We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice cosy hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Medamrei

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Medamrei
Ranked #82 of 334 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice cosy hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Airport pick up if provided without charge. Staff were exceptionally friendly. Briefed us through the places of interest and the manager even provide us with a local map. Welcome drink of a chill lemon grass tea with some banana chips. Feels like we were in a 5 star hotel. About 5 minutes walk to Pub Street or Night Market. Laundry, pharmacy, tuk-tuk is conveniently available across the street. Many breakfast choices (ala-carte though). In-hotel restaurant serves reasonably price local and western food.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    92
    27
    5
    1
See reviews for
30
141
73
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Beautiful boutique hotel. Everything looked brand new, staff incredibly kind and helpful, and excellent value for your money. 5 minute walk from city center (pub st, night market, old market). We also used the hotel to arrange all of our tours and their prices were competitive. Restaurant food was good and reasonably priced (we ordered a fair amount of room service). Breakfast is sufficient with many options (not buffet). Employees are the nicest people we've ever met and by far the most helpful we've met in 10 months of travel. They were on top of email (before we arrived) and helped us with every little detail once we were there. The rooms are plenty big, though a little dark. We had 2 rooms - a garden (ground floor) and balcony room (2nd floor) - and both faced the building next door..so the room descriptions can be misleading but we didn't care (or book rooms specifically for a view). Rooms had all the amenities we needed (fridge, hot water kettle, 2 free bottles of water, lcd tv with many english speaking channels, slippers, strong wifi connection, strong AC). We would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bch4r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima
Level Contributor
266 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Airport pick up is provided, very close to the night market and pub street, attentive staff, good breakfast (set breakfasts, many choices available). Nice decoration, good sized rooms, tourism agency in front of the hotel. Very easy to walk everywhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed 3 nights at Villa Medamrei from 19-21 April for my first trip to Siem Reap, and to Cambodia. For single travellers, it's a steal at approx. SGD30+ per night (April is considered low season and very hot). Reception is rustic inspired with welcome drink and chips. Very refreshing. Keeping shoes and slippers strictly at the main door means no worry about dirt and you walk around like you would at home.

The room I stayed is on the ground floor, decently spacious, clean, and gently lit so it's actually quite soothing and not glaring (contrary to whatever past comments and complaints about the dim and dark lighting in the rooms, I had no problems with it at all so keep it that way!), efficient hot shower, minifridge with daily mineral water, essential oil aromatherapy, and, on top of it, I got a huge and wide super single bed that is stiff enough to support my slightly crooked spine so couldn't have been better. While there's not much of a window view, it lets sufficient daylight in if you want to spend the lazy day in just channel surfing the wide selection of international and cable TV programmes.

So the breakfast was a tad bare basics minimal (as forewarned in earlier scriblings) - but at SGD30+ a night, you've got to be either churlish or joking to ask for more. (They must be comparing with Phuket or Krabi or whatever; it's different everywhere, there'll be no ending to milking and squeezing it). Pub Street is filled with a gazillion restaurants and eateries to choose from and it's just a short 8 minutes or less walk away (even though it's a very hot and humid walk, especially after 9.30am). Tuk-tuk drivers ply the Villa but ask for the staff's list of dedicated and more reliable drivers in advance (for my trips to Angkor Wat and other places, I had an excellent, attentive and considerate driver; for my departure ride to the Airport, I had a sly bugger of a driver who sped and bumped all the way and dared to drop me outside the Airport, refused to enter the Airport and told me to walk all the way into Departure with backpack and stuff in tow). Anyway.

Above all, the feature that sets Villa Medamrei apart is really the warm service from the staff. Very customer friendly and smiley and extremely obliging attitude, even from those working at the small breakfast lounge. On my last day before my departure, I had a really nice chat with the young Cambodian manager who told me about the meaning of the villa name (a new villa by the same owner is coming up soon, this one with a pool!), his past tour guide days (he is fluent in Japanese, besides English!), where to go for really good local food and we even exchanged health tips on improving knee joints! Genuine without sounding put upon - this makes the difference.

In all, while tucked in a corner away from the main buzzy pub crawl thoroughfare (you do get more peace and quiet), for my subsequent trips to Siem Reap, I'll take Villa Medamrei again any time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ymkong2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is my first place in Cambodia after having traveled for two weeks in Thailand and I have to say it has been one of the best places I have been on my entire journey. I am writing now after two weeks the checked out Villa Medamrei (I didn't have any opportunity before, now actually I am in Vietnam...) Anyway the staff is superb and the service and room are excellent for the price you pay. Wifi for whom is interested is good but on my staying, due to the new years celebrations was so and so due to the low electric power.... the all city was fully light up for the celebrations!!!
As soon as I checked in they brought me to a relaxing place and served a delicious lemon tea with a straw made out of bamboo. Breakfast, incvluded, is served on the upper floor on a terrace, and again was very good and well served.
I really enjoyed my staying here and I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE if you ever end up in Siem Reap!!
THANK YOU ONCE MORE TO THE STAFF!!!!
Gabriele

Room Tip: I has a room in the groud floor and was beautiful, clean and with a nice and comfy bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaber1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

The location of this hotel is awesome. It is within walking distance to great restaurants, shopping, spas, etc...

The staff is very friendly and always greeting you when you enter or exit the hotel. You take off your shoes before you enter and have to leave your room key behind when you leave for the day. We did not mind doing either of those.

The free breakfast was delicious, especially the pineapple pancake!

One thing we didn't like was that we couldn't get cold water to come out of the shower. It is extremely hot outside so we didn't particularly like a hot shower. Also, our balcony was extremely small so we couldn't sit outside since a chair couldn't fit but that sliding door did provide much needed light for a poorly lit room.

Overall this hotel is excellent. We would definitely return in the future.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ashlee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monza, Italy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

I have to apologize to the kindle staff for having not written before. I have broken my hand so I coudn't use it. My English is elementary but it is enough to thanks the polite people who helped me and my husband for everything we need. The hotel is nice, silent even if it is very near to the center with pubs, market and restaurants. The room was very clean and furnished with all main things. Sober colours, modern minimalist furniture, cool. When you arrive ,you take off your shoes at the entrance ( very good for hygiene and cleanliness) and you forget problems! I remember the delicious breakfast waited by a delightful silent girl in a room opened on a terrace, a nice way to start the day! I and my husband are 60 years old, we live in Italy near Milan, we have travelled all over the world, so I can recommend Villa Medemrei for the good relation between quality and price. We were there in January for 5 days. We hope to come back to Siem Reap in this hotel in a run!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank aecm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#75 of 334 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.7 mi away
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Angkor Pearl Hotel
#76 of 334 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#73 of 334 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Laysung Boutique
Laysung Boutique
#72 of 334 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kiri Boutique Hotel
Kiri Boutique Hotel
#119 of 334 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#74 of 334 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Medamrei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Medamrei

Property: Villa Medamrei
Address: Vihear Chin Village, Svay Dangkum Communce, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 334 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Medamrei 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your charming accommodation at the heart of Siem Reap. Comfort and Style. Convenience and Accessibility. Villa Medamrei is 5 minute walk from the bustling Pub Street and Old Market area. With 19 rooms, this boutique villa is decorated in Contemporary Khmer Style. Fusing traditional Khmer materials and bold contemporary colors, a perfect example of Cambodian ingenuity and style. Villa Medamrei offers clean, cozy & friendly accommodations. Relax and chill-out at our rooftop garden, or enjoy our menu of international and traditional Khmer dishes in our restaurant. A business center to work on all your needs is also present. Our room rate and 24 hours service with highly trained staff is guaranteed within your budget for a long stay in Cambodia, either for your business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Villa Medamrei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing