We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay before Chinese New Year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort
Reviewed 1 February 2014

There was a great time in Siem Reap before Chinese New Year and we selected Sokhalay Angkor inn as our staying.
We arrived a little late night so figure out that the room view really dark, but early morning we really surprise with the green view of the garden, and the green water of small river there. Make everyone of us feel really excited.

After a whole day trip, we decided to relax by the pool which really huge and a lot of European from over the world there. I have chit chat with one of them then they shared us that this is one of good place among Asian country for their 2 weeks holiday.

We step out with the feel of unwanted, their staff talk to us politely and their smile really make me feel comfortable.
I promise that I will share this is the recommended 100% to be your choice of stay in Siem Reap.
My last word, reception staffs smile so good.

Room Tip: Room with small river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunieng, Bunieng - Resident Manager at Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear William,

With our great pleasure to read your satisfaction feedback which we really appreciated your comments.
We sincere appreciation and it has been shared to our colleague in order to express them how satisfy with their services-provided to you.
We look forward to welcoming you back home again soon as well as your recommended friends.

Please have a very pleasant day.

With my best personal regards,

Bun-ieng, KOU
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

After touring the Angkor temples for several days, we decided to relax at a resort. We stayed at the Sokhalay Angkor Inn, which is the budget option for the three types of rooms (~$40/night). We still had access to the giant, lovely pool, spa, fitness room, and indoor pool. Breakfast was included and the options at the buffet were great. Happy hour poolside offered drinks for half off from 4-7pm every day. The restaurant served good food as well for lunch and dinner. Our room was nice, not huge, but a comfy bed and nice bathroom. Wifi worked in rooms and all around the resort and was super fast. The spa also offered excellent services for really low prices. Tuk Tuks to the town center $5 one way or $8 round trip. The staff at Sokhalay was excellent and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunieng, Bunieng - Resident Manager at Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Lala,

Greetings from Sokhalay Angkor Inn, Siem Reap - Cambodia.

It's really great pleasure to read your comment which we appreciated your time invested in writing this review to express how satisfy is with your recently stay.
We have been sharing this to our team and all outstanding staffs for their appreciation.

We expect to welcome you back again soon and fruitful your needs.

Have a great day.

With my best personal regards,

Bun-ieng, KOU
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We were greeted at the Siem Reap Airport by a couple very polite Cambodian lads in the Resort's shuttle. We were offered a very welcome cold refresher towel and an ice cold drink of water. We were made feel very comfortable and the lads were very informative about Cambodia.

Upon arrival at the Resort we were shown into the arrival lounge and offered a delicious refreshing honey dew drink made we were told from natural Cambodian honey. After signing in and without further ado we were whisked away to our villa by golf buggy. A great start to a great visit.

Our Pool View Villa was spacious, very clean, complete with complimentary bath kit, tooth brush and paste, comb, hair dryer, all provided. Very clean and hygienic.

The hotel has both a beautiful outdoor pool surrounded by lush gardens, and an indoor pool for those wishing to escape the sun.

The restaurant was surrounded by a beautiful fish pond with lilies, fountains and large fish, idyllic for a relaxing breakfast or meal. In the evening you can sit at a table around the pool for your meal and be entertained by singers to western music.

Our tours and requests were organised by James our concierge with the minimum of fuss and always with courtesy and a broad smile, nothing was too much trouble.

Cambodia being a third world country we didn’t expect too much, but we were completely taken aback by the staff’s fluent English, local knowledge and willingness to pass this on to us. All in all the staff were a very happy crew and passed this onto the guests with their willingness to help and always with a smile.

Everything at the Hotel was reasonably priced which is a pleasant change from most Resorts or Hotels which tend to price gouge.

One tip worth noting is that on occasion the Pool View Villa can receive some noise from the pool, however if this is a concern select a Garden View Villa instead. In all honesty most guests are out during the day anyway on tours and the like so this shouldn’t be noticed.

In summary will we return? The answer is a resounding YES. We will thoroughly recommend the Sokhalay to our friends and acquaintances.

Thank you Management and Staff for a wonderful 7 day stay!

Annie & Chris P,

Pool Villa 230 17/1/14 - 25/1/14

Room Tip: One tip worth noting is that on occasion the Pool View Villa can receive some noise from the pool, h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connexus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

It was very good stay.
However, we have endured for over 4 days the noise of chainsaw, saw and the drill.
It was unable to relax on the swimming pool or to sleep in the room in the morning.
It is a pity that the management of the hotel does not know organized itself and not spoil the stay of its guests.

Bon séjour.
Néanmoins, nous avons subi pendant plus de 4 jours les bruits de tronçonneuse de scie et de perceuse. Impossible de se reposer au bord de la piscine ou de dormir et de faire une grasse matinée.
Dommage que la direction ne sache pas s'organiser afin de ne pas gâcher le séjour de ses clients.

LOIC BLONDEL ROOM 214

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smolka2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

在朋友的介绍下住进了这家酒店,虽然只住了短短的一晚但却是我柬埔寨一行七天里最好的回忆,进了酒店就有guest relationship manager Samon来招待我们,并且给我们两杯本地特有水果饮料,不记得名字了,淡淡的酒香但是又不是酒,又有一点苹果汁的味道,咕噜咕噜两口就喝光了,一下子就把旅行的倦意带走了,Samon告诉我们房间安排在室外泳池的旁边,并且驾着小行李车带我们去房间,没想到酒店面积这么大,都是由园林式的小别墅组成,一栋别墅四个房间,别墅都是木结构,绿树从阴,一下子就有了理想中家的感觉,我们的房间在二楼,很宽敞并且有阳台,阳台外面就是泳池,而且还有免费的水果吃,匆忙之间我预定的SPA已经来了,是上门服务,之前没有做过,难得住这么好的酒店想尝试一把,就告诉了Samon,虽然SPA的同事已经快下班了,但还是给我做了介绍,并且还有折扣,一个小时的SPA真是惬意,后来换酒店后也曾试过其他酒店的SPA,找不到这家的感觉了。第二天睡乐个小懒觉,不舍得多睡,赶紧起床去室内游泳和自助早餐,泳池基本上没有人,我们游了几个来回,十分惬意,就是水稍微冷了一点,大概这里不会有温水池的吧。早餐十分丰盛,最重要的服务员十分热情,主动和你聊天,并且给你的旅行提供建议,总之早饭之后,心情更上一层楼。早饭之后漫步在酒店的绿树丛阴之间,沐浴在舒适惬意的阳光下,散步于泳池旁的小径间,这才是度假的感觉呀。


In one word, it was a very relaxing day I cannot forget. Staying at relaxing villa with a lot of beautiful greens around can made us feel special. When we entered the hotel lobby, I did not expected to see such huge property. We took a small car to reach our villa. On top of the relaxing villa, the reason why we had marvelous time is because of the warm hospitality from hotel staffs. Thank you for bringing us to the nice room Samon, and special thanks to Michael and Bunieng! We will recommend you to stay at their hotel to have relaxing time in Cambodia!


シェムリアップのリゾート施設といった感じでしょうか。お値段もそう高くなく、空港から近いので初日や最終日にも丁度良いです。お部屋でのSPAマッサージも、日本の2割くらいでしょうか。手頃な値段で体験できました。朝食バイキングも十分な種類で楽しむことが出来ます。スタッフの方もすごく丁寧で、快適な滞在をすることが出来ました。

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank mari23enero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We had a great time during our stay in the resort. The nice environment, together with the experienced friendly staff, clean rooms and great food made our visit unforgettable. The location was perfect.for us: not in the crowded inner city but near enough to reach by bike or tuktuk.
Especially the pool area with the great garden already makes a vist more then advisable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Went recently to Siem Reap for work and was put up at Sokhalay Angkor. The rooms were big and clean. I have no issues with the rooms except with the security. There wasn't only additional latches besides the main key lock unlike other hotels. I was startled awake by someone trying to get into my room at 2am one morning. I wasn't quite certain whether the hotel gave them the wrong room key or whether it was a mistaken case. I was quite frightened because if they had the right key card there was nothing to stop them from coming into the room.

The service staff was unfailingly polite and friendly although the friendliness did seem a little forced. I was more concerned with the lack of follow up from requests made. I asked for help to fix the stuck blinds in my room at 9pm but the service people never did turn up despite me asking again at 10pm and 11pm. I ended up climbing on the sofa to unentangle them myself. My colleague had the same issue with his wifi problems.

Although the place was big and clean I wouldn't really want to stay there again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank LynnSakuragawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Sokhalay Angkor Residence and Spa
0.1 mi away
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
#75 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,072 reviews
0.0 mi away
Empress Angkor Resort & Spa
Empress Angkor Resort & Spa
#134 of 361 in Siem Reap
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sokha Angkor Resort
Sokha Angkor Resort
#76 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angkor Miracle Reflection Club
Angkor Miracle Reflection Club
#224 of 361 in Siem Reap
53 reviews
3.3 mi away
Paradise Angkor Villa Hotel
Paradise Angkor Villa Hotel
#259 of 361 in Siem Reap
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort

Address: National Road No. 6, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 300 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range: £52 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort offers an ultimate relaxation and rejuvenation experience. With its key location, guests can conveniently access to the city's must-see destinations. Siem Reap Airport, the Pub Street and the famous UNESCO site Angkor Wat can be reached within short drive. At Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort, all rooms are beautifully furnished and equipped with standard amenities. Experience the resort's spa and fitness center where guests are able to relax and enjoy the landscape of tropical atmosphere. To ensure that guests are having a pleasant time during the stay, the resort also offers recreational facilities such as swimming pool, library, including day trip. Guests can opt for other leisure activities such as jogging. Offering comfortable stay with top-class facilities, Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort is a perfect venue to spend the unforgettable stay in Siem Reap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokhalay Angkor Resort And Spa
Sokhalay Angkor Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing