We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”
Review of Villa Medamrei

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Medamrei
Ranked #106 of 340 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for four nights and loved our room. The place was clean, comfortable, and well located. The staff were super friendly and always anxious to please - they helped organize a trip to Angkor Wat for us (free Tuk Tuk ride with special online booking promotion) and a bus to Bangkok. The free breakfast was delicious!

Small problems: the wifi was unreliable in our room (we were furthest from the lobby) and the staff were insistent we pay before checkout. Not sure if that is standard in Cambodia, but it took us off guard and they asked us a number of times despite us telling them we needed to visit an ATM. The laundry service was well-run, but expensive - more than twice the price of other locations. Finally, they booked us tickets to Bangkok for $16 - other people on our bus only paid $11 for the same ticket - and there was a mix-up and they gave us the wrong tickets (ours were only to Poi Pet, the border crossing, and not Bangkok). This caused a bit of confusion at the border, but luckily we got it sorted out without having to pay more. Likely an honest and rare mistake, but something to double check as we didn't think to do so.

Overall, an enjoyable stay with great service! I would recommend this place.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank NicolaRoseCarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    97
    28
    7
    1
See reviews for
32
143
80
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taguig City, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The staff are friendly, polite and accommodating. Location is near Pub Street, Night Market, Travel Agencies and Koulen Restaurant. The place is clean and has a relaxing ambiance. I would definitely come back to this place. :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tin Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed T Villa Madamrei for 3-4 nights. Room was comfortable and secure. Staff are friendly. Rom is cleaned well every day. The restaurant is good.
They organised tuk tuks for us and a fantastic Khymer guide for Angkor Wat. U can buy tickets for many things at the front desk.
Seemed to be family run and managed.
Safe and secure in a good location.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Excellent service, we arrive earlier than the check in time, still they allow us to take our room as we were too exhausted after long hour flight and jet lag. All the staff are so friendly that you feel you were at home. Some of them are quite funny as well. the hotel is just too comfortable that some time we nearly want to spend our whole day in the room. It is a convenient location to everything your want, pub street or old market is simply located in the opposite street. we stayed 5 days there, it doesn't disappoint us at all. We will definitely go for second time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HUI A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grove City, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

What a wonderful place. The locatation is so convenient and the hotel employees were so polite, helpful, and friendly. Our room was super, Always clean and quite comfortable. We will definitley stay here again on our next trip to Siem Reap. They helped us with transportation such as bus tickets, special taxis, and tuk-tuks.

They offered great adviced when asked and the food in the restaurant was so good!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

A friend of mine booked this place for our girls trip and she didn't disappoint us. The check-in was quick, the room are clean, the restaurant on the roof top is awesome. The welcome drink and banana crackers was great. The place is close to everything which makes our stay much happier. I remembered there's a massage place near the hotel, totally forgotten the massage company but they did a great massage. We were exhausted after our non stop shopping at the night market and before it hits 11 pm, they agreed to let us have 3 hours massage. Ok back to the hotel story. We were having 50-50 feelings when we handed our passports and valuables to one guy at the reception since they don't even have a safety box in the room (that was in 2012) he put our stuffs in one envelope and put in one small drawer but we all get our stuffs back and have everything was in there. Phew! I would come back there again to stay. Beautiful Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I have conflicted feelings about this hotel. The hotel itself is very nice, clean rooms, great location, (very close to the night markets and anything that you may need: restaurants, shops, bars, etc...) and it's very cheap!! Great stuff!! however had a slightly unpleasant experience with the guy who welcomed us to the hotel (possibly the manager). We asked him for advice about where a motorbike could be rented for exploring the location and the answer was: it's impossible, a motorbike cannot be rented at all in Siem Reap. All travellers/tourists must use a Tuk Tuk (15USD per day) or maybe a bicycle (8USD per day). That night I found a shop that would rent us a motorbike just two minutes walk from the hotel.

After that I lost all trust about any information that I received from the hotel.

I know that it's maybe not easy to rent a motorbike in Siem Reap; due to local policy trying give jobs to local people (especially Tuk Tuk drivers). But they should not misinform their own customers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMedamrei, Manager at Villa Medamrei, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Jonathan,

First of all, we would like to thank for choosing to stay with us and review ours hotel on Tripadvisor. And we hope that you will be support us again.
In fact, there is a problem which happened during your stay it all about information providing(Motor Bike rental). But due to Ministry of Tourism is not allow Tourist to rent Motor and ride by them self. In this case, it allows for foreigner who, coming for business or In name of NGO staff only. So we didn't know that there is​​​​​​ Supplier illegal( Motor rental). For transportation(Tuk Tuk ) is a part of that, for most of people use it to travel. In this case we haven't told you that you must us Tuk Tuk after all, but it's our suggestion to you, yet you can chose whatever you want. We would like to apologize for any inconvenient problems that make you unsatisfied during your journey in our Villa.

Lastly wish you and family all the best!!

Chamroeun Kong,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#84 of 340 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.7 mi away
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Angkor Pearl Hotel
#91 of 340 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sekla Villa Angkor
Sekla Villa Angkor
#71 of 340 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#67 of 340 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#105 of 340 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.5 mi away
Central Indochine D'angkor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Medamrei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Medamrei

Property: Villa Medamrei
Address: Vihear Chin Village, Svay Dangkum Communce, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 340 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Medamrei 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your charming accommodation at the heart of Siem Reap. Comfort and Style. Convenience and Accessibility. Villa Medamrei is 5 minute walk from the bustling Pub Street and Old Market area. With 19 rooms, this boutique villa is decorated in Contemporary Khmer Style. Fusing traditional Khmer materials and bold contemporary colors, a perfect example of Cambodian ingenuity and style. Villa Medamrei offers clean, cozy & friendly accommodations. Relax and chill-out at our rooftop garden, or enjoy our menu of international and traditional Khmer dishes in our restaurant. A business center to work on all your needs is also present. Our room rate and 24 hours service with highly trained staff is guaranteed within your budget for a long stay in Cambodia, either for your business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Medamrei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing