We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem away from all the "touristy" spots.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Moon Boutique Hotel
Ranked #43 of 343 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Hidden gem away from all the "touristy" spots.”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Well worth the extra effort (not that it's much effort - they offer free shuttle services to and from the hotel). Extremely attentive staff and amazing oasis in the middle of "locals" Siem Reap. Would go back anytime and will recommend to anyone I know.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinChart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    146
    12
    9
    1
See reviews for
143
407
69
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

One of the best hotel during our Vietnam-Cambodia tour.
The staff are really nice, the amenities are very good.
They have free tuktuk service anywhere within the city, they even lend us a cellphone for easier communication. The large swimming pool will welcome you after days of touring. They have very good breakfast too. I will definitely go back here and recommend this to my friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed with family at this wonderful place between May 12 and 17. It was my first visit to Cambodia and we were all relieved as we checked in. Had some apprehensions as I had read several critical reviews. But we took three rooms and extended our stay for a night - as we loved the stay. It was the best stay in our Thailand-Cambodia tour. Aftre the generally rude experiences in Thailand I was apprehensive of the kind of treatment they will mete out to Indians. But to my pleasant surprise, the staff was a great help and wnet out of their way to help us. I must congratulate Dimang and Changsen for always being a great help. The free tuk-tuk pick-up and drop facility was a wonderful bonus. They even gave us a local phone to call for tuk-tuk!

Would like to list some of the pros and cons in a nutshell. CONS: 1) I learnt that power is very expensive in Cambodia, but a half-ton AC is too less for the large rooms. The Hotel should immediately change them to 1.5 tons atleast or install a ceiling-fan to compensate for it. 2) There should be mosquito repellent - liquid vaporiser / electrical in every room. Nothign else to add. PROS: Quite a few! 1) Really pleasant place to stay, with family or alone. 2) Wonderful service by pleasant staff, unlike most places in Thailand. 3) Beds are comfy. 4) Room are very clean and new. 5) The pool and restaurant are nice. 6) I loved the big bathrooms with shower area and separate tub. 7) Its location is in a quaint and really quiet street. Though the road that leads in is a busy non-descript place. But the free tuk-tuk transported us to Pub-street and Old market in an average 10-minutes so we actually enjoyed the location.

In all I highly recommend the place to everyone - jsut be sure to ask for an extra fan in your room if your like it cool and breezy.

Room Tip: Actually all the rooms are nicely located, but to seek more privacy look for the rooms deep-inside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shyamparekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Lovely staff, we were picked up from airport by the free tuk tuk service which also dropped us into town any time we wanted to go. They gave us a mobile phone so we could call the office whenever we wanted a pickup from town. The pool was beautiful set in a tropical garden with outdoor restaurant overlooking it (yummy breakfast too). The room was lovely with a gorgeous stone bath. I also had a spa treatment conveniently located next to room 1. It was a relaxing, stress-free stay and I highly recommend the Moon Boutique. We had a sunrise and short tour by tuk tuk of the temples arranged by the hotel which cost $23 for about 6 1/2 hours and was enough time for us to see the main temples.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa4864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury Park, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The Moon Boutique Hotel was one of my favorite accommodations in southeast Asia because of all the amenities and the warm, welcoming people who worked there. It is tastefully decorated, beautifully landscaped, and located in a peaceful setting off the main roads. All the staff members (front office, reception, restaurant, housekeeping, spa, tuk tuk drivers .....) were so kind and very helpful about communicating all the hotel had to offer (free transfers to/from airport or bus station, free transfers to city center, spa packages, tours, etc.). The on-site restaurant was a convenient option to going out for dinner; food was always tasty and quite generous (especially for the included breakfast, compared to some other hotels I've stayed in Asia). I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone considering a visit to Siem Reap.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank acquadivita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We were only in Siem Reap for two nights, arriving in time for dinner, spending one day touring the great temples and leaving the next morning. But loved our stay at Moon Boutique! After being picked up at the airport, we were warmly greeted by the staff. Dinner at the restaurant was delightful as were the breakfasts. The hotel has a relaxing aura about it and the staff add to that, they are there to assist you with a smile. We enjoyed the spa and pool, too. I can't say much about the surrounding area, (the hotel is down a dirt back alley) as we weren't there long enough to explore, but the hotel was great!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We were looking for a quiet vacation over Khmer New Year and ended up at The Moon Boutique after fleeing a incredibly understaffed, overbooked, crazy loud hotel. From the time we arrived our entire vacation was transformed from chaotic to completely chill. The staff was super nice and attentive, they quickly checked us in, got us to our room, and took the time to explain how everything at the hotel worked. The room itself is tastefully decorated, spacious, w/ good a/c, and all the amenities. The bathroom is huge, with a stone tub, and hot water shower w/ great water pressure. My only complaints about the bathroom is a lack of anywhere to hang a hand towel or wet bathing suit, which is a small but important oversight. The only complaint about the room is the fact that they put tinted glass on the windows for privacy but it makes the room very dark so if you have to use the lights all day long. Given the fact that all main floor and surround the pool and restaurant I'm not sure why they didn't put patio doors in but again, its a small complaint since you don't spend that much time in your room anyway.

The entire hotel is sunk into a tropical garden which is maintained throughout the entire day and shows a lot of the Cambodia's most beautiful plants and trees. Tons of birds, geckos, frogs, and guppies in the ponds which means few mosquitoes though I wouldn't leave my room door open for too long because Siem Reap in general has a lot of mosquitoes.

The pool is warm and great for both a swim or a soak and there are more than enough chairs to lounge around though shade can be a bit of a problem.

We had several meals at the restaurant and found everything delicious. The burger was way too small as was the grilled fish fillet but the meals are reasonably priced so grab an appetizer if you want those dishes.

Since we were feeling lazy, we took advantage of the spa and both had the 60 min. aromatherapy massage. The massage was great, the aroma in the oil was non-existent. Tipping is appreciated if you feel so inclined but its not added on the bill or suggested by anyone.

All the staff were very friendly, smiling, and attentive. The nice thing is that I rarely saw a authoritarian manager type yet everything in the place ran like clockwork and you didn't see staff sitting around or ignoring the guests.

Since The Moon Boutique is located 5 minutes away from the city centre they offer free tuk tuks into town and back and will even give you a local phone to call them if you don't have your own. This is a really generous service as dealing with tuk tuk drivers in Siem Reap can be very frustrating as many of them are rude and prey off tourists. They also offer the Cambodia Daily newspaper which is a bonus if you want to read some news about Cambodia and the world.

There was only one big problem with this hotel. The WiFi is very poor. They have three connection points so signal strength is great but the service itself is dodgy. Sometimes it works but more often it doesn't. If you rely on the internet for work, keeping in touch with friends, or planning your trip (finding restaurants, etc.) you may find yourself frustrated. Hopefully this was a temporary problem or will be addressed as its the only thing that prevents me from giving it an excellent rating.

All and all I highly recommend The Moon Boutique if you're looking for a peaceful, luxurious getaway at a very affordable price.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool are a bit brighter and further away from the dining area. Some rooms are down dark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coconutfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.3 mi away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#59 of 343 in Siem Reap
549 reviews
1.0 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
2.7 mi away
La Residence Blanc D'Angkor
La Residence Blanc D'Angkor
#44 of 343 in Siem Reap
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence101
Residence101
#26 of 343 in Siem Reap
398 reviews
1.1 mi away
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Angkor Pearl Hotel
#90 of 343 in Siem Reap
1,431 reviews
1.0 mi away
Popular Residence Hotel
Popular Residence Hotel
#42 of 343 in Siem Reap
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moon Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moon Boutique Hotel

Property: The Moon Boutique Hotel
Address: Phum Wat Bo, Sala Kamreuk Commune, Siem Reap kh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 343 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Moon Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the historical land of Cambodia Kingdom of Wonder, The Moon Boutique is your home away from home and offers Traditional Khmer personal hospitality to ensure your comfort and enjoyment. Ensconced in an area rich with the ambiance of local village, guests will find the area tranquilizing as well as convenient. The Moon Boutique offers numerous complimentary of services including; daily breakfast, high speed WIFI connection, round trip airport transfer, shuttle to downtown and local organic fruit in basket set in room upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Moon Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing