We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Moon Boutique Hotel
Ranked #53 of 365 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2012

The hotel description in short:
- Great spacious rooms with big bathroom. All beautifully decorated.
- Amazing hospitality from the staff. They are always trying their best and the service is great.
- The included breakfast is abundant and with good quality. It includes delicious fruits at the end.
- Nice relaxing swimming pool for resting after visiting the temples. Pool towels always available.
- Nice restaurant with delicious food and reasonable prices.
- Spa and massages that you can take even in your room.
- Internet works perfectly in all the places and they have a laptop that you can use for free in case you need a computer.
- Even of the hotel is not in central Siem Reap, this fact is compensated by the tranquility of the zone and the free transport to/from airport and town (about 5 minutes in tuk-tuk). They even give you a phone so you can call to be picked up.

The only thing that is pricy in my opinion is the laundry service (also mentioned in another review). It is not excessily expensive to be honest but relatively to other prices in Cambodia. (1usd for each shirt, short, trousers and 0.8usd for socks and underwear.

Highly recommended place. I would surly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sotomsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (904)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

652 - 658 of 904 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

Outstanding accommodation and service. They even supply a free tuk tuk service into and around town, giving you a mobile phone so when ready you can call and get picked up. Pool is a good size and the gardens excellent. Food is very good, breakfast is vast. I will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malachy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Thank you to Moon Boutique for making our 6-day stay one of the best ever. The staff at this hotel deserve special mention for their friendliness and professionalism. In addition, they have various amenities that enable guests to enjoy a hassle-free stay such as free airport pick-up and drop-off, free tuk tuk to/from the hotel to the city, free wifi enabled laptop, etc.

The hotel is a lush oasis in Siem Reap, the pool area is great, the rooms are spotless and well maintained, the shower/bath is great and lastly, the 4-course breakfast is to die for. On the whole, the hotel provides a luxurious setting at a very reasonable price. The manager was even kind enough to arrange for our domestic flights and recommend shopping venues. We have no hesitation in recommending this place.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jagsriram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Great, friendly, and helpful staff! From the moment we walked in ( welcome drinks and fresh towels) until airport drop off (complimentary) we loved our stay here because of the staff.

The hotel itself however is secluded and not easy to find by yourself. Therefore the hotel offer free transport and sop off to where ever you want! Very convenient.

Rooms were clean but way to many mosquitoes. You will need all e repellents in the world to help you stay bite free! Breakfast was good and pool was clean.

I would only recommend this hotel if your okay with not being in walking distance from the happening place, otherwise it was great.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zanz-Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Me and another two friends stayed for 3 nights and it was one of the best vacation stay I ever had. The hotel is cozy, peaceful and serene. You can find absolute peace just by sleeping by the poolside. The WiFi is available everywhere; in the room, the Khmer restaurant and even by the poolside; so you can fill your time by hanging out and browsing the Internet via your laptop or tablet. I read about previous reviews and I'm quite sure that they have solved the WiFi problem. The WiFi is working perfectly.

We first decided on the hotel due to the comfort and services. But after seeing the reviews, we knew that this would be the right choice. When we arrived, we knew for sure that the reviews are not overrated. The room is comfortable and even the bathroom is practical and very nicely finished. The staff are nice and very accommodating. Although their English is limited, they are trying really hard so that they are able to accommodate to our needs. I felt humbled by their efforts. I believe they will improve over time.

The hotel rate comes with complimentary tuk-tuk ride by the hotel staff to the downtown, which I especially appreciated since the hotel location is far off from the town area. They will provide you with a small mobile phone, so when you are ready to go back to the hotel, they will pick you up at pre-determined place. We usually meet up at Viva Mexican Cafe near the Pub Street. I believe if I'm travelling alone, I would choose the hotel again, because of the peaceful and serenity of the place AND their value-add services. The complimentary tuk-tuk gives a comforting thought to the guest's safety especially at night time.

Not forgetting the spa and massage place available in the hotel. Although the spa place is small, it is nicely decorated and able to provide serene environment to the customers. Me and my friends had our spa session and the price after 35% discount is really worth it. We were immediately rejuvenated after the spa treatment.

Since our flight to depart Siam Reap is early in the morning, we have to check out by 6am and leave immediately. That left us no time for breakfast. The staff went to extra length by providing us breakfast pack; including the eggs :), the bread and pastries, as well as the fruits. We were truly pampered and spoiled by the services provided.

TWO THUMBS UP for the hotel. Overall, we are very satisfied by the room condition, the services and well as the hotel environment.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FerraRaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

The Moon Boutique Hotel is down a red dirt road, just past the four grazing water buffalo who are sometimes noshing on the scrub in the empty lot near by. The weather was perfect and hot for 8 days in February 2012. The people are poor and warm. The road from the airport is paved and good, accommodating cars, motorbikes, scooters, tuk-tuks, and bicycles. All is mostly harmony. The Khmer Rouge are gone but their landmines remain. Every Cambodian has a story about that time, and none of them is good. But they are moving forward. Here in Siem Reap (SEE em REE ep) near the glorious Angkor Wat, tourism was up 15% in 2011 and it’s expected to increase another 20% in 2012 according to the Cambodian Daily newspaper we read over breakfast. We can attest to the fact that tourists are swarming everywhere, and we are glad to be among them..

I have never collected anyone from an airport in a tuk-tuk, a “surrey with the fringe on top” pulled by a helmeted motorcycle driver. We have no seat belts and the wind blows our hair wildly. It’s quite exhilarating, passing the Brahma cows and bulls, loosely tethered, if at all, munching on scrubby nothing. It’s the dry season. The cows are thin. Scrub has few calories.

My husband and I were collected at the airport from our Bangkok flight by a moderately air conditioned car, free of charge, by the Moon Boutique, and we appreciated this service very much.. When we return to collect our 23 year old daughter several hours later, we are shown to a tuk-tuk, (what...no car ?) with two short bench seats facing each other. We tried to imagine driving to the airport in NY or Houston, in a tuk-tuk, and we couldn’t fathom the prospect. Siem Reap has 120,000 residents, but only the road to the airport and a scant few others are paved. The rest are dirt. Red dirt. With ridges and bumps and bangs and craters posing as potholes that no asphalt company is coming to fill in. We see several naked children, one standing on a motor scooter in front of her mother, and wonder if poverty or weather renders clothing superfluous. The scenes of Siem Reap seem like something from a Vietnam-era war movie without the war. Thank God there is no war here now, only the war crimes trials in Phenom Phen that our guide thinks is a big waste of money spent on a bunch of aging murderers. He has his own Khmer Rouge nightmare to tell.

Our daughter is thrilled when we take her to the tuk-tuk, parked with 77 others in the airport parking lot. There are very few cars. Our Moon Boutique driver loads the three of us, daughter's 60 lb backpack, and her 20-pound day pack, in and around the tuk-tuk, and we are off, to the hotel with the swimming pool and the Wi-Fi on the red dirt road we share with the water buffalo.

And now, since this is a review, the upside and the downside as I saw it:
Upside:
1. The staff is very pleasant, kind, and accommodating. Soh-Vann speaks quite good English. He has been studying with a monk. Most other stafff members have limited English but try very hard.
2. Tuk-tuk service is provided to and from town for free. (We always tipped the driver $1 each way) These guys are great and incredibly prompt. We typically had them collect us at the Blue Pumpkin because it was a easy landmark.. They always told us it would be a 10 minute wait, but I'm certain they were always there in 5)
3. Breakfast and food--we LOVED the free newspapers provided for guests (don't miss the Cambodia (or Cambodian?) Daily and the Phnem Phen Post--fascinating stuff. We always read at breakfast. Eggs were cooked to order, marvelous fruit, juices, muesli and yogurt was available. We typically ate so much breakfast that we only needed one other meal during the day.
4. The Pool---very refreshing. We all swam every day after our temple tours. It was a welcome godsend.
5. Hotel Location--we loved it. It is not on a main thoroughfare, but we had great and easy access to everything. Being slightly out of the fray (if there is such a thing in Siem Reap) made for quieter nights.
Things the Hotel Might Work On
1. Wi-fi--it was very very spotty--either lightening fast or non-existant. We had to report that the wi-fi was down at least half a dozen times during our stay
2. Air-Con--the unit really isn't big enough to properly cool the room. Our first night was somewhere between uncomfortable and sweltering
3. In-room-safe--an absolute necessity, but this too didn't work properly. Each of our last 4 days we had to get the "safe key" to open our unit.
4. Room---door to bathroom wouldn't latch and swung open a foot or so unless someone on the outside slammed it shut for the person on the inside.


We paid about $70/night for the 3 of us which was a good value in an amazing, eye-opening country. I miss the red dirt road and the water buffalo already.

Room Tip: We had Room 1 next to the spa which likely had as much or more light as any room. The in-room lighti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Themoon59, Manager at The Moon Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

We appreciate you very much for both staying with us and taking your time to give us the value feedback for paying further attention.

I personally read your comments and pass on to my team to be aware of and take action to fix those shortly while the WiFi access point has been changed soon after you let us.

Once again, we would like to thank you and trust that you will see our response at your disposal time

The Moon Boutique Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I stayed 5 nights at the moon boutique hotel...it was so great....not even one minute to feel uncomfortable of choosing this hotel....the staffs had tried to serve us the best they could...free Tuk Tuk service to and from town, just call them by using the hotel cell phone that they provided for their customers....oh how impressive of the hotel...
The only one restaurant was also great....next to the very nice swimming pool...
Believe me...you will not be disappointed of choosing this hotel...
Quiet place to stay...feeling like home....very relaxing...
Even a bit ten minute ride...far from the town center....do not be hesitated....
Oh and also the staffs were very nice to favor me to check out late due my flight was cancelled....they had done their best!!
The only one thing I would like the hotel to improve is just the language, the communication, sometimes a bit misunderstanding but all the rests were ok....

Room Tip: Rooms which are opposite the swimming pool are more quiet than our room which is opposite the restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joynina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.3 mi away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#59 of 365 in Siem Reap
576 reviews
1.4 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#43 of 365 in Siem Reap
512 reviews
1.0 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Angkor Pearl Hotel
#94 of 365 in Siem Reap
1,448 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#22 of 365 in Siem Reap
3,747 reviews
0.3 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#36 of 365 in Siem Reap
5,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moon Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moon Boutique Hotel

Address: Phum Wat Bo, Sala Kamreuk Commune, Siem Reap kh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 365 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: £40 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Moon Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the historical land of Cambodia Kingdom of Wonder, The Moon Boutique is your home away from home and offers Traditional Khmer personal hospitality to ensure your comfort and enjoyment. Ensconced in an area rich with the ambiance of local village, guests will find the area tranquilizing as well as convenient. The Moon Boutique offers numerous complimentary of services including; daily breakfast, high speed WIFI connection, round trip airport transfer, shuttle to downtown and local organic fruit in basket set in room upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Moon Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing