We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frustrating stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of MotherHome Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
MotherHome Inn
Ranked #17 of 499 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Frustrating stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

From the reviews it is clear that this is a very well run guesthouse and the staff are excellent. Unfortunately I had a few problems on my stay. I did change the booking via email a couple of times and I think this is why. Firstly let me say the guesthouse is great location, good breakfast and the pool is great to sit and relax by. Rooms small but very good - always cleaned to a very high standard.

However we had a few problems, firstly the tuc tuc didn't come to meet us at the boat station which was a bit annoying and then when we arrived I was told that I hadn't confirmed the details, which I had, however it was the front desk staff trying to check us out that was really the main issue, this happened 3 times. Each time I would confirm that we were booked as per my email and then they would say no, then check and say yes, then a day or so later the same thing would happen. It was just really annoying! One time I had to go get my phone and show them the email as they didn't believe what I was telling them. This really let down my stay here - the problem is no one at the front desk is in charge so you tell the same story three times to three different staff members who just don't communicate. Such a shame that this let down our stay here and I have come away with negative feelings about the place.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bazrobbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    149
    26
    7
    5
See reviews for
111
277
78
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

You won't regret once you stepped into MotherHome. Their hospitable smiles and great helps make you feel back to home.

I wanna talk about their massage center here. I'd say BODIA is really nice, but all four of us love the massage offered at MotherHome, which can really relieve your fatique.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonnetonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

We had a great stay here. The owner, Mr Kim Leang replies to emails very promptly which made it easy when arranging for pick-up services. The staff here is incredibly friendly, we returned to the guesthouse after taking a 2-day trip to Battambang and the staff welcomed us home. The little touches like having wet towels everytime we came back to the guesthouse really added to the experience. Though the guesthouse isn't big but there is a pretty nice pool area. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The location is pretty good, it's a 15 minute walk away from the town centre.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We were looking for somewhere reasonable for two families to stay and chose MotherHome Inn based on reviews. We have not been disappointed. The staff is incredibly attentive and helpful.....we have loved that every time we return from an outing we are met at the door with cold, wet washcloths to refresh with.

The rooms are roomy and clean and you absolutely can not beat the price per night. The free breakfast includes fruits and cereals and some hot Asian dishes....you can also get eggs to order.

I treated myself to an hour of foot reflexology and enjoyed the small spa area on the 2nd floor....and it was only $8 for an hour.

The Inn has several tuk tuks that work specifically for them and it's incredibly convenient to walk out the door and have reasonable transportation. We even hired two tuk tuks for the day for temple touring and they were very attentive offering us cold water after every temple visit and answering questions for us. All this was easily arranged through the hotel.

My only complaint? I'm not a big fan of the all in one bathroom where the toilet and toiletries and toilet paper all get soaking wet when you take a shower. Not a super big deal and certainly something I can live with for the price.

Room Tip: We had four rooms in total and the rooms on the 2nd thru 4th floor are definitely quieter than anyth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamJenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Kim Leang was always prompt in replying to emails prior to our arrival and also set us up with a taxi from Bangkok to Siem Reap.

The rooms are incredibly clean and not too big or small. They've got a fridge and complimentary water, coffee and tea. The a/c worked very well too.

The staff is incredibly nice and helpful. Cold towels upon arrival after a day out was a very nice touch. The guesthouse has their own fleet of tuktuks which makes getting around easy. The location is kind of far from anything of interest but it's only $1 to get a ride to the center of town. One nice thing about the location is its proximity to a gas station. Ice cold drinks and snacks/toiletries are only a minute or two walk away.

There is a pool which is nice for cooling off.

The only negative about our stay was that people would slam doors in the middle of the night. I don't know if it was staff or guests but it was kind of annoying. We had also just gotten to Asia so weren't sleeping well due to jet lag.

Obviously I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Ask for Mr. Keo as a tuktuk driver. He was super nice.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skik2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somewhere in Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

Other than having a (moderately attractive) pool this hotel offers... not much. The clean rooms have little charm and contain a very utilitarian bathroom. Friendly service and an extensive breakfast buffet with the option of custom-made omlett may be a plus for some.

Rooms on the ground floor look onto the pool... and the pool looks into those rooms. Get a room on the upper floors if you don’t want to feel watched or have the light-blocking curtains closed all the time (there is no price difference surprisingly).

Conculsion: great for the pool, better options out there for everything else.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room on the ground floor directly next to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krissi-n-Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

Wow!! 5 star service! Rooms are lovely, clean and contemporary. The pool is wonderful! Best service I've ever had at a hotel! Amazing experience! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bceko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#76 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Angkor Pearl Hotel
#79 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shinta Mani Resort
Shinta Mani Resort
#4 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#3 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
0.2 mi away
MotherHome Boutique Hotel
MotherHome Boutique Hotel
#29 of 499 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MotherHome Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MotherHome Inn

Property: MotherHome Inn
Address: Taphul Village, Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 499 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MotherHome Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MotherHome Inn is a modern purposely built (2011) luxury hotel offering high standards of service and Khmer hospitality. Personal and individual attention is guaranteed thus ensuring a relaxing stay. People come as guests and leave as friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your MotherHome Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motherhome Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing