We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good at the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oral D' Angkor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oral D' Angkor
Ranked #180 of 500 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good at the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

The service of guesthouse is good. The GH provide free pick up service at the bus terminal on my arrival. The staff are helpful and friendly. There is also daily room service to tidy up the room.

They provide simple and good breakfast. If you are going to Angkor Wat for sunrise, you can ask them to pack the breakfast for you to eat onsite.

As I have no time go to the post office to send my postcard, they offer to send it for me at KHR3500/pcs. However I noticed that the stem for postcard is only KHR3000/pcs. I'm ok with some extra charges as they help me to send, but as the quantity of postcard that I send is quite alot, i feel it a bit overpriced when total up the amount.

For the room, the price is good for that size of room, it's big. However I think there is some space for improvement of their cleanness. I could found hair on the bed sheet. When I pull over the curtain, there's a lizard inside the curtain. Toilet also not that clean as I expected.

The aircond of the room is quite old, it takes long time to cool down the room. Hence, I need to switch it ON even I'm not in the room. This is kinda wasting of electricity.

Location is ok for me. The distance from pub street is further than I expected. It's like around 10mins walking distance, but it's acceptable.

Additional: the corridor of the guesthouse is kinda dark at night, should have put on more lights.

Room Tip: Must inform and reconfirm with the staff if you need to pack your breakfast for sunrise session. I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BP_MOk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    25
    15
    3
    8
See reviews for
3
33
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Upon arrival we had paid for a fan only room thinking this would be adequate, however we were very wrong, the windows didn't fit the frame meaning the hot humid air outside was easily coming inside. We went down as sleeping was unbearable to ask for the control for the air con machine as the room was equipped with one. We had to pay $12 more for the control!!!!! Not the customer service you expect. The bathroom was terrible, the floors were extremely slippy and the water from the tap and shower stunk very metallic and rusty. In addition the wall advertised a rooftop bar/terrace, however when we asked about it, we were told it was no longer there, I think he mentioned it was under new management. Finally the bed became very hard to sleep on as we became very itchy, bed bugs!

On a positive note, the location was good, not very central but easy to get around. The service was adequate and friendly, very nice breakfast & easy booking coach for onward travel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MajesticBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malacca City, Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

it was rm35 per night and hey for that price, we were expecting a horrible place. The bathroom was the only let down, they should paint it or give it a good scrub or just revamp it. The rooms however were nice and big and the bed IS HUGE! more than two people can stay in one room. each person had one double bed, TALK ABOUT SPACE! the aircond was alright, but could have been better. It take a couple of hours to get cold. We stayed on the second highest floor, and while the climb is a little steep, it is nevertheless nothing too strenuous or hard. The sunrise from the upper floors makes or a good view. The wifi is good, and you have to subscribe to your wifi according to which floor you are in. There is no fridge or tv but then again we werent bothered by it since we only used the room for sleeping at night at having our showers. You will be out most of the time. The location is great with a 15 minutes or less walk to town where all the eating places and nightlife is. Shopping is also good there, however I would suggest you shop at the places near the temples (especially the inner gallery of angkor temples). this is because the vendors there are more willing to bring down prices when we bargained since all of them sold the same thing and they are all desperate to get their merchants sold. The breakfast at this hotel is good too, mean it isnt a buffet spread or anything, but remember for the price you pay it is good! the fruits served for breakfast are amazingly fresh and succulent. Also, if you decided to catch the sunrise at angkor watt like we did, you can ask the staff to pack your breakfast up in a polystyrene packet which you can carry with you and have during your stakeout at the temple, waiting for the sun's rays to shine through and award you with a majestic and breathtaking sight. All in all, this place was great considering its price. The staff are nice and always greet you with a smile.

Room Tip: try and get the lower floors if you do not want to find yourself climbing the stairs morning and nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roshwini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and found the staff very helpful and welcoming.
The guesthouse want quite what was pictured on the website but then they never are!
Great location in a quiet area of the city and only 10 mins walk to the pub street and the market.
Had a problem one day with water coming thru the window frame in heavy rain but were quickly offered to change rooms should we like to.
Overall a nice place with breakfast included of eggs, toast, coffee, tea and fresh fruit.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deanpenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

This hostel was a bit of a let down as I had hoped for a nicer room. The photos looked better. Whilst it was very cheap, we have stayed in hostels for the same price that were far cleaner, welcoming and with more facilities.

No fridge, very small tv and the beds were quite uncomfy. I left with a sore back. Having said this, we had no major issues and the hostel was fine for a 2 night stay.

Breakfast was fine - toast, fruit, tea and coffee.

The lady on reception spoke very good English, which was helpful. However, when we asked for a price for a taxi to the border, she quoted us $35, which was $10 more than we ended up paying.

We had a problem with water coming through our window during heavy rain and they changed our room quickly and without hassle.

Location was good, with pub street just 10 minutes walk away.

Overall, this place is okay. I'm not sure how it compares to other accomodation in Cambodia as this was the only place we stayed. So, maybe this is good for siem reap. I can't comment.



  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettyather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

Third year of staying here, the owners keep my favourite room for me. Clean rooms, hot water shower, fan and aircon, cable tv, Internet in your room, awesome free breakfast, try Sokhens homemade jam, laor nah!! Just the friendliest team in town, I love it here and will always stay here when in Siem Reap. It's good because the owners love what they do, bless em !!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Downtownbrownok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

I arrived without a booking. I was staying in a nearby guesthouse and looked for a better alternative - in Oral D'Angkor I foung the perfect budget place to stay.
I paid 8USD for a double room with single occupancy including breakfast. The family that runs the guesthouse is super friendly and helpful.

Room:
Spacious, with two windows and a shared balcony. Room was twin bedded (1.40m each bed), had a Fan and AC (additional fee though) a small TV and own bathroom with hot water.
Bathroom was the typical Cambodian "wet bathroom", with the shower somewhere in the middle.
Room itself was very clean, and was serviced daily, giving fresh towels each day and two bottles of water.
Windows had bars in front of them and mosquito nets.
The towels and bed linen were clean and smelled fresh, but had a few stains.

Breakfast - buffet style
3-4 types of fresh fruit each morning
Toast & a toaster & different jams
Tea and coffee with fresh milk
Hot food (eggs) are prepares fresh from the kitchen
For this price category the breakfast was grand!

Location
About 10 minutes walking from Pub street and the old market, only 3 minutes to some very delicious local restaurants.
Small shop and some more local restaurants are right next to the hotel.

I can fully recommend this place to any budget traveler. Its not a five star hotel, but for this price its extremely good value for money.

Room Tip: Room 211 and 311 have two windows The rooms on the ground floor (starting with 1..) are not as nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MySunnyDays1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.7 mi away
Tropical Breeze Guest House
Tropical Breeze Guest House
#106 of 500 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seasons d'Angkor Villa
Seasons d'Angkor Villa
#68 of 249 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seven Candles Guest House
Seven Candles Guest House
#8 of 500 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
CHHENG Residence
CHHENG Residence
#266 of 500 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palm Garden Lodge
Palm Garden Lodge
#187 of 249 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.8 mi away
Siem Reap Rooms Guesthouse
Siem Reap Rooms Guesthouse
#10 of 500 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oral D' Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oral D' Angkor

Property: Oral D' Angkor
Address: 327 Stung Thmey Village | Khum svay Dangkum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 500 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Oral D' Angkor 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Oral D' Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing