We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Excellent place to stay while visiting Siem Reap "”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I Would highly recommend and stay again if ever in Cambodia
rooms were spacious a excellent find,The property is full of flowers, trees, birds- quite lovely. Also, the hotel pool (salt water) is built in a large circular structure around the bar area.Great base to visit temples from .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank micky1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SokhalaySiemReap, The Management at Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your feedback on your stay. We hope that you had a wonderful stay with us and an inspiring visit to the temples of Angkor.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again to the Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort in the future.

Once again, thank you very much.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management
info@sokhalayangkor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

I live in Siem Reap and was looking for a weekend away with friends. We decided to stay at Sokhaly simply because it is such a large resort it feels like you have left Cambodia and you have entered a different country and this in itself gives you a holiday feel. The gardens are lush and green, the rooms are clean, bathrooms user friendly and inviting and the layout of the room was large, bed a little hard but it was quiet and just what we needed however there were some disappointing factors also.

Positives
- Management at front desk were friendly.
- Management were genuinely interested to receive our booking for 8 people as most other 5 star resorts on Road 6 were not.
- We received a welcome drink
- We were escorted to our rooms via golf buggy.
- Pool is large however not deep.
- Bathrobes and soft towels were provided
- Room was spacious and and had a front and rear verandah

Overall the appearance of the hotel is really lovely.

Negatives
- The staff beyond the front desk are so rude we were taken aback. Eg: When asked if we could have the golf buggy escort us back to the front desk the driver rudely replied 'you can walk'.
- The staff in the restaurants were rude.
- There is construction work taking place in this hotel. We had to walk under a truck jacked up to get to our room. This is such a dangerous thing to do. It really is not acceptable. We understand we are in Cambodia but a 5 star hotel should have a 5 star standard.

Would I stay here again - No simply because of the unfriendly, rude staff. I gave this hotel a rating of 3 out of 5 due to the rooms and gardens.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SokhalaySiemReap, The Management at Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

First and foremost, thank you very much for sharing your concerns with us. We appreciate that you had provided us a way to address these concerns promptly during your stay with us, and we are glad that we had been able to provide solutions for your issues and that, in the end, everything had ended well.
We hope that overall, you had a wonderful stay and visit to the splendor that is Siem Reap.

Once again, please accept our sincere apologies for our shortcomings and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management
info@sokhalayangkor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

First the negative: when we arrived, we were told our room is not available, we have to go to another Hotel. Same Standard, just 4 stars, did not look too inviting and the Location even worse because there was nothing nearby.
So when we refused and requested a refund for the prepaid Hotel room... all of a sudden our room was available.

The Hotel is very nice, we loved the pool and the lush green garden. Prices are 5 star like, but the Quality is good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Remnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SokhalaySiemReap, The Management at Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

It is regretful to know that we have not fully achieved our goal in providing you a great service during your stay with us. We appreciate your comments and I would like to extend my sincere apologies for our shortcomings.

Nevertheless, we apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced and thank you very much for sharing your comments with us.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management
info@sokhalayangkor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I was there with my daughter (young adult) for three nights in July 2014. It was hot with rain, a low season to go to Siemreap.

Room: We booked a garden view room. When we arrived, hotel staff asked if we wanted to stay in the hotel building, after looking at the room, we decided not to.

The room we got is a huge room with wooden floor and wooden verandah with garden view in front and lovely man-made stream in the back. We were happy with our choice, if we chose the pool view, it would be noisy with a lot of traffic from people going to breakfast room or to swimming pool. Some crowd made a lot of noise when they were in the pool.

Location: 15 mins from the airport, about 10 mins to the market and roundtrip ride is USD8 for tuk tuk, one way is USD5

Hotel ground:
Big compliments on wooden houses and lovely plants and flowers.
It is such a nice place to stay after a long day of walking up and down ancient temples.

Facilities:
There is shuttle bus from hotel lobby to the room as it the hotel is very big.

Breakfast is more than enough- international food: egg station, bread station with croissants, pastries, congee & rice & noodle, meat station with bacon, sausages, ham, salad, fruits and desserts. We could skip lunch after big breakfast!

Concierge got a polite tuk-tuk driver who can speak enough English to take us around for three days.

The room is cleaned and made up daily. Good bed and pillows. White and new towels. (have to mention as many good hotels use old rundown towels!)

We enjoyed outdoor swimming pool very much, in the morning or evening. We didn't use indoor pool or the gym.

Overall, hotel staff is friendly and helpful.

We like the hotel, in low season, quiet, not big crowd. Not sure if it's good to be there during high season.

Room Tip: Garden view, not hotel building. IF you like wooden floor and green
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KessBGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SokhalaySiemReap, The Management at Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

A warm appreciation for sharing your luxurious and overall wonderful experience at our Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort. We are delighted to know that you had enjoyed our gigantic pool. We hope that your travels would bring you back again to the paradise that is Siem Reap. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again to our resort !
Thank you very much.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management
info@sokhalayangkor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a villa suite that was just beautiful. The staff were very friendly and helpful, after a long day out you could get a buggy to take you I your room. The grounds are beautiful. Food was good... Would highly recommend and stay again if ever in Cambodia

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SokhalaySiemReap, The Management at Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your awe-inspiring experience in our resort. It is a pleasure to know that the impeccable service and the ambiance of Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort and that our villa resort had become one of your favorite properties across the Siem Reap.

We look forward to welcoming and commemorating more special occasions with you !

Yours Sincerely,

The Management
info@sokhalayangkor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We were stayed 3nighit in khmer style villa resort. It was very nice and peaceful place. garden's tree beautiful, breakfast food was good , all of the staffs were very kind.

Room Tip: pool view villa room great and terrace good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pine14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SokhalayVilla, The Management at Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Dear Pine,

Thank you very much for sharing your tranquil experience at the Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort. We are pleased that you had ended your three-night stay with us and your Angkor exploration on a high note. We hope that you had a great and inspiring journey to the wonders of Siem Reap. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management
info@sokhalayangkor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Sokhalay has a hotel, villas and Inn hotel in 1 resort. We had great value for our money at the Inn! You can use all the services of the 5* resort (breakfast, pool) and only have a smaller room then at the villas. The room is clean, had a large bed, toiletries and good shower. A lot of choice at breakfast buffet. I think this hotel has the most beautiful pool in its price range (or even higher ranges) in Siem Reap. I saw a lot of just rectangled pools when I was comparing before booking. Tuk tuk drivers are always available outside the hotel and they are friendly and speak pretty good English. A tuk tuk driver for a whole day to the temples in the small route (Angkor wat, Angkor thom, Ta Phrom and 3 smaller temples) costs 15 dollars. When you want to add sunrise to that and returning for breakfast, it is 10 dollar extra. So we paid 25 dollars for a kind tuk tuk driver from 4 am to 4 pm who even picked up our friends at another hotel. We are réally satisfied about Sokhalay Angkor Inn!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SokhalayVilla, The Management at Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Dear Marina,

It is always wonderful to receive compliments such as yours. Your review means a great deal to our team (Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort, 5-star resort | Sokhalay Angkor Executive and Spa, 5-star hotel | Sokhalay Angkor Inn, 4-star hotel). We are pleased that you had ended your stay with us and your Angkor exploration on a high note. I hope that you had wonderful memories to match your experience in Cambodia and we look forward to your return in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management
info@sokhalayangkor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Sokhalay Angkor Residence and Spa
0.3 mi away
Grand Sokhalay Hotel
Grand Sokhalay Hotel
#308 of 365 in Siem Reap
8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angkor Miracle Reflection Club
Angkor Miracle Reflection Club
#226 of 365 in Siem Reap
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
#77 of 365 in Siem Reap
1,082 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sokha Angkor Resort
Sokha Angkor Resort
#79 of 365 in Siem Reap
1,604 reviews
0.0 mi away
Empress Angkor Resort & Spa
Empress Angkor Resort & Spa
#135 of 365 in Siem Reap
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort

Address: National Road No. 6, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 304 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range: £53 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort offers an ultimate relaxation and rejuvenation experience. With its key location, guests can conveniently access to the city's must-see destinations. Siem Reap Airport, the Pub Street and the famous UNESCO site Angkor Wat can be reached within short drive. At Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort, all rooms are beautifully furnished and equipped with standard amenities. Experience the resort's spa and fitness center where guests are able to relax and enjoy the landscape of tropical atmosphere. To ensure that guests are having a pleasant time during the stay, the resort also offers recreational facilities such as swimming pool, library, including day trip. Guests can opt for other leisure activities such as jogging. Offering comfortable stay with top-class facilities, Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort is a perfect venue to spend the unforgettable stay in Siem Reap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokhalay Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Sokhalay Angkor Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing