We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sokhalay Angkor Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$48
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anantara Angkor Resort(Siem Reap)
US$299
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (396)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveller rating
198
119
49
12
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
119
49
12
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor poolpool view villamain buildingpost and beamshutters closedwooden villastuk tukasian guestskhmer stylepool sidebreakfast buffetchinese new yearconcierge servicea king size bedgreat propertywestern optionspub street
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 396 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

If you like nature, wooden houses and big swimming pool, this is a hotel for you. Good for romantic or family holiday. We stayed in the top floor bungalow facing the swimming pool. We were very happy with our stay in the hotel. The hotel is not close to the Pub street or old market, the dine in option is quite limited but beauty of the hotel, compensate for whatever lacking.

Room Tip: Get the upper bungalow facing the swimming pool. It's divine.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Devi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2014

Dear Devi S,

We are delighted that, overall, you enjoyed your experience in the Kingdom of Wonder and at Sokhalay Angkor. We have rectified the lacking issue and apologies that you encountered this. Thank you again for the feedback and we hope to welcome you back.

Yours Sincerely,

David Chhun
Senior E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed 3 nights at the resort with another friend on a ground level villa, which allowed a direct access to the beautiful swimming pool. Our room was quite near to the reception so there was no need for a golf cart to transport us, except for checking-in and out with the suitcases and all.

The room was clean and tidy, and came with all the amenities that we need for our stay. The bed was also very comfortable and this is probably one of the few hotels that gave me quality sleep throughout my stay. The only downside was that we couldn't leave the windows opened as mosquitoes got in pretty easily, which also resulted in the room being dark even during the day.
Room service was good and our room was kept tidy throughout our stay. My on-phone requests for complimentary bottles of mineral water were also met promptly by the staff members.

We also had buffet breakfast and lunch at the Green restaurant, which is situated a short walk away from our villa. Buffet selection was pretty good for an off-peak season, and I really enjoyed the Khmer lunch that came with our 4N3D package.

The highlight of the stay is definitely the pool. Just what we needed as it was really hot and humid while we were there, and we pretty much had the pool all to ourselves.

Overall, we have enjoyed the resort and I will consider staying again on my next trip to Siem Reap, and possibly request for an upper-level villa instead of ground level.

Room Tip: More privacy on the upper-level villas, it seems. But for those with lots of luggages a ground level room may be recommended.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pdra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunieng, Senior E-Commerce Manager at Sokhalay Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Pdra,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are pleased that you had ended your 4D3N package-night stay with us and your Angkor exploration on a high note. We hope that you had wonderful memories to match your experience in Cambodia and we look forward to your return !

Yours Sincerely,

David Chhun
Senior E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This resort was not mentioned in any of the local or international guide books that I came across, as it's relatively new. Infact building work is ongoing to extend the main hotel area. It's far preferable to book one of the villas situated nearby, surrounded by lush foliage. We stayed in a pool villa which was well worthwhile. The wooden villa was large, comfortable, quiet and designed in Cambodian style. The view of the stunning outdoor pool meandering around a central bar area was unforgettable. Unfortunately the weather was so hot that going for a swim was akin to getting into a hot bath. The gorgeous indoor pool remedied this. There's also a fully equipped air conditioned gym and spa treatment area. The hotel itself is beautiful, the staff delightful and if the short walk to the villa is excessively arduous in the heat, a buggy will take you to your front door.
Looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Pool villa recommended
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We booked this hotel on-line without having a clue what to expect on arrival. Got a taxi from the airport and was pleasantly surprised by the overall exterior of the hotel, well kept gardens and fountains. The duty manager told us that we were a little early (12.30 pm) for our 2 pm check in but he would speak to house-keeping and hurry them up, 20 minutes later (and after complimentary drinks) we were taken by golf buggy to our villa (room). My travelling companions loved the size and cleanliness of the room which opened out onto a veranda, again clean and quite private. The whole complex is beautifully planted with thousands of mature trees, so many in fact that it was hardly possible to see any of the other villas. The pool area was quickly a favourite where drinks and a good selection from the menu where available, all served quickly by well dressed polite young staff. The breakfast buffet was very good with a wide selection to suit most tastes. The dinner menu was very good and the staff willing to try and cook whatever variation required, important when travelling with Thais as the Khmer food is not hot enough for them.
Now for the best and worst. The only niggles were, we booked the villa for 3 people but had to keep on reminding the staff for more towels, toiletries and water as the rooms are geared for 2 people. The toilet seat was broken and did not get sorted while we were there. The complex is about 4 km from the centre of Siem Reap (8 dollar tuktuk for the night)
The upside or rather upsides easily outweighed and grumbles. The service was fantastic, my friends got hungry at 1 am and ordered Pork chops and fried eggs from room service, to see a waiter walking a full 80m up the broad avenue leading to the villa carrying tray aloft with perfectly prepared food at 1.30 am priceless! The pool was great and all the staff attentive polite and with good English, when ever asked they went the extra mile and then some to please. Well done! My friends and I had a fantastic time and would gladly return.

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden "villa" I could not see any reason to upgrade to a pool "villa" as the garden villas are exactly the same and at most 50m from the pool. Also the whole complex is wonderfully quiet as no cars are allowed inside the complex.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rogerrabbit1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I arrived at the airport and the car from the hotel (they say the airport pick up is free) was waiting for me.
the check in was quick, but i was kept waiting for a while as i arrived early in the day. the reception area is nice but not as clean as you would expect: there were quite few crumbles all over the place where i was kept waiting.
the room was very big but a bit and comfy, but again it hadn't been cleaned perfectly: i'm a mirror nazi and if mirrors aren't clean i get a bit upset. i think that people always look at mirror so you expect them to be perfectly clean.
breakfast was good and the buffet quite big.
the issue was the day of the check out. i had to pay for the lift to the airport (the free airport transfer is only FROM the airport not TO the airport) but i was not given a receipt, so when i asked for the car a bit later (i went out for a little more shopping in the meanwhile) the bell boy wanted me to pay again for the airport transfer... i said i already paid and after some discussions i got the car (which is more expensive than regular taxi: 10 usd for a short drive, when from the airport the regular tariff for the whole city is only 7 use).
so the stay was not bad, but i would choose a different hotel if i had to go back to siem reap, closer to the centre.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms by the pool
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank max4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews