We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Resort Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Lovely Resort Hotel”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

This is a 5 star hotel, with a huge pool, an air conditioned gym and a beauty spa. The rooms were large and roomy. The breakfast was of a good standard. The bar is good (but pricey). On the opposite corner, there is a little supermarket which sells beer, spirits and other essentials at very cheap prices, so stock up there and put them in your hotel fridge.

Opposite the hotel, literally just across the road, the Green House restaurant was very good for lunch and dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DublinJane_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    106
    44
    12
    16
See reviews for
89
119
22
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We stayed at Sokhalay for 4 nights from 10th to 14th feb 2013. Its a lovely hotel with very spacious villas. We had a 1st floor villa overlooking the swimming pool, which is massive. CNY dinners and live music was on 3nights. the place was very festive. Buffet breakfast had a good spread, only drawback were the flies ( I suppose inevitable in a warm country).
The hotel staff were very helpful and organised pick up n drop off. They planned our tour n arranged car n guide. we got helpful tips from them. Guys at the concierge especially Seth were great - spoke good english and ever ready to help. we enjoyed our stay there.
My impressions - people in Cambodia are generally laid back n work slowly. so if u are looking for efficient service then u will be disappointed. everything gets done but at its pace here.
Only US$ are used there so carrying a lot of small dollar notes are useful. Also good to have some local currency for tipping etc. We realised this rather late.

Room Tip: Ask for deluxe villa on 1st floor with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDuttaHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

After touring siem reap and the great temples, we decided to stay at Sokhalay for some res, peace and rejuvenation.
I was really impressed by the hotel's service. The staff and crew were really attentive to my needs. They took care of everything from handling my bags and they even clean the room several times a day.
The welcoming drinks was really refreshing and quite extraordinary and I liked it. It was made of tamarind and some other exotic mix. There was a fruit basket waiting for us in the room and the lychees were truly juicy and fresh.
Relaxing by the pool was really good. It was huge and nice.
The rooms were big and had a balcony overlooking the pool. I also liked their chopard toiletries. Really smelled good.
Breakfast buffet was also good with plenty of choices from western to local cuisine.
I definitely recommend this villa for some relaxation, peace and quiet.
I would say that I got a good deal for this hotel as I booked it at agoda at 60% off the usual rate.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous-Itchy-Feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

The property is old, but not at all run down- this gives a very charming feel. The service was Quite good overall. Pickup from the airport was perfect- driver was waiting a greeted us with cold water and cold refreshing towels upon arrival to the car. The rooms were spacious and nicely appointed, but the sould insulation between the rooms through the adjooining door was insufficient. Pool area is quite lovely, but there is no drink or food service. Pool was nice, as it was spacious, perfect temp, and salt water. Spa was nice- they have "happy hour" specials. I did a 3 1/2 hr service which was nice. Only room for improvement was that they didn't do extractions with the facial. Very easy to get a tuk tuk from the hotel- there was always one waiting. Restaurant with the cafe and bar just off the lobby offered nice lunch-type options. The other more upscale restaurant off the pool area offered a small dining area, but nice ambiance and enjoyable cuisine at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelrc310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

booked for three nights in early feb during chinese new year. my credit card was charged. i called to learn that in fact i had no room, but they promised to give my back. gee, i better. i'm calling my bank right now. reservations person on the phone was completely spacey.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank niclane7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

I have to say this hotel qualifies as one of the more bizarre (but in a nice way) hotels. The service is very very good, but when you arrive, it almost feels like you just entered a ghost ship. Large marble hallway with grand design, but as far as you look, it's just empty. In my couple of days through the lobby, I never saw anybody. Then, when you get to your room, it's a pleasent surprise. I was upgraded to a pool view villa, which had a large room, very large tv, nice balcony and a "shared livingroom and kitchen" to be used with another bedroom (which in our case was empty). It would be a very good place to go to with either children or a couple of friends. The breakfast was very nice and the pool area is quite good. The pool bar could be slightly better for choice for that type of a property, but no big complaints. It's slightly off the main areas so please be prepared to pay 4-8 dollars for a tuk-tuk ride. Depends how well you negotiate, but we normally paid about 6USD for a drive to town, the tuk tuk to wait for 3-4 hours and then back to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank discoking33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights over New Year's.
Visa on arrival : Painless process as you disembark. Make sure you have USD 20 per person in exact change and a passport photograph.
Hotel transfer.Most hotels offer free transfers.There is a booth on the right as you exit the airport terminal which offers tuk-tuk or taxi transfers to hotels at a fixed price. Taxi is USD 7 for a hotel transfer. Sokhalay picked us up after we waitd 30 ins and gave them a reminder call.
Local mobile sim : Definitely worth buying one at the airport exit point. You can get one for about USD 2 and top up what you think you'll need. It's cheaper for your guide / driver to contact you on a local number.
Changing Currency. Don't bother getting any Riel at all. You'll only end up losing money in the conversion. Carry USD. USD is the defacto currency. Change over USD1 is givenUSD.Below this, change is given in Riel.USD coins are not accepted. USD 1= 4000 Riel is the standard conversion rate used regardless of the current conversion rate. You can pay with a mix of Riel and USD if you wish.
Sokhalay Rooms : We were initially given a downstairs garden view villa room, which on request was changed to a first floor pool view room. Rooms are huge but dark, the upstairs rooms only marginally better. Opening the balcony door does let light in but lets precious cold air out! Breakfast is good and they do provide a packed breakfast on request for early morning starts( sunrise ). Staff is very friendly and helpful. The resort itself is very big but transport within the complex is aided by golf buggies should you not wish to walk 3- 5 mins between main reception / dining area and your villa. Hotel menu is limited, with items often not vailable. What is available however is tasty and quite good value given this is a 4/ 5 star resort.We paid a whopping USD 100 each ( mandatory for stay on the 31st) for the new year's gala dinner. The dinner buffet was excellent, the entairtainment was appallingly bad! Our fault for not noticing the small print when we booked. So fi you stay over Christmas/ New year watch out for this.
Food :Food in town is absolutely delicious and very reasonably priced. We preferred to eat in town have a wander and then take a tuk tuk back. Check out ice-cream at "Blue-Pumpkin" and do not miss the various Amok platters.
Transport between hotel and town: Takes about 15 mins by tuktuk. Available just outside the hotel. Usually at USD 2 each way, although be prepared for initial asks of upto USD 5 oneway. A smile, a firm offer and a gesture of walking off is usually met with a gracious acceptance!
Tranport to the temple complex : We arranged a photo tour through "Peace of Angkor " (more on that elsewhere). You can arrange ( transport +/- guide) via your hotel or get details from the net and arrange before you go. We had an excellent guide ( Ta) on 2 of our days and a less than average one on another. I cannot emphasise enough how much the experience was enhanced by a good guide.The guide / driver duo will pick up at the hotel. Get an early start. By 10.30 - 11.00 it gets too hot to enjoy the sights. At peak times takes about 45 mins to get back from the temple to the hotel. We came back for a couple of hrs at mid-day on 2 days to rest and freshen up , which we would strongly recommend. However that is one of the drawbacks of this hotel. It is further away from the temple complex and you will lose time in the day during your travel to the temple and back. For this reason alone we would recommend choosing a hotel closer to the temple complex.
Spa :Massages more expensive than in town. But you can get a lovely foot massage in your own room for the same price as in the spa itself.
Sights : You will need at least 2 days to see the sights around Angkor. it gets very busy for the sunrise at Angkor.For serious photographers, a frontline space at the reflective pool is essential. You must be at the temple gates before it opens to be one of the first ones in. To experience the sunrise though any space around the pool is fine and the view spectacular. If you can spare the time, don't miss Bantrei Srei, Beng Malea, Koh Ker. Trek to Kbal Speam Is very interesting however it is quite strenuous and if you have mobility problems or are pressed for time you might want to give it a miss. After 4 whole days we felt another day to go to the stilt villages or Tonle Sap lake would have been great. So our suggestion is to plan for 4- 5 whole days, leaving out the days on which you travel to begin to do justice to this incredible temple complex.
Precautions : Take DEET based insect repellent. Ice at most local eateries is not made from purified water.
We thouroughly enjoyed our visit to Siem reap and our stay at Sokhalay Angkor. The size and beauty of the temple complexes have to be seen to be believed, the people are warm and invariably smiling, the food id great and cheap.. what's not to like.?! Do go... I' m sure you'll have the holiday of a lifetime like we did.

Room Tip: Pool view villa room , on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JhumJhum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Sokhalay Angkor Residence and Spa
0.3 mi away
Grand Sokhalay Hotel
Grand Sokhalay Hotel
#293 of 342 in Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
#67 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Angkor Miracle Reflection Club
Angkor Miracle Reflection Club
#212 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sokha Angkor Resort
Sokha Angkor Resort
#72 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pacific Hotel & Spa
Pacific Hotel & Spa
#75 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort

Property: Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort
Address: National Road No. 6, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 262 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort offers an ultimate relaxation and rejuvenation experience. With its key location, guests can conveniently access to the city's must-see destinations. Siem Reap Airport, the Pub Street and the famous UNESCO site Angkor Wat can be reached within short drive. At Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort, all rooms are beautifully furnished and equipped with standard amenities. Experience the resort's spa and fitness center where guests are able to relax and enjoy the landscape of tropical atmosphere. To ensure that guests are having a pleasant time during the stay, the resort also offers recreational facilities such as swimming pool, library, including day trip. Guests can opt for other leisure activities such as jogging. Offering comfortable stay with top-class facilities, Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort is a perfect venue to spend the unforgettable stay in Siem Reap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokhalay Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Sokhalay Angkor Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing