We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty old place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Siem Reap Central Hostel
Ranked #205 of 279 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dirty old place”
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights in this hostel with my two daughters and my wife. Unfortunately the booking was pre-arranged by our tourist guide who commented that due to the peak season there was no other choice. Price was reasonable at $25/night/room for a double and a twin. However the cleanliness of this place was scary. The bathroom was dirty everything leaked, the toilet seat was lying on the floor. Not a pretty sight. Dust as old as Angkor Wat had deposited over the whole place. There is a bare minimum in housekeeping which has been overlooked.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank EBOG62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    15
    20
    11
    30
See reviews for
4
26
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mawanella
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Good and clean (Don’t expect star class It’s a Hostel), I can’t believe why don’t they change their name to hotel, coz the rooms are so nice, the staff too is friendly and game for anything, they would help you in any way, and it’s like family, we really enjoyed staying there may be they did not, coz few of my friends were drunken trouble makers, but they tolerated, The BF is great the bread was really nice you should try it, ohhh watch your shoes never leave it at the door specially if it’s expensive, my friend lost his shoes

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crishanthe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Do not support this hotel - it is definitely not worth it to stay here. If you walk up a bit, you find much better hotels for almost the same price!

The reception guy did not help me with the heavy luggage, instead he preferred to look at his nails.
It was not possible to pay by card though it was said at the beginning.
The bathroom is constantly wet and dirty.
The room was gloomy.
A lot of aggressive tuk tuk drivers in front that charge you the double of the usual price.

All in all> bad service, small room, which is not clean at all and not worth it even one dollar.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirsad Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Siem Reap hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We were taken to this place against our will, and when we said that we didn't want to stay we were abused and threatened. A group of them (including a manager) tried to be physically intimidating. As we walked away they were still shouting insults and threats.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mupovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I had no problem with the services of the hostel, everything seemed to be ok, until the last night when we had to pack because we were planning to leave the next day. Than we have realized that we got stolen. Several hundred euros were stolen in cash. And from all the currencies we had also with. What was strange is that not everything was stolen, only a part of the cash. Maybe they thought it will not be noticed.
When I went to complain to the reception they were not helpful at all. I was supposed to be responsible while not using the safes downstairs, but I had an own room with a locked door.
When asking for the boss, it was told he would come in the morning. In the morning of course he did not appear at the mentioned time and was told he never comes that early.
Since the plane was leaving I had no other choice than to leave. When I want to make a report at the police at the airport I was told that this should have been made at the hotel which of course was not mentioned by the employees.
What I got was only an email address where I have written and asked at least to send me a police report so that I could use my travel insurance to cover my losses. I didn't even get an answer!

Also had an other problem. I wanted to cancel my tuk-tuk driver and asked the receptionist to call him. I was told he would do it but in the end the driver was not called.

If I would have at least receive an answer, I would have given an average rating for the hostel, but with this service level I would not propose anyone to go there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hacek2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vientiane, Laos
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Caught the reception staff peeking through the window of the room late at night. The worst experience I've had with hostel staff in months of travelling. They didn't apologize.

Also, dirty and terrible bathrooms.

Just don't stay here. Just don't.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elik43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The main problem with the room is the smell! The beds were soiled and musty. The sheets and pillowcases were dirty!
Not worth the money.. Plenty of better hostels on the same strip ie Siem Reap Hostel...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TalesofTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
The Siem Reap Hostel
The Siem Reap Hostel
#4 of 279 in Siem Reap
1,154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Central Hostel
Central Hostel
#45 of 279 in Siem Reap
139 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#42 of 353 in Siem Reap
5,006 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lotus Blanc Resort
Lotus Blanc Resort
#35 of 353 in Siem Reap
2,183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Siem Reap Central Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Siem Reap Central Hostel

Property: The Siem Reap Central Hostel
Address: Wat Bo, Salakomrouek Commune, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 279 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the popular Old Market area, where "Pub Street" is, The Siem Reap Central Backpackers Hostel is a tropical garden accommodation, offering comfortable rooms for backpackers and independent travelers at budget prices. We have double or single bedded rooms and dormitories with A/C, Fan and Hot water, as well as computers with free internet and WiFi. All possess en-suite bathrooms. The Siem Reap Central is situated just 2 minutes from the centre of town ("Pub Street", The Old Market area), just a short walk away. We have a restaurant open from 6am – 11pm serving a variety of western and local dishes at reasonable prices. Staffs are friendly and helpful, all speaking a good level of English. The Siem Reap Central workers are more than willing to help with the organization of tours and activities. So come and sample the delights of this warm and welcoming hostel in the centre of Siem Reap. You won’t be disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Siem Reap Central Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing