We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but there are better places in Siem Reap”
Review of The Prohm Roth Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Prohm Roth Inn
Ranked #277 of 507 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 March 2013

In general value/price ratio is not that bad but you need to compare it to Siem Reap. There are better places in Siem Reap for cheaper price.
They offer free pick-up from airport by tuk-tuk and for me it worked well. Driver was waiting for me with my name on the sign and name of the hostel.
I was renting a bickycle from next-door hostel for 1$ per day.
It's located north from city center which is good because it's closer to the temples but still walking distance to pub street :)
The fan room was very noisy during the night (because of fan running) but at least there were no mosquitoes . AC room on ground floor was looking much better and the AC was working good but somehow the mosquitoes were getting in.
Very basic breakfast (1,5$ if not included in the room price) where basically you can get 2 eggs in different ways plus 2 toasts. Good coffee :)

Room Tip: There is no good choice :P Noisy fan room or more expensive A/C room with mosquitoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcelir00dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2013

We had to wait over an hour to be picked up at international airport after we phoned 3 times to see if they were still coming. Not a good start as pick up is included in the deal.
However due to power problems the Inn was not operating so they brought us back to the Guesthouse. A different property owed by same person. He refused to acknowledge our breakfast included deal but did provide a with a clean very basic room. It certainly looks better in the photos.

Room Tip: A very basic room at a very basic price. It is close to the main streets, and supermarket. It is do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Debbi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meang_SiemReap, Owner at The Prohm Roth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Hi again Mrs. Debbi:
February 28th Siem Reap was slapped by a massive power cut since 6am ( and it last for 4 nights). We had said 'sorry' to you two for the mixed up of your airport pick up. My brothers couldn't reach our driver due to either his signal problem or flat battery to check about your arrival until we got a call from you. Again, we're so sorry that you had long waiting then..
== I explained to you already that the room rate at the guesthouse that left for you is a little higher than the INN and we cannot prepare breakfast for you when your expensive bird watching trip will start at 5am. We didn't force you to stay at the guesthouse. We considered you that you had paid for the room and we had problem with picking up you so we offered you our last double AC room. Then we know how hard-to-please person you are. We wished you understood our big headache of no power for many other guests at the inn and we're still full even without power and so we had to serve them as well, not just you. How could you be happy when you do NOT put yourself in our shoes.
It's not surprise that a hard-to-please person does NOT appreciate our effort to give a good room to catch good sleep when most people in town don't have power for days.
Once again, thank you so much for choosing our place.. We would like to wish you all the best and stay safe..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

1. The price we agreed on upon arrival was not kept once we checked out.
2. We didnt use their free pick up service from the airport, and requested a free ride to the airport. Though we spent good money at our stay, we had to pay extra for the ride.
3. Breakfast is not free, and doesnt worth paying for. Service is SUPER slow, and mostly eggs on the menu.
4. Worst then all those extra spendings was the guy that took care of us for all days. whenever we had a chat he could not talk about anything but money. SO annoying. This was a sophisticated kind of begging that we didnt appreciate during our stay. His English was very bad, and he couldnt make any reasonable recommendations nor tell us anything about the temples.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pumpkin1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meang_SiemReap, Owner at The Prohm Roth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Hello Maya,
Thank you so much for your time spent for this review after your stay.
1. I didn't hear what your talked/negotiated with my boys then. So I cannot say what is true; BUT when you arrived at our guesthouse, you asked us if we had a $10 AC room. From this point we think that you really intended to hit us for that kind of low rate.
2. I am so sorry that our driver didn't give you free transfer to the airport. Maybe you didn't mention to them when check in or following days.
3. We're so sorry that you're a big time vegetarian and NOT pleased with what we had. Slow service? Even at world-famous fast food chains still make people wait after their orders but maybe you never been to such places that's why you cannot hold your patience..
4. I know how low and bad we are in your sight but coloring our driver as begging type is so untrue. You may misread/misjudge his behavior of broken English as he loved to chat around with guests. So now it's shown that your act of fault-finding mission is completed. Very hard to please, really!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Prohmroth G-H and Prohmroth Inn have the same management. I stayed in the INN which was a bad experience. Pick up service was offered and happily accepted, but on arrival there was no pu service to find.
I made a reservation for room X, i knew the room and i liked it more then all other rooms. This was agreed and stated by email. On arrival room X was given to another person... I had to stay in a very hot, crap room. Although it was written in email the manager denied he had promised the room. From all the agreements made the manager only carries out the ones that are convenient for himself.
I cannot make an other conclusion than the management is unreliable and irresponsible.

Surplus they are ignorant about cleaning, not even mentioning maintainance. for example the plastic bathtub had a big 50 cm crack in it, it is unusable as a bath. I dont want to imagine all the fungus growing under the tub.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meang_SiemReap, Owner at The Prohm Roth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Sir, we thank you for staying with us even you had a very rough time with us.. BUT it's NOT all our fault.. Some of the problem was your difficult attitude toward us and you couldn't understand our explanation of matters.
We also thank you for leaving our place for another great and happy place. If we had only you in the entire house, we could easily accommodate you in any room you most loved. But we had so many other guests and we couldn't adjust the room on time as you required. Your demand was too big and when wasn't answered properly, it hurt you back badly. Your style even scared our people NOT to even clean your room for you. Hope you would realize that this world was created for everyone, not just you. So please be happy and stay friendly in anywhere you'll reside in the future. Good luck to you sir!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

After staying at Happy Guest House for one night we had to move on (they were fully booked) and they recommended staying next door at The Prohm Roth Inn.

First off we had paid $6 next door, so were looking for the same sort of price and didn't want to stump up $8 for a room but decided after checking on a number of other places that were either full, overpriced or not up to scratch that this was actually a good deal.

The room was really lovely, clean with warm shower and a TV. My girlfriend didn't feel too well, so spent more time in the room than I did and we have no complaints.

The staff were also really helpful and friendly and can arrange trips and onwards travel.

They also do food but we chose to eat else where as there were plenty of cheap local places within short walking distance.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomHPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

Payed $8 for a pretty big room with two big beds. Very good for that price! Staff is very friendly and they have great breakfast for a couple of dollars that you can order. It's located on the Wat Bo Rd which is like a backpacker street, quiet and off the main road which has a lot if traffic. Only 10-15 minutes walk to pub street or 3 min with tuk tuk for 1-2 dollars. A good place for someone with a small budget, we had a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaOliviia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

These guys are SO nice! They always made sure we were happy. Great value and not too far from old town. Basic and comfy rooms, good/basic breakfast, and the staff made it a really enjoyable place to be!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissaroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.6 mi away
Lotus Blanc Resort
Lotus Blanc Resort
#32 of 361 in Siem Reap
2,380 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.3 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#38 of 361 in Siem Reap
5,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#22 of 361 in Siem Reap
3,697 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#49 of 361 in Siem Reap
901 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jasmine Family Hostel
Jasmine Family Hostel
#176 of 300 in Siem Reap
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prohm Roth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prohm Roth Inn

Address: 72, street 20 off Wat Bo Rd, Wat Bo village | Sangkat Sala Kamreok, Siem Reap 0063, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #277 of 507 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range: £5 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PROHMROTH means "God's jewel". The ProhmRoth Inn is a small, smart family-run, newly refurbished, high quality B&B exists in Siem Reap's city center. The inn offers her special guests with bright, cozy, clean, comfortable, large rooms; efficiently-equipped with teak wood furniture. It has lovely single, twin, double & triple rooms are equipped with fan, A/C, Cable TV, large en-suite bathroom, western toilets with hot water & toiletries! All rooms with window. FREE: high speed WiFi in rooms, pick up, breakfast, welcome drinks & bottle water! The ProhmRoth Inn is located on east side of Wat Bo road, street 20, Wat Bo area, 119 meters from scenic Siem Reap River, near other guesthouses like, Happy, Babel and Mother Home, the beautiful Royal Garden, and other tourists’ sites in the city of Siem Reap! Great place with great values! Meang & his band of brothers would like to invite you to visit Siem Reap, Cambodia now! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing