We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice guesthouse in Siem Reap !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hak's House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hak's House
Siem Reap, Cambodia
1 review
“A nice guesthouse in Siem Reap !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I like this budget guesthouse very much while spending a few days in Siem Reap, Cambodia. All staff is friendly and helpful. They are willing to assist all customers during their long and short stays. They also love communicating with the customers from different cultures, Americans, Chinese, Indian, Africans and so on. About services is quite good, fast and trustful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    70
    20
    8
    10
See reviews for
15
86
76
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

The place is quite far from where the rest of the places are. It is a long dusty walk to the old public market. Because of it's distance from the center you will have not much choice on where to book your tours.The owner is not always around. You cannot check out when you want to as Hak is only there at 4-6pm way beyond their check out time and will charge you for another day of stay in the house. The staff will not check you out on time. Don't depend on their food service. Even if you will tell Hak that you will order dinner later when you go down you cannot order and will be told by the staff that their kitchen is closed as Hak is not around.

The room was not cleaned on the four nights that I stayed there. A/c is not working properly. You have to use the fan even if you paid for air-conditioned room. There is no TV in the room as advertised. There is neither hot water in the shower. The water is not replenished everyday. The room got trash from previous occupants. The room is quite dirty.

The lobby is also dirty. You cannot stay in the common area as the area is dirty. The sofa is filthy.

You can get better and cheaper accommodation in a better location in Siem Reap.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel/hostel in the city center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PSM603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great budget accommodation! Breakfast was amazing and room was everything that was promised in the photos.Wifi was decent and there was Free drinking water the whole time we stayed. hak the manager was really accommodating and nice. He helped us with Bus tickets, Tuk Tuks to visit the temples for a really cheap price. Anything we needed he helped us out with. Not a bad thing to say about this place. Plus an awesome restaurant across the road called chann july with really cheap and nice meals and beer.

Room Tip: The time we went was very hot in Cambodia so would recommend A/C room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleyBagasao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

First of all is that nobody came to pick us up from the bus station when this service was supposed to be included in the room price. We told the owner on our arrival to the hostel and he just said that there were two bus stations and that the driver was in another bus station (!!!!) when that's simply not true, he talked to us like if we were stupid. Secondly there was no toilet paper in the rooms, not very clean by the way. No way to ask for toilet rolls simply because there was nobody at the reception desk at that time)
The second time we tried to got to the reception desk to ask for advice for Angkor,tuctucs, prices etc again there was nobody at the reception! Therefore we had to book ourselves tuctuc etc. We had to ask to clean the room the 2nd day because nobody did it. When we went down to complain the reception guy (not the owner) was completely drunk!! The last thing was when coming back from Angkor (really tired of getting up early that day) the owner 'welcomed' us with kind of a party in the entrance of the hotel apologizing himself about the loud music because it was New Years party..he finally turned down the music talking to us with really bad manners. He said it was New Year's Eve and that we had to get on with that..! If you are not going to give a service just close the you business. As Simple as that. Apart from the awful staff the hotel was just ok. The location is not good because you are 20min walking from the city centre... I would never come back to this place in my life.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AfricaMada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boytownwillnow, Front Office Manager at Hak's House, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear TA readers and members,
we just want to clarify that there was not such a thing happened. It was our khmer new year so everywhere was full of loud music which we could not do anything about it. A part from that our room was daily clean and well maintenance. However, we have noticed that this guests has asked our reception staff to put on an a/c for them for free when they booked our room with hostelworld.com only with fan, the reception then suggested them to pay as our rate policy. But they threaten us to put the bad review on this site. But we still refuse....then they left us the next day with out evening paying. I just want everyone to understand what did really happened. thanks again for your stay with us but if you are this kind of costumers then we wish not have you stay with us too.
best regards
Hak
FO Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Top, TOP place! Great location (only 10 mins walk to Pub Street) and Hak (the owner) is more than happy to organise tuk tuk and bicycle hire for you to get you to Pub Street. Along with that he can organise an arrangement of things ranging from tours, transport to other destinations and visa extentsions. The Guesthouse is very clean with big, clean rooms and fast internet. Staff are fantastic and are always willing to help and to make sure your stay is a happy one. Hak is very helpful and is always approachable. Any problem or request you have he will always try to help and accommodate your needs. Having stayed here 2 months, I have not had one bad experience and I highly recommend Hak's House if you are looking for a cheap, great value for money and fun place to stay! 10/10! (Side note, if you need a tuk tuk driver ask Hak for Puan - top bloke, willing to take you anywhere and always on time).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Woolypand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Hak's is a big place about 15 minutes walk from the markets and pub street which was no problem for us. Rooms were very clean, hot water shower worked, but only if you held the power button constantly. Hak reserved good price tuk tuks for tours and was very helpful. The only shame is that there is not really any atmosphere in the hotel, but that might be because everyone is at the temples, would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

They told me that a tuk tuk from the guest house will wait for me in the bus station, I arrived in the bus station and there was no tuk tuk waiting for me, so I looked for a tuk tuk (was night, and the bus station of siem reap in the night is not so nice) and after some discussions with a drunk crazy tuk tuk driver I reach the Hak's place. He said "sorry that we didn't pick you up, but your bus was late" Yes..but in Cambodia bus are always late. Anyway, after this he told me that the room yaht I booked was not avaible, because he rented for that night to another guy. Very nice. So, he send me with the mototaxi of the hotel, in other hotel that he found for me. Not at the same price of the room that i booked, but more expensive. Very nice. So, they just left me alone in the bus station in the night, they didn't care about my booking, and they didn't care to, at least, to give a room at the same price or pay them the difference. Or at least offer to me a glass of water...or a beer. Very nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alessio s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.1 mi away
Same Same Backpacker, Siem Riep
0.8 mi away
Funky Flashpacker
Funky Flashpacker
#9 of 248 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,921 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Dancing Frog Hostel
The Dancing Frog Hostel
#82 of 248 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bambu Stay
Bambu Stay
#32 of 248 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostel Siem Reap
Hostel Siem Reap
#54 of 248 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hangout
Hangout
#23 of 248 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hak's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hak's House

Property: Hak's House
Address: Street 52, Wat Chowk Road | Phnear Chey Village, Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap 120000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 248 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hak's House 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy the total comfort at Hak's House - Siem Reap bed and breakfast, a tropical and peaceful garden villa with 16 spacious rooms with relaxing lounge where you can relax your mind with friendly Khmer staffs who can speak English very well. We are located just about 10min walk from Old Market and Pub Street (City Center) and 15mins ride from Angkor Wat & Siem Reap's International Airport.We are a Khmer family-run business that aims to provide our guests with a home away from home! Enjoy a friendly, relaxing and intimate stay with us in our 16 exclusive private Deluxe Rooms (A/C room); each room comes equipped with 80-channel satellite TV, hot shower, and fresh sheets and towels when our staff cleans your room everyday! We provide free airport pickup or bus station pick up as well. All rooms rate included breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hak's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hak`s House - Siem Reap Guesthouse Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing