We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I had a delightful stay at the Sokhalay Hotel, which I rate top value for money in Siem Reap. While the main building facing the road is uninspiring, behind it the resort opens up to a park of bungalows with four rooms each (two ground floor and two upstairs) built around a reasonably sized pool. There is a bar on an island in the middle of the pool area and a restaurant on one side where you can have quite a diverse variety of dishes of decent quality and where breakfast is served (buffet with decent spread and quality). Staff is very friendly and keen to accommodate any needs you have. I stayed in a room upstairs, which came with a little balcony. The room's interior was pleasing and spacious (~ 30+ sqm) and had a separate sofa area. The rooms come with all the amenities you would expect from a 4-Star accommodation (complimentary water, mini-bar, bathroom amenities, safe etc., free wifi with mostly decent connectivity etc.). The resort is situated on the road to the airport which has the advantage of a short airport transfer (complimentary) and the disadvantage of having to take a tuk-tuk to access the central part of town. However, in spite of being there during the high season, getting a tuk-tuk was never a problem; the rate for an evening out (the drivers typically try to have you book them for a turnaround trip because there is an oversupply of them and competition is stiff) will cost you USD 8.00.

Room Tip: The extends of the resort are quite vast. If you are at the far end, you will have 200 - 300m to cov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunieng, Resident Manager at Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear C073,

Greetings from Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort !

We appreciated your valued feedback and honest. We grateful for your valued time invested to write in this comment for us which express how much you were enjoyed stay with us. We are increasing the traffic of our buggy service by moving around the Villas with every 3-5minutes in case you don’t want to walk then you still can be waited at buggy service center.

We expected to welcome you back home again and you will experience our free settle Disco tuk tuk to town which will be leaving every 30minutes from evening time.

We look forward to welcome you to our Resort again soon.

Have a great day.

With my best personal regards,

Bun-ieng, KOU
Resident Manager
Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    109
    46
    12
    17
See reviews for
90
122
22
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Coolamon, New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this resort due to getting a very good deal from groupon, this included breakfast and airport transfers which was much appreciated. From the moment we were collected from the airport we were taken to an air conditioned mini van, given cold towels and a cold bottle of water and straight to the resort. Within about five minutes of arriving we were taken around for a tour, around the resort, it is a huge and lovely complex with 2 swimming pools, a gym, a spa and bar and a big restaurant.

We were very impressed by our villa, it was huge with marble bathroom and a sitting area with loungechairs and a big flatscreen TV, and a balcony. The staff were super friendly and helpful and were constantly asking if you wanted a lift in golf carts back to the villas.

We had a massage or two in the spa and really enjoyed it.

There are only two minor things that could be improved upon, that being it takes at least 3 minutes for the hot water to come through in the shower and the bed is very hard, don't get me wrong, I do like a firm bed but this was like sleeping on a piece of wood.

I do suggest to get a tuk tuk driver from out the front to take you into town. It will cost $8 for a return trip, and while you are in town make sure you get bottles of water from the shops in town because it is about 1 tenth of the price to buy. I think a bottle of evian (700ml) at the resort is about $5 or a 1.5L bottle in town is about $0.60

The resort is really very nice and it is well worth staying there, very clean, efficient and luxurious.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunieng, Resident Manager at Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Alisha N,

Greetings from Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort !

We valued your comment and taking into our account. We are currently on reviewing of our bed and we trying to get more comment and the valued feedback from our guests. If its reach one level of this feedback hence our executive team will further looking into it and we keep promise that guests concern is our concern.

For the hot water case, we schedule our team to test and look into it very seriously and be able to rectify and our engineering team just adjusted it.

For your next trip you will be enjoy the evening free settle disco tuk tuk to town by our Resort.

Have a wonderful day.

With my best personal regards,

Bun-ieng, KOU
Resident Manager
Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Huge resort, which comprises of a hotel block and then a complex of teak bungalows encircling an enormous swimming pool. Luckily they have lots of little golf carts to take one back and forth to the front lobby. The hotel is midway between the airport and Siem Reap town.

The room/bungalow is ground or 1st floor and I got the ground one. Lovely huge room but so dim within. Even with all the lights on it is quite dark and apart from the gauzed terrace doors it is not wise to open the windows because of the insects. So dim it is. But all mod cons within so could make my beloved coffee and sit out on the terrace. Good WiFi connection in the room.
The hotel pool was a very welcome sight after a long day. But it was fabulous and I loved every minute of it. Fascinating and all the more impressive with the cheerfulness of the staff who try so hard to please.

The food is very good and very large portions. Breakfast is excellent.

Sit around the poolside in the evening at cocktail time to enjoy live duo singing entertainment. The spa is wonderful and the very large indoor pool is serene.

A very, very good choice of hotel that I heartily recommend and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Opt for a ground floor bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Shopwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunieng, Resident Manager at Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Shopwise,

Greetings from Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort !

With our great honor to receive your wonderful feedback, there is rarely to find this kind of bungalow in Cambodia. We are green Resort, friendly environment it’s ideal for relaxing after a long tour from Temple area.

We are located in between town and international airport. It’s really good for your planning of the day. It’s quick access to town and also quick access to airport.

Our villas and landscape designed by our famous architecture and the light dim is one of his talents to reflex. He dim the light is part of how guests can visualize the greenery surround never end.

We looking forward to welcome you back home again soon. Our beautiful villas always a wait for you.

Have a great day.

With my best personal regards,

Bun ieng, KOU
Resident Manager
Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daegu, South Korea
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I stayed 4 nights here with my 2 children and wife. We had compimentary trasportation both ways from/to the airport arriving late in the evening.
The first impression using poolside villa was somewhat unpleasant, because the villa looked very old and it was dark. But when we woke up, we faced beautiful sceneries with pools and surring environement with full of tropical trees.
My son enjoyed outdoor pool everyday and got some sun burn as well, but he loved very much of the spacious pool with clean environement.

Buffei Breakfast was nice as well.

I think it's good place to say, and also it's little away from the dirt. City was full of dirt this time. And some constructions as well.
We used tuktuk a couple of days, then we used taxi arranged by the hotel. Taxi price was acceptable to use as a family. But it's up to the personal preference.

So in general, my family enjoyed very much of this hotel.

Room Tip: Pool side villa provides better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soondong J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunieng, Resident Manager at Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Soondong J,

Greetings from Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort !

Thank you very much for your valued time invested in this writing we really appreciated. We have been launching our Resort live band daily except Sunday at our Tropical Island Pool with the lighting upgraded as well.

We are only one Resort in Cambodia which purely designs by our famous architecture, Van Molivan by realign with our Khmer Traditional Concept from the Angkor Wat and the greenery surrounded by pond and huge swimming pool.

We look forward to welcome you back home again soon.

Have a great day.

With my best personal regards,

Bun-ieng, KOU
Resident Manager
Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

I was there with my big family. We got 3 rooms. We had a happy time there. The rooms were spacious and were decored in Khmer's style. We felt like home. Breakfast was full of choice. Oh! and My kids love the pool sooooo much (and this is the reason we chose this beautifull resort. The services were generally good. I'll surely be back again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sochivyheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunieng, Resident Manager at Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Sochivyheng,

Greetings from Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort !

With our great pleasure to receive your comment. We appreciated your valued time invested in this feedback which lead to travelers to make their right decision on trip to Siem Reap Angkor.

We are only one Resort existed a largest pool in Siem Reap and there are 2 pools (one indoor while other at outdoor).

We are on upgrading our breakfast menu and the rest of our Ala Cart menu as well.

We welcome you back home again soon.

Have a wonderful day.

With my best personal regards,

Bun-ieng, KOU
Resident Manager
Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
switzerland & czech republic
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Arriving at the airport we were expected and got complimentary transfer to the hotel. The hotel building is ugly in the infamous Chinese style like the most hotels at the road to the airport. We were doubting to have chosen the right resort. But after seeing our spacious room in a villa overlooking the beautiful pool area, we were delighted. The rooms are well equipped and you do not miss anything. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. The breakfast was covering all tastes, ok, the cheese was sweating and also the sausages were not really nice to look at. The distance to the city is about 15 minutes by tuktuk. The internet connection was very fast and there were never any problems. In this hotel you get great value for your money and it can be only recommended without any ifs or buts.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elcoco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunieng, Resident Manager at Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Elcoco,

Greetings from Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort !

We valued all your feedback. The front area there will be something different from the others.

However the amazing part and mystery is within our Resort with 5 hectare of land. There is only leading Resort in Cambodia where you found that very private and felt at home.

We are on reviewing our breakfast items and for sure there will be starting soon. We are going to launch our Free Tuk Tuk to town for our valued clients. You will completely experience this service on your next trip.

We look forward to welcome you back home again soon.

Have a great day.

With my best personal regards,

Bun-ieng, KOU
Resident Manager
Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

At first we were hesitant to stay here because it seemed a bit out of town. It was not a problem in the slightest. Tuk tuks were cheap and readily available. The facilities were awesome, 2 pools, nice restaurant, gym, sauna, day spa to name a few. It is on 5 hectares of amazingly landscaped property. The breakfast was delicious! !! But the best part of all were the staff! They are so friendly and such great english. They make you feel like v.i.p. thanks sokhalay. We will be back with our families in 2014 :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shonae25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunieng, Resident Manager at Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Shonae,

Greeting from Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort !

On behalf of management and staff of entire team of Sokhalay Angkor appreciated your valued comment to our valued property and wonderful staff. We were happy when we see our customers happy and we also keep improving our services and upgrading our facilities by keeping them fresh all the times.

We have a great honor to welcome you back home again soon in 2014.

Have a great day.

With my best personal regards,

Bun ien, KOU
Resident Manager
Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Sokhalay Angkor Residence and Spa
0.1 mi away
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
#75 of 356 in Siem Reap
1,061 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sokha Angkor Resort
Sokha Angkor Resort
#76 of 356 in Siem Reap
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Sokhalay Hotel
Grand Sokhalay Hotel
#278 of 356 in Siem Reap
7 reviews
2.0 mi away
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
#95 of 356 in Siem Reap
1,382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pacific Hotel & Spa
Pacific Hotel & Spa
#79 of 356 in Siem Reap
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort

Property: Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort
Address: National Road No. 6, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 286 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort offers an ultimate relaxation and rejuvenation experience. With its key location, guests can conveniently access to the city's must-see destinations. Siem Reap Airport, the Pub Street and the famous UNESCO site Angkor Wat can be reached within short drive. At Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort, all rooms are beautifully furnished and equipped with standard amenities. Experience the resort's spa and fitness center where guests are able to relax and enjoy the landscape of tropical atmosphere. To ensure that guests are having a pleasant time during the stay, the resort also offers recreational facilities such as swimming pool, library, including day trip. Guests can opt for other leisure activities such as jogging. Offering comfortable stay with top-class facilities, Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort is a perfect venue to spend the unforgettable stay in Siem Reap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokhalay Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Sokhalay Angkor Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing