We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Moon Boutique Hotel
Ranked #58 of 376 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2011

The hotel is lovely and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very nice and spacious and the bathroom is quite grand. The hotel provides a tuk tuk, free of charge, and a mobile phone to call to be picked up after a night out. A substantial breakfast is provided, which was also free of charge. A very convenient, clean, friendly hotel. Don't let the road outside put you off as it gives you a Cambodian massage!!!! Can't say enough about it, would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (924)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

699 - 705 of 924 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2011

Visited Siem Reap with my family and spent 3 nights at Moon Boutique hotel. We arrived at night and had forgotten to ask the hotel to pick us up, which led to us spending half an hour with a taxi driver looking for our hotel in the dark while trying to convince us to book a guided tour of Angkor with him. Eventually he found the hotel, and we had a warm welcome at the Moon Boutique which was much better than we ever expected.

During our whole stay the staff was extremely helpful, the rooms were really big, clean and beautiful. There are only 17 rooms which creates a very cozy atmosphere. The hotel is a little bit out of Siem Reap town, but this wasnt really a problem, since they offered free Tuk Tuk-service (~10 mins) and we spent most of our days in Angkor anyways. The location allowed for very quiet nights on the other hand.

All in all I am very glad we chose to stay at Moon Boutique as i couldn't imagine a better place. We really had all we wanted and so much more (like free breakfast to go for sunrise at angkor, and a great guide).

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

An unbelievably nice hotel. The staff were the friendliest and most helpful I have ever (ever!) come across. The hotel is beautiful, with an amazing pool and restaurant. The rooms are spacious, look great and have amazing bathrooms.
The hotel is located a little away from the centre, but the hotel provided free tuk tuks to and from town whenever we needed one - it takes about five minutes.
Staying at the Moon boutique was one of the highlights of our trip around Asia and we couldn't recommend it more!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shermer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Everything was perfect with our stay here at The Moon Boutique Hotel. They will pick you up from town and give you a welcome drink while you check in.

The rooms were huge and very comfortable with a flat screen tv and free wi-fi. Bathroom was also huge with lovely marble bath and shower designed with stone pebbles around the edge. Pool is so beautiful and relaxing after a hot sweaty day exploring the amazing temples of Angkor.

Restaurant is sooo good, and cheap too. We ate here everyday. Cocktails are great. Breakfast is fantastic with so much choice. And a selection of fresh fruit and breads. Coffee is the best I've had in cambodia. And all included in the room price. It feels like you are staying at a 5-star resort for the price of a 2 or 3 star!

The hotel organized all our trips to Angkor and they only give you good drivers. Our tuk-tuk driver was very experienced and he had as much background knowledge as a tour guide if you wanted to know anything about the temples. He planned our itinerary for us based on what we wanted to see and what he recommended. (His name was Mr. Hak).

Staff were all super friendly and helpful. Spa isn't finished yet as it's a new hotel so they drove in a lovely lady to give me a foot massage by the pool in the evening (after walking around Angkor for two days this was really relaxing and I would recommend it). Also they gave a 35% discount... it's still a lot more expensive than in town but worth it for the peaceful and relaxing setting.

They also organized our bus to Bangkok hassle free and arranged our transfer to the pick-up point.

Location is outside town down an unpaved road - which I thought was perfect as we just wanted to visit Angkor and chill out at the hotel in the evenings anyways.

I have two small suggestions to the hotel to help make it even better... There are too many mosquitoes and you really must wear some kind of repellant around the pool and restaurant. But there aren't any in the rooms so it's not a huge problem. Also the laundry was far too expensive by SE Asian standards... I think the price should be more in line with other laundry shops/hotels.

Overall it's the best hotel I've stayed in SE Asia (for the price) and if you are planning a trip to Angkor I would highly recommend this hotel as your base.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Themoon59, Manager at The Moon Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2011

Thank you very much for taking your value time with The Moon Boutique Hotel and your kind sharing us in order to improve our hotel. We have taken note well on your two suggestions and taking action as the following:

- We have added up two more times mosquitoes spay therefore the spraying schedule is up to 6 times per month, and

- The laundry bill is being changed its rate to be more competitive. While the changing is in progress, the hotel offers its residents at 35% discount.

The Moon Boutique Hotel is always looking for the feedback and will take immediate action to improve and fulfill its gaps.

The Moon Boutique Hotel's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

I stayed at this hotel for two nights in early Dec 2011. I booked through Agoda and paid around $37/night after taxes. The prior 7 nights I'd stayed all over the east side of cambodia at Guest Houses and hotels, some as cheap as $8/night and the most expensive was $40/night. This was BY FAR the best of the bunch and to be honest if i was to turn up and guess the price, I would have guessed closer to $100/night.

The rooms were large, modern and clean with a large sized bathroom with bath and rain shower. The only problem a few of us had was that the aircons were not quite getting the rooms cold enough, but the next day the repair crews were on site trying to fix the problem. Still, one night after a few drinks I got back and when I mentioned the aircon problem the guy on duty went and found me a fan an brought it to my room.

There was breakfast included in the above price too, a decent selection of breads and eggs etc with coffee and fruit juice. Breakfast 'officially' ended at 10am but they were more than happy to keep serving after this time.

In addition the hotel arranged a free tuk tuk service around Siem reap, you just call and tell them where you are and they send someone to pick you up. On my last night I went out for dinner before my flight, they of course took us to the restaurant, and then i left my bags at the hotel and later they sent them with a drive to pick me up from the restaurant to go directly to the airport. Just great service, never had this anywhere else in Asia.

The one let down if there was one was that it was a little hard to find around 500m or so down a dirt road away from town. So the Tuk Tuk service was probably a requirement, at least until the area builds out and the local taxis figure out where the hotel is. The trip into town (pub street) was probably around 5-10 minutes, could probably walk it in 20-30 minutes if not in a rush.

Room Tip: if you want a nice view of the pool, then i'd avoid rooms 3-5, but these are probably the quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seoultrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

After staying with our friends for one night at The Moon we returned for another week to experience this beautiful oasis! The little touches are a reminder that you are staying at a place that has thought of everything. The in-house transportation throughout Siem Reap allowed us to enjoy the city rather than navigate it. Spacious rooms and baths and a beautifully relaxing pool area. Best wi-fi in town as well. All of this supported by a friendly staff and management that rival hotels of international standards and of which were the real reason we have such fond memories of our time here. Can't wait to see you again!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mwinevergreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Visiting Siem Reap usually means visiting the magic temples of Angkor Wat. Most of the year that's a sweaty and dusty and quite tiring experience although absolutely worth every effort. Staying in the Moon Boutique Hotel is a real advantage since you get a chance to truly relax while preparing for the great sightseeing and nights out at the many good restaurant and bars of town.
All rooms are located on ground level around a beautiful swimming pool in a wonderful tropical garden. During a 4 nights stay we didn't experience a single staff member who would not go the extra mile to make you feel at home, give friendly advise, and be honestly alert to the guest's wishes. A late checkout was accepted without a problem.
Our spotlessly clean room was spacious with comfy beds and a huge bathroom. Maybe the interior design is a little cold with the tile floor, but that's just a matter of taste.
Since the hotel's location is about 10mins away from the city center and 20mins from the tempels there is a free (!) tuktuk service into town and back (they give you a mobile to call reception when to send the tuktuk for pickup). We used that every night and it worked absolutely perfect.
Delicious breakfast is served in a comfortable outdoor restaurant again by the most friendly waiters imaginable.
Next time we would stay longer. Visiting the temples is much more rewarding when you split it into several (shorter) days than doing it on 2 or 3 full days at (we loved being provided with an icecold towel and water after sightseeing which the hotel staff had prepared in advance).
For healthy travelers with a sense of responsibility: Kantha Bopha children's hospital located on the way to Angkor, run by a swiss doctor, is grateful for blood donation and it takes only about 20mins. Just let the reception get you a tuktuk there.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ZürichMimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.4 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#59 of 376 in Siem Reap
534 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#50 of 376 in Siem Reap
586 reviews
1 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
La Residence Blanc D'Angkor
La Residence Blanc D'Angkor
#46 of 376 in Siem Reap
749 reviews
1.5 mi away
Saem Siemreap Hotel
Saem Siemreap Hotel
#53 of 376 in Siem Reap
1,690 reviews
1.1 mi away
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Angkor Pearl Hotel
#106 of 376 in Siem Reap
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moon Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moon Boutique Hotel

Address: Phum Wat Bo, Sala Kamreuk Commune, Siem Reap kh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 376 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: £26 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Moon Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the historical land of Cambodia Kingdom of Wonder, The Moon Boutique is your home away from home and offers Traditional Khmer personal hospitality to ensure your comfort and enjoyment. Ensconced in an area rich with the ambiance of local village, guests will find the area tranquilizing as well as convenient. The Moon Boutique offers numerous complimentary of services including; daily breakfast, high speed WIFI connection, round trip airport transfer, shuttle to downtown and local organic fruit in basket set in room upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Moon Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing