our room already in clean and had been locked also. Hmm.. They can locked it, but we re still can not do. And no one of the employee, available to help us at that moment. Over all for the room, price and service, it was good. But for the facility for the stand by employee of this guesthouse, i think they dont have proper bed to sleep.

Room Tip: Just make sure, that the travellers can lock the door by themself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuningloft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hak's House from 19/12/2013 to 22/12/2013. We had no idea what to expect - our adventurer daughter heard of his place via backpacker friends and booked a room for the folks. And so we ended up at Hak's House very late one December evening..... We absolutely LOVED our stay. Hak offered a basic but spotlessly clean en suite bedroom with a very comfortable bed. They served the best baguettes ever for breakfast and the fried ginger chicken which I had one day for lunch was just amazing. The staff are friendly and helpful and we felt right at home, to the extent that I could happily curl up on the couch and fall asleep while reading the only book I packed for the holiday. If there is anything you would like to see or do around Siem Reap, Hak will organise it - from booking tickets to organising transport and everything in between. It was my first visit to Cambodia and I flew out of Siem Reap airport with a huge lump in my throat.....looking forward to the next visit and staying at Hak's House again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Very good value, clean room and spacious. Good breakfast with a choice of a few. We got there he only had a twin room even though we booked a double but it was corrected the following day. Booked for 3 nights stayed for 6. Booked a tuk tuk one day$12 for angkor temples. Booked kompong phluk floating villages and forest tour $15 well worth a look. Phare $15 also definitely do. We also booked a mini bus to phnom pehn $9-worst idea ever(less room than main bus , took just as long and had to sit next to a very ignorant Cambodian woman who roared on her phone for the whole journey as well as hitting my bf when he asked nicely to shut up.Pool 2 mins walk next door is really nice. $4 entry for the day or $6. With lunch. Hak is very nice and always around to help or assist.exept for our last day when we ordered food and hour and a half before our bus pick up time. When the pick up arrived we still hadn't gotten our food. He was told to wait so the bus was delayed and we wer given our food in take away boxes and told there wer plastic spoons in there. There wer no plastic spoons and the food was literally a box of steamed rice and a small piece of chicken. Not impressed

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Valimur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Have stayed at Hak's house on 2 occasions and i rate it high on the budget travelers list as hot water and breakfast is included and choice of fan or air conditioner. Need help just ask Hak and he will sort it out and the staff are always friendly with tuk tuk available at the entrance. I will stay at this Guesthouse again.

Room Tip: bicycles available for rent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deonvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Clean rooms with air con and great value. Hak was brilliant, he organised a tuk tuk driver (Nak) to take us around the temples for two days. Nak was as absolute legend, chatty and ensured we beat the other tourists! Also, thank you for organising breakfast for us when we went to watch the sunrise at Anchor Wat. Hak also helped us book our onward travel to Phnom Penh - once again thank you. Food is lovely and cheaper ( if not better) then what you can find in town.

Brilliant first taste of Cambodia and I would recommend to anyone.

Stacey, Amy and Jo.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacey-Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.9 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#61 of 386 in Siem Reap
560 reviews
0 mi away
Hak Boutique Hotel & Resort
Hak Boutique Hotel & Resort
#1 of 3 in Svay Dangkum
20 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Siem Reap Hostel
The Siem Reap Hostel
#4 of 331 in Siem Reap
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bambu Stay
Bambu Stay
#47 of 331 in Siem Reap
57 reviews
1.3 mi away
Onederz Hostel Siem Reap
Onederz Hostel Siem Reap
#5 of 331 in Siem Reap
305 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hostel Siem Reap
Hostel Siem Reap
#84 of 331 in Siem Reap
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hak's House Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hak's House Residence

Address: Street 52, Wat Chowk Road | Phnear Chey Village, Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap 120000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 331 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range: £11 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hak's House Residence 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy the total comfort at Hak's House - Siem Reap bed and breakfast, a tropical and peaceful garden villa with 16 spacious rooms with relaxing lounge where you can relax your mind with friendly Khmer staffs who can speak English very well. We are located just about 10min walk from Old Market and Pub Street (City Center) and 15mins ride from Angkor Wat & Siem Reap's International Airport.We are a Khmer family-run business that aims to provide our guests with a home away from home! Enjoy a friendly, relaxing and intimate stay with us in our 16 exclusive private Deluxe Rooms (A/C room); each room comes equipped with 80-channel satellite TV, hot shower, and fresh sheets and towels when our staff cleans your room everyday! We provide free airport pickup or bus station pick up as well. All rooms rate included breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hak's House Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hak`s House - Siem Reap Guesthouse Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing