We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect adventure to see the temples in another light”

Cambodia Cycling Day Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cambodia Cycling takes tourists to see REAL Cambodia and Indochina region including Thailand, Laos and Vietnam. 70 to 80% of our cycling routes are off road and back roads to enjoy the countryside, the villages, the people to experience their cultures and their wonderful smile children.
Brooklyn, New York, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect adventure to see the temples in another light”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I booked a day tour of the temples in Siem Reap, and I'm so glad we went with this company. Mr. Visal was quick to respond to our questions via email, and the day of the tour we were lucky to have Mr. Savy, who by all accounts is just one really cool guy. We had fun just hanging out with him.

What we loved most about the tour was that we got to enter the temples through the back roads, and it was nice to get away from the sights and sounds of tuk tuks and giant tour buses. Certain places like Ta Prom require you to get dropped off by vehicle, and then walk a long hot stretch to the temple. With a bike you can just zoom by, which is a lot of fun.

Overall, this tour is perfect for those who want to experience Siem Reap as a whole, but if you're into air conditioned tour buses, excessive photo taking, and checking off as many temples as you can when you're here, this might not be for you. But I'm sure the staff at this tour company would be able to accommodate anyway!

Thanks to Mr. Savy for being such a kind, cool, and sincere tour guide. He even returned to our hotel later to drop off our Angkor passes that we forgot, just to have a souvenir.

Highly recommended!

Pro tip: Wear a hat and some sunscreen! And if you haven't rode a bike in a while, I'm sure padded shorts could go a long way.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank gardenandchaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    25
    2
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great way to see Cambodia and Vietnam”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We organised a 3 week cycle trip from Siem Reap to Ho Chi Minh City via the Cambodian coast (Sihanoukville, Kampot and Kep) with Cambodian Cycling. Mr Hun and his team were very efficient communicating via email as we organised our itinerary and payment for the trip. Our plan was not one of their usual cycles, and they put together an itinerary for us that included occasional rest days. We were met at the airport by Ra and from that moment we have nothing but praise for our experience. In Siem Reap we were guided by Sonn and our driver was Mr Dee. Sonn's knowledge of Angkor Wat was fantastic and Mr Dee greeted us at every stop with cold water, fruit and snacks, even buying some jackfruit for us to try. We were transferred by bus to Phnom Penh with Sonn who continued with us through Cambodia ensuring we were safe, taking us to lots of local restaurants and scenic places along with the tourist attractions. As it was Khmer New Year, it was difficult to find a driver, but Seabear joined us from Pnom Penh, and although he had never been a driver for a cycle tour, he was friendly, helpful and a very safe driver. Sonn gave us a wonderful experience of Cambodian life, local food and picnics. He was happy to answer all of our questions and really supported us throughout our tour in Cambodia. He even helped us find alternative accommodation one night when we did not feel comfortable with one of the pre-booked hotels. We were guided through the border crossing, saying goodbye to Sonn and Seabear and hello to Sene and Mr Dong, our Vietnamese guide and driver. These 2 looked after us wonderfully for our last week through the Mekong delta to Saigon. Cycling is a great way to see this part of the world, and so much better than a bus trip - not only do you see the sights, but hear the sounds and enjoy the smells. We are in our mid-50s, of average fitness, and it was very hot and sweaty work every day, but the terrain is dead flat, and we followed lots of smaller roads and tracks that gave us a great feel for everyday village life. We totalled 720 kms of cycling, and in between rides we were driven in a comfortable van. All the staff were friendly and happy to share their country and their personal lives with us, making sure we were safe and tailoring the experience to our particular interests. We highly recommend Cambodia Cycling, we had a fantastic time on our trip.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank mapipem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karratha, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bangkok to Siem Reap Cycle tour”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just returned from a week cycling through the countryside of Thailand and Cambodia. Was very fortunate to have been in a small group of four with another couple of aussies with similar athletic abilities, making the cycling so much more fun. Could imagine it would be quite difficult if we had people on the tour who weren't able to cycle for any length of time or at a similar pace. The guide, Phep, who was filling in for the company was great fun, and was very accommodating with our wishes, letting us cycle hard and early so that we could get to the next town early enough to do stuff. It was quite hot during the cycling, but the bus was right behind us with an esky full of cold drinks and food should we require them.
Cycling whilst Songkram was on in Thailand and Cambodia was an experience for one day, however riding whilst wet for several days got a little tiring. Also being pelted with plastic bags filled with water from the back of utes traveling in the opposite direction to you could be quite painful, as a couple of our group found out. So wouldn't recommend cycling through Cambodia whilst the week-long new year celebrations are on unless something is done about this.
Most of the meals were good, as were the hotels we stayed at, except for the one in Battambang, where we shared a room with a couple of rats.
Overall, a fun and energetic week with a local guide who personalised the trip just right to suit our holiday needs.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Narelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DO NOT DO A WALKING TOUR WITH THESE GUYS - TERRIBLE!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Although their biking tours may be great (??) I did a hiking tour in the mountains and it was absolutely awful and a total ripoff at $80 each.

We asked for a hiking tour and actually got a long time at the back of a terrible bus and less than a 20 minute walk in a few select locations. They also picked us up really late and we're generally disorganised and had little to no interest in giving a tour experience!

For $10 this would be overpriced, for $80 this was day light robbery. Stay away.

PS - go to the circus, it's awesome!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam789sun, Owner at Cambodia Cycling Day Tour, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Tom B,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to review on your recent full day trekking with us. We apology that you have not enjoyed this tour. You have contacted us on 17 March, 2014 to book this tour on 20 April, 2014 and our reservation have confirmed the booking to you with the request for the payment but we have not heard from you. We have tried to contact you a few times but still not heard from you.

On 17 April, we have contacted you again if you would like to confirmed this tour on 20 April but still not heard from you. We waited for your reply until 19 April but still not heard, then we have informed our guide and driver that this tour might not happen as you have also not paid as required in our Booking Conditions and the guide and driver have to take another tour. We only received your e-mail to confirm this tour on 19 April at 08:38:08pm and the tour starts on 20 April at 08h00am. In your e-mail you said that you were really sorry as you have been struggling with internet and only just picked up the email. You have informed us that you would like to still do the tour and said sorry again. However, we tried our best to arrange another guide and van for you within 1 hour for this tour as we could received your e-mail only at 07h00am on 20 April. We all have the e-mail correspondences if you would like us to send to you by e-mail. The price on our website for this tour is USD72 per person not USD80.

If you would give us another chance and enough time, we would be pleased to arrange another enjoyable trip for you as we always do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commerce, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bangkok to Ho Chi Minh City Cycling Tour 15 Days”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My wife and I went on the cycling trip from Bangkok to Ho Chi Minh City from December 25, 2013 through January 10, 2014 with Cambodia Cycling and had a good experience, with one concern. The trip was a great way to see eastern Thailand, Cambodia and southern Vietnam and learn about ancient as well as the modern history of the area as well as to see the countryside and experience the cultures with a great group. The highlights were cycling through the towns, visiting the markets and temples and interacting with the people. Visiting the Angkor Wat complex by bicycle was definitely worthwhile. As a side trip we recommend the " bamboo railway" and the Cambodian French winery in the area of Battambang. It was also fascinating to visit Phnom Penh riverfront and the killing fields as well as cycling along the Mekong river in Vietnam. The cycling leaders and support staff did excellent work and went out of their way to make each site and event interesting and enjoyable. The food was always very fresh and the bikes well maintained. Our concern was that we were provided an itinerary including "hotel confirmations" but on a significant number of nights we ended up being placed at alternative lesser accommodations without being informed. While the tour director did correct the situation when we were in Siem Reap, it turned what would have been an outstanding trip to only a good experience.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam789sun, Owner at Cambodia Cycling Day Tour, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Mr. Jim K,

Many thanks for spending your valuable time to provide your feedback on Bangkok to Saigon trip with Cambodia Cycling from 25 December, 2013 to 10 January, 2014. We apology for the inconvenience cause for the hotel arrangement over the Christmas and New Year. It was our first time mistake about the hotel booking in the last 8 years. However, I have corrected the situation as you have mentioned by upgrading the hotels and paying the gala dinners for the group. I have made sure with my reservation officer to make sure it will not happen again.

Many thanks and best regards,
Hun Socheat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cambodia Cycling Day Tour also viewed

 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Cambodia Cycling Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing