We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Is a budget hotel ,don't expect much for that price ,,, comfortable bed,,hot watershower ,aircon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Dancing Frog Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
kl
1 review
“Is a budget hotel ,don't expect much for that price ,,, comfortable bed,,hot watershower ,aircon”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The place is also located really close to the Pub street. I book this hotel 3nite at booking.com and they provide free pickup from airport to hotel... Staff very helpful ,Great value tuk tuk service to Ankor Wat around 12usd perday. recomment great massage at The Moon Villa & Spa and The Moon Villa & Spa around 15usd for fullbody old massage .

Room Tip: rooms cheap, quiet, clean, nice breakfast and great bos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seong2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    39
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
33
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed here for one night as a couple, during our second time in Siem Reap. Although the place was homely and Mr Ali was very welcoming and warm, helpful, we made the decision to move to another place for the remainder of the time.

Our room at the Dancing Frog was fine and the air conditioning worked well (excellent for the super hot weather we were experiencing in Siem Reap at the time!) but we found that the water pressure in the bathroom was not good, the shower would cut out every few minutes leaving you standing there halfway through washing. You would be back on track soon enough, but it's a bit of an inconvenience when you're trying to wash yourself after a long day of sightseeing, and the toilet would not flush properly either.

It's a shame that such a small thing had a big effect, as I wouldn't have minded staying at the Dancing Frog for longer if it had been a different story with the water. Mr Ali made sure that we felt welcome and the hostel is in a great location too, not far from the main hub of Pub Street and the Night Markets.

Room Tip: Just make sure that the water pressure in your bathroom is up to your standards - water may dwindle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linnykins01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

My friend and I thought our days of hostels were behind us, but what a great decision we made to save money by staying at Dancing Frog. Don't let the name "Hostel" put you off. The budget is pure hostel, but the service, location and ambiance are completely different. To echo other reviewers, Ali and his staff exceeded our expectations. He answered every question with loads of helpful information, arranged all of our tours and transportation with trustworthy tuk tuk and taxi drivers, and generally made us feel relaxed and at home during our too-short stay. The girls cooking and serving food were great at both, and there are constant smiles all around the welcoming restaurant/patio/lobby.

The location is a five minute walk from anything you will need in Siem Reap, but is still in a very quiet location and promises an undisturbed sleep after visiting the temples and filling yourself with Khmer cuisine.

Don't miss their iced Cambodian and Vietnamese coffee.

Room Tip: A/C rooms are a must in the March and April heat. Remove your door key from the room key combo so y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scubagirlATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013 via mobile

I have travelled across and stayed at many places in the world as a backpacker but I can safely say nothing holds a candle to The Dancing Frog & Ali. We were only there a few days but it felt like we were genuine family that had been there our whole lives. They have a quiet location just off the main road near all the good stuff in Siem Reap including the Night Market & Pub Steet which are the thing to do in the evening. They have a manageable, fresh menu that is well priced and doesn't make us think a bad thing about food in Cambodia like you often hear. For the price of the room it was exactly what we needed, but what you can't put a price on is Ali and how he over delivered. He told us everything we needed to know so we didn't need a tour guide to select which temples to see. With his help we found temples literally off the map where no one goes and we were the only ones there. More than anything, he took the time to get to know us so he could enhance our experience of Siem Reap as a whole, and he shared stories about himself as well which we enjoyed. He is now a friend for life even though we live 13,666 km away. As a traveller I never promote going back to repeat experiences but if I have made it a goal to visit Dancing Frog again. Thank you so much Ali!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John_Roch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arequipa, Peru
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Ive just started my travels and this was the first place that I stayed for five nights, The Room was nice and clean, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the food was good too and also reasonably priced. ~It was within walking distance to all markets in the area. I would definetly recommend staying here to anyone going to Sem Reap

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

This is a true travellers paradise. Ali G and his girls will take such good care of you. Treat them right, and they will tell you everything you need to know about Siem Reap. I spent a month in Asia and this was the best memories. Dont expect luxury accomodation, this is Cambodia, but this is definitly where you want to be. Great food, great friends, and great beer too! Ali, I recently got those gifts framed, and they look beautiful. Thank you! A home away from home, this country is full of love, and Ali is a glowing example. Deciding to stay at Dancing Frog will be the best deicision you make in many years.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefKevin99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2013

When we booked the room for this price we were not really sure what to expect, but our room was very good and the owner very helpful. We arrived late and still he organized a TukTuk driver for the next day before sunrise. And the hostel is located right next to the center but in a quit street.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.8 mi away
Bambu Stay
Bambu Stay
#29 of 262 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hak's House Residence - Family Own
0.4 mi away
The Siem Reap Hostel
The Siem Reap Hostel
#3 of 262 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hangout
Hangout
#19 of 262 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Luxury Concept Hostel
The Luxury Concept Hostel
#33 of 262 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sweet Dreams Guesthouse
Sweet Dreams Guesthouse
#28 of 262 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dancing Frog Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dancing Frog Hostel

Property: The Dancing Frog Hostel
Address: No 38 Phsar Krom Road | Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap 10000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 262 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to "The Dancing Frog" hostel located in Siem Reap town centre close to restaurants, shops and the nightlife. The Dancing Frog is a French family run hostel with affordable budget type rooms for short and long term stays. The hostel is ideal if you are looking to stay a while in Siem Reap or if you are on a longer trip and you are looking for place a bit more homely. We can arrange all types of tours to the Angkor temples and vast experience knowledge of the area to help make your trip Siem Reap a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Dancing Frog Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing