We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable location, unfriendly staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of I Win Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
I Win Hostel
Ranked #202 of 253 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Toormina, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Reasonable location, unfriendly staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

The location is reasonable but the rooms are overpriced for what they are.

I also found the staff somewhat aggressive and unfriendly. He agreed to give me a discount for staying a few extra nights and then got angry when I didn't pay the full amount upfront (I just didn't have the cash on me at the time).

In general the staff just seemed to sit around and you had to approach them and interrupt their chess game to get any sort of assistance.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remlaph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    6
    17
    18
    47
See reviews for
Families
0
26
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Biel, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I came there a week ago.

first it didnt seemed bad so we stayed.
they said they will make a discount if we stay longer then 3 days.

Day by Day we found ugly things about our rooms.
but we went out by day & night so it was not to bad to stay.

But then!
We wanted to pay in the evening/night because we left next day and they said its not possible to make the discount!
I stayed really calm and try to explain them why i will not pay the full price.
The guy in the office became loud & angry - started near to yell, and said hes going to call the police because i dont want to pay!
I tryed to explain it slow and quiet but they didnt wanted to answer the question "do you lie to me"
they became even more angry and i felt stiupid to talk more with them.
So i threw the money on the table...

main message!
DONT GO THERE ITS TERRIBLE!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YungTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Siem Reap hotels

Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed in I win for 1 night with 2 of my friends and we vow to never go back there again.
At first glance the room didn't seem too bad, but how wrong I was.
The sheets on the bed were FILTHY. When I turned the cover over it was brown with dirt.
The light in the bathroom was broken or non existent - it was too dark to tell.
The room was so full of insects I was afraid to go asleep.
When we were checking out the staff tried their best to convince us to stay another night which we quickly declined.
I can't actually think of anything positive about this place!
Three traumatised Irish girls

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank MaireadB89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Siam Reap with no accommodation booked and a tuk tuk driver suggested I Win Hostel. Our room was dirty, with dirty sheets and towels. There was no lock on the bathroom door and no lights in the bathroom either! The staff are pretty friendly but that doesn't nearly make up for the uncleanliness of the hostel. I would not recommend - you can get way nicer for half the price!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lairec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Never even consider staying here. The tuk tuk driver that works for them convinces you to stay here and is a complete psychopath. He refused to leave our room until we would book a day at the temple with him the next day (which was a scam) we didnt book it because knew he was dodgy. He got more and more (which got a bit scary) until we told him we would meet him in the morning, and he finally left. We ended up waking up super early and going to another place called golden mango inn (best hotel in SE asia!) so we didnt have to see him again. Horrible man and unlike any other cambodian we have met. Can get places a quarter of the price that aren't unhygienic, with filthy sheets and rude staff. Im not usually fussy with where I stay but this place was beyond horrible. Do. Not. Stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elmayess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

On arrival, the place appeared to be nice. Big room, AC, looked clean enough. However, my sheet had some suspicious stains on it.. I think it was blood. When we came back to our room after exploring the nearby area, we found literally 50 or so crickets all over our floor. They aren't as bad as roaches, but it was a tad unnerving knowing that they were probably breeding somewhere in our room.. There are honestly much better places to stay for the same or better price!

The staff was great though.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChronicMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

This hostel has friendly staff who even warned us when we were being ripped off by tuk tuk drivers! The rooms were clean and very spacious. The hostel is just around the corner from the markets and across the river from the night markets (some of the best I have visited in SE Asia)! This hostel also has a lovely cafe area. Make sure you sample the local cuisine down Bar Street while you're in Siem Riep. I would definitely recommend this hostel to backpackers wanting excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maise14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Hostel Siem Reap
Hostel Siem Reap
#56 of 253 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Villa Soksan Square
The Villa Soksan Square
#75 of 485 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Damnak Villa Boutique
Damnak Villa Boutique
#129 of 485 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
OneStop Hostel Siem Reap
OneStop Hostel Siem Reap
#16 of 253 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cercle D'angkor Villa
Cercle D'angkor Villa
#158 of 253 in Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alliance Boutique Villa
Alliance Boutique Villa
#74 of 253 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I Win Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Win Hostel

Property: I Win Hostel
Address: #0501, Wat Damnak, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 253 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 34

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing