We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed 4 nights in early April 2014. The resort itself is on the main road out to the airport. This road is lined with hotels and resorts and whilst it is is several minutes into the main part of town like Pub Street, it was pleasant to travel in and out by Tuk Tuk which was 2 to 3 dollars.
The resort itself did not seem very full which meant very few people in the pool was was "huge" and great to relax in.
We stayed in a room in the main hotel. The room was about 60 square metres and had a lounge to relax on when on the internet. The bathroom had a bath/shower and another seperate shower.
The water was good pressure and hot. the bed was big and fairly comfortable. The floors were wooden so no carpet smells.
Breakfast was fine although we preferred to have a couple of eggs, tea, coffe and some fresh fruit to finish. There were the usual noodles, rice and other hot and cold dishes seen at most hotels throughout asia.
We did not eat at the hotel as we loved going into the pub street area.
On a value for money basis this place would be very hard to beat and next time we are in Siem Reap will most likely stay here again.
TIP....When you go to Pub Street, walk to the end and turn left. On the next corner is the Home Cocktail Bar and Restaurant. Beer 50 cents and cocktails $1.50 all day. Food is pretty good to.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lionel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    106
    44
    12
    15
See reviews for
88
116
22
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
112 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed recently at the Sokhalay and it was amazing. We had two villa rooms booked and got an upgrade to a whole villa for us alone which was great. The villa was just right next to the pool so that you only needed to walk a few steps to the pool.
The villa itself was very spacious and had 2 floors. There was also a huge kitchen and 2 terraces and 2 balconies. The breakfast was very good with lots of choices. The resort itself is not direct in the city but you can go there by TukTuk in 10 minutes. It takes about 15-20 min to Angkor Wat. Again it was just perfect to take a refreshing dip in the pool after a hot day in Angkor Wat. Can only recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAT33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We spent Christmas 2013 and had a fantastic time.
I bought 2 girls friends with me and we spent another 4 superb nights.
The staff were so attentive during breakfast, that our tea and coffee cups were always filled without asking.
We especially enjoyed the high standard of service Mr lee and his staff offered us and his guests.
During our stay we flight pampered and fully relaxed in a beautiful environment.\

Thankyou Sokhalay,
I will be back again.

Room Tip: Pool Villas are a must...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibisphuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed for 7 nights late February. The pool villas are beautiful, spacious and private. The golf buggy service came immediately upon request. Staff were exceptional and grounds and pool area are beautifully landscaped. I would highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Choose a pool villa room, all have their own balcony overlooking the pool which is only steps away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Firstly resort was quiet. We stayed 1 night in the executive resort & spa, very lge rooms, very clean great for anyone wanting space, very comfy bed, walk in rain shower. Next day we were up graded to the Villa section of the Sokhalay Angkor Resort, OMG these Villas surround the most gorgeous lagoon style pool, villas décor beautiful solid wood with shutters,
huge huge bed , no clocks in room [not needed] direct access to pool [back door] or the most tropical lush garden villas, up stairs or down stairs, wonderful for any age group, or families, [for mobility though in our room it was a step up bath shower, but "ok" for us] Big spread for breakfast, Asian & Western alike, egg station, soup section. We ate 1 night at the Green Resort was tasty beautifully presented, service was great, more wonderful staff. This also is where you have breakfast, the wooden structure of this restaurant is truly to be seen. To the breakfast staff, you are all wonderful, especially Visal el, he & other staff came out to give me a fresh teapot on arrival for every brekky, thankyou, I felt so special, always appreciated, plus your conversations at breakfast, great knowledge of English, nothing was a bother, you were helpful to answer questions you have wonderful people skills. To room staff, garden staff all those that do their job so well THANKYOU. You did not have to leave the resort, meals, massage, bar other restaurants, café all within the Resort grounds, saying this you have the [1] Executive Resort & Spa at the entry of the Sokholay, [2] Villas -- down the back area 2 min plus walk depending where your room is also if you don't want to walk there are golf type buggies to shuttle you to your room or Restaurant, [3] Inn -- as well these are smaller rooms just next to the Villas area, all within this oasis of the Sokholay Resort. The Resort is not walking distance to Siem Reap but tuktuks outside Hotel & not expensive, USA $8 return or bargain a little if you want. Not costly for us, its not a rich country, Cambodians are a very proud Nation, always happy with a smile on their faces, tourism is its income.

We met the GM of the resort [Michael] as everyone would have, he is very welcoming, friendly
takes time to converse with the guests, always seen at the resort at any time of the day, he
is clearly a hands on type of guy, an asset for the resort, Ian & I realised you are very passionate about your establishment, your guests & staff.
[Michael thankyou again for what you did & for your help on leaving with much gratitude & your other manager, it was a very special time for us to stay at the Sokhalay Angkor Resort.

Ian & Fay James

Room Tip: Villas within a very tranquil lush green area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We booked a 2 night package through their website which included breakfast, private transfers, 60min massage and 3 course meal for the same price expedia were offering for room only.
Breakfast was great, pool was great, dinner was great, massage was great!
Pool villas are a must, and the rooms are excellent. Golf buggy service was useful and so were the bicycles for around grounds. Staff were very attentive and wish we stayed longer!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travel_yoda_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunieng, Resident Manager at Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Grant1y,

Greetings from Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort !

With our great pleasure to read your comment, we were so exciting to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us recently. Our team and management from our Resort look forward to welcome you back home again soon.

Have a wonderful day !

With my best personal regards,

Bun-ieng, KOU
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portstewart
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

So for a riduculously low cost (under £50 for four nights, two people b&b we were picked up from the airport (wait, they WILL come) and stayed in a clean room with kingsize bed and ensuite shower room, dressing gowns and slippers, with flat screen tv and a host of channels in every language. We also got to use the two pools, one indoor one massive circuit of an outdoor pool, the restaurant (good food, reasonable price), bikes (around the complex -made me feel 15 again!) and the golf buggies for those days when you had walked enough! The location was good, about $6 dollar return (if you bargained) into Siem Reap and $12 for a day round the temples. What I liked best about the hotel was that even though we weren't staying in the swanky villas you were treated the same by all staff. The inn is a little bit tired looking but for the cost we really didn't care!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nuzzonick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Sokhalay Angkor Residence and Spa
0.3 mi away
Grand Sokhalay Hotel
Grand Sokhalay Hotel
#287 of 337 in Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
#63 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Angkor Miracle Reflection Club
Angkor Miracle Reflection Club
#204 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sokha Angkor Resort
Sokha Angkor Resort
#65 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pacific Hotel & Spa
Pacific Hotel & Spa
#66 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort

Property: Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort
Address: National Road No. 6, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 251 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort offers an ultimate relaxation and rejuvenation experience. With its key location, guests can conveniently access to the city's must-see destinations. Siem Reap Airport, the Pub Street and the famous UNESCO site Angkor Wat can be reached within short drive. At Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort, all rooms are beautifully furnished and equipped with standard amenities. Experience the resort's spa and fitness center where guests are able to relax and enjoy the landscape of tropical atmosphere. To ensure that guests are having a pleasant time during the stay, the resort also offers recreational facilities such as swimming pool, library, including day trip. Guests can opt for other leisure activities such as jogging. Offering comfortable stay with top-class facilities, Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort is a perfect venue to spend the unforgettable stay in Siem Reap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokhalay Angkor Resort And Spa
Sokhalay Angkor Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing