We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, cool atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostel Siem Reap

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostel Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Lenzburg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good value, cool atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had a double room with bathroom for $6.5. Value was good as the room was clean and neat. In the bathroom the ceiling could use a cleaning and a paint job though. Since I was sick one day, we watched some TV, which we rarely do. The TV is at the verge of its last breath - the amount of (cool) channels is yet extraordinary for this class of hostel. A plus is the pieces of bread and coffee in the morning you can get in the lobby. Atmosphere is cool and staff supportive and friendly. Meals at the hotel are slightly below average price for Siem Reap but cost at least double compared to the neighboring countries Vietnam and Thailand, which are in fact richer countries.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quesst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    50
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
38
57
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I highly recommend this hostel..from the moment we landed we were treated like gold. It was very clear the owner and his staff wanted us to enjoy our stay. The bike tour was amazing. Pisuth took us around the country side and to eat locally. All the staff are Cambodian and really friendly. The rooms are cleaned everyday wifi is great market right across the street and excellent food. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanyarod5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here during our entire time in Siem Reap. The staff were great and there's a free breakfast of bread and jam and hot drinks each morning.

The rooms we stayed in were large and well kept. No problems with anything being dirty etc!

As well as this the night market is the other side of the street, so a 5 second walk away, and pub street is less than 5 minutes.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, I'd happily stay again and highly recommend it!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MattRaffan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We initially only intended to stay here for only a couple of nights, but the lovely staff, great location, free pool table, fun other guests and clean room made us reconsider! We also arrived ill with a mild strain of typhoid, so we stayed for two weeks. Siem Reap is a great town with plenty of markets to explore. In the little market opposite there is amazing noodle soup for $1, which we highly recommend!
Once feeling better, we explored the Angkor temples which were incredible, and the tuk tuk driver we hired from the hostel was excellent! When we return to Siem Reap we will definitely be staying here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank loving_my_holidyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

This was the first hostel we've ever stayed in and what a great experience! The staff were so friendly and helpful. We booked all our trips and onward travel trough them. The rooms were clean- we stayed in a private double so I can't vouch for dorms but we met plenty of people there who were in dorms and booked extra nights so must have been ok! The location was perfect, the tuk tuk driver to Angkor Wat was lovely. Perfect hostel!! We booked for 3 nights and stayed for 6!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank shelldaynight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Fantastic, friendly and knowledgeable staff contribute to a fantastic, relaxed atmosphere where it's easy to make friends.
The rooms are pretty basic by western standards but this should come as no surprise to anyone who has visited this part of the world before but the pillows are specially noteworthy and the AC is good.

Room Tip: The private rooms have their own balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joenorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Though the staff was friendly and the location was great (really cool market right across the street and 3 mins from pub street) they has their issues. The internet went out at 6pm and they said they would have it fixed soon, however they didn't actually fix it till 2 days later. Then the power went out in the hostel and they also said it would be fixed soon. So we went to our room and read for a couple hours. Only then did we leave to find wifi to book a bus to find out the power was back on in the entire hostel except the rooms your in until you requested it.. Which was frustrating and the rooms got extremely hot.. Overall it was okay just check on power and wifi prior to arriving.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingCanadian18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pisith T, Owner at Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your staying with us,
We apologize for any inconvenience cause during your stay with us.
Due to the weather is very bad for a few day here so the internet were cut off for almost whole area in Siem Reap not just only our hostel,

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
The Siem Reap Hostel
The Siem Reap Hostel
#3 of 252 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sweet Dreams Guesthouse
Sweet Dreams Guesthouse
#29 of 252 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bambu Stay
Bambu Stay
#30 of 252 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
HI Siem Reap Deluxe
HI Siem Reap Deluxe
#48 of 252 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Luxury Concept Hostel
The Luxury Concept Hostel
#37 of 252 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hak's House
Hak's House
#76 of 252 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Siem Reap

Property: Hostel Siem Reap
Address: No 209, Wat Domnak Village | Salacomreuk Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 252 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostel Siem Reap 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a clean, friendly-staffed hostel located within 2 minutes walk of the centre of Siem Reap, and just 5 minutes from the famous Pub Street. The spacious rooms are beautifully furnished, very clean and with a TV and fridge in every room, you can't go wrong. On the second floor, a wide chill-out balcony provides good views of the city, and the perfect place for some down time away from the bustle of the streets or the scale of the Temples. The hostel is directly opposite the site of a brand new market, which is currently being built, and opens in July 2011. We also offer a free pick up service from anywhere in the city, and very helpful tourist information on just about anything! We hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostel Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing