We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amateur management, poor service. Complete overhaul needed”
Review of Okay 1 Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Okay 1 Villa
Ranked #150 of 353 Hotels in Siem Reap
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amateur management, poor service. Complete overhaul needed”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We arrived at this hotel after a very long bus journey, to find that they had sold our room to somebody else. We had booked and fully paid for 3 nights, so there was absolutely no excuse or explanation for this. They gave us some ridiculous story about their reservation system, but they had our booking right there. The hotel was full so there was nothing we could do about it. They sent us to a filthy, disgusting hotel nearby for the night, and told us to come back the next morning to check in. The room and facilities were fine, but the poor service continued throughout our stay. They kept running out of basic items at breakfast (plates, cutlery, coffee...everything!) Sure, it was busy, but they need to be able to serve a full hotel!! There was never any sense of urgency about the staff. On one occasion we ordered a drink from the pool area and it took half an hour to arrive. This was at a very quiet time, around 4:30pm. We assumed they just forgot about the order, but when we asked after around 20 minutes, they guy just acted like it was natural for it to take that long. When the drink eventually arrived, it was served with no apology or even acknowledgement that it took an unusually long time. When we went to check out, instead of offering us some sort of compensation for what happened with our check-in, they had the cheek to ask us for $30 for the first night. Naturally, we refused to pay for that night, but we had to argue very strongly before they finally gave in. Avoid.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dasu_Irl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    152
    58
    33
    20
See reviews for
57
163
65
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I'll start by saying the staff is so sweet and the pool on the roof is nice. Other than that - my entire family was split between floors even though we requested to be together. One room was on the bottom floor with the window looking on to the outdoor kitchen. My friend and I could hear pots banging from 5am to 10pm. We were finally moved to a room with a view of a cement wall. The food in the restaurant is terrible, and the breakfast is mediocre (if you get to it before the good stuff runs out.) Our shower was faulty and kept turning on by itself, fogging up our bedroom. We had enough and wanted to enjoy our last night in siem reap so checked in to another hotel. The manager told me it was my fault that I didn't know how to turn a shower off and refused to refund our money for the last night. I lived in Cambodia years ago and have never met such rude and dismissive management. A shame for a hotel with some potential!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nycWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We had a few problems with this hotel...as we go to check in, reception informs someone has already checked in under my name. They upgrade our room, but tell us the next day we need to change rooms. Not a problem...in the morning we leave our bags ready so the staff can put them in the new room. When we return that night, we were told there was another problem so we could stay in the room for another night. Since it was an upgrade from what we had initially reserved, they actually asked (!) us to pay an extra 5$ for the room. I politely declined and told them we would have our bags ready to switch rooms again the next day. Surprise surprise, we never switched rooms.
This was a hassle since we were waking up early to go to Angkor wat, etc and had to repack every morning for the change that never came.

Other than that, the hotel was not bad. The rooms were clean and fairly roomy. From our room we had no view, or to be more exact we had a lovely view of the building next door. Location is about a 10-15 minute walk from pub street and close to other restaurants and mini markets. The staff spoke decent English as well. Laundry service is definitely overpriced (1.75$ per kilo), saying that some of our stuff was still dirty.

If ever in Siem Reap again, I'd definitely go elsewhere

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spekyweky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Although a little out of town, the Okay1 Villa and Spa was a welcome retreat, and only a $1 moto or $2 tuk tuk from pub street. The rooftop pool is lovely with an excellent view of Siem Reap. The walk would probably take around 20mins. The rooms were clean and very reasonably priced. We paid $33 for a twin share in the peak season. I paid around the same for a far inferior room elsewhere when our booking ended and Okay1 was booked out. Be warned, Siem Reap can be very heavily booked over the xmas and new years period! One thing that stood out about this place was the service. The staff generally had excellent english and seemed very well trained, and were always friendly, polite and helpful. The hotel was also very quiet - no barking dogs, loud music or children, which can be a rare thing in cambodia! I also stayed at the okay guesthouse in phnom penh, which is cheaper, older and nowhere near as nice as the siem reap counterpart, but okay for an overnight stay. I heard you may be able to arrange a free transfer between guesthouses, which usually costs around $12-$20 depending on the type of bus.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonsai19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Location is poor.10-15 minutes walk to centre not a problem,but the adjacent construction site and characterless environs unpleasant.On arrival a guest was having a prolonged debate about being double charged.When I got to receptionI was asked for payment up front..I chose not to.....my passport was forgotten in the photocopier as other guests clamoured for attention.Not to imply that my needs are paramount,one can see the humour in these situations.However,the staff,very nice,underpaid individuals are not fully on top of the job.The breakfast is basic,usually lukewarm and the serving area rather congested.During my stay most guests appeared to be large.unhappy Westerners,with few social graces.Not the hotel's fault.
The rooftop pool is pleasant,food and drink is available at a reasonable price.
The room was large and comfortable,the TV had many English language channels,cleaning was daily,although a little perfunctory. All in all,a physically comfortable stay in a forgettable location with some fellow guests who appeared to be barking at servants.Oh,and overpriced.I am pleased to be leaving.

Room Tip: Stat away from construction site
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissyboyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

The location is 10-15 min walk to the night market and pub street. Tuktuk cost 1 $ to the market. The staff are friendly and helpful. The room is okay but nothing special. For that price you can find much better a little bit outside the centrum.
The breakfast buffe is unhealthy with fried nudles, fried egg, fried rice, some fruit and toast with butter and jam. I wish the had boild egg at least.
Coffe not tasty and tea was drinkable. The orange juice awful.
We moved to another hotel 7 min outside centrum after 2 days for same price but absolutely much better.
So for that price i don't recommend it but if it cost around 17-20 $ i would stay for sure.
So: not bad but u can find better for same price!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The hotel is clean, lovely and rooms are comfortable. The staff is helpful if you need a buy a bus ticket. It is close to the center but those who don't like to walk would have to go by tuk tuk. The rooftop is a really nice place for a cool beer after wandering in Angkor's temples.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikaket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.3 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#86 of 353 in Siem Reap
856 reviews
1.5 mi away
Angkor Spirit Palace
Angkor Spirit Palace
#180 of 353 in Siem Reap
448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Angkor Pearl Hotel
#89 of 353 in Siem Reap
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sidewalk Never Die Hotel Siem Reap
0.1 mi away
Ta Som Guesthouse
Ta Som Guesthouse
#190 of 353 in Siem Reap
275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parklane Hotel
Parklane Hotel
#129 of 353 in Siem Reap
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okay 1 Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okay 1 Villa

Property: Okay 1 Villa
Address: No. 0325 Tapul, Sangkat Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Siem Reap
#58 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#78 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Okay 1 Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Okay 1 Villa is conveniently locate in the central of Siem Reap's historical city closed to shopping and the business center; with attractive sites nearby. Okay 1 Villa will be beyond your expectations with 60 luxurious rooms including Family, Suite, Deluxe, Superior and Standard rooms, all finely decorated in Khmer traditional style furnishing and wooden floors for Deluxe and Suites and lobby restaurant. Comfort will surpass your expectations individually controlled air-con, color television with cable channels, mini bar, hairdryer, Wifi internet connection, slippers, local and international dialing, customized toiletries, bathtub with shower, electronic safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Okay 1 Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okay 1 Villa Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing