We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Find in Siem Reap”
Review of Im Malis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Im Malis Hotel
Ranked #311 of 507 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 December 2012

The Im Malis was recommended to us by friends who had stayed there. We found it excellent value. It is a small hotel with 12 guest rooms. We had a room on the first floor facing the street. There is a place opposite that rents motorbikes and plays music but this was always kept to reasonable hours. Our room was comfortable and clean - they cleaned it twice a day and we got fresh towels every day. The air-conditioning was a necessity and worked well. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They couldn’t do enough for us. When we returned from excursions they greeted us with chilled towels and cool drinks. In the reception area tea and coffee, and also those delicious little bananas, were available all the time - just help yourself. Breakfast was more than adequate, with juices, fresh fruit, a choice of eggs and bread/toast with butter and jam, plus tea/coffee. Wireless internet worked well in the reception area. As it was early in the season (end Oct.) there were few guests and it was very quiet. The sink in our bathroom was slow running, that's about our only criticism.

The location of the Im Malis is ideal. It is in a small street close to the centre of town. It is an easy 10 min. walk to the Pub Street area where all the restaurants are, as well as the Old Market and many other shops. The Night Markets are also about 10 mins. away.

The Im Malis provides complimentary transfers by tuk tuk on arrival/departure. We arrived by ship and they had agreed to pick us up from the port, and when we left they took us to the airport.

We were more than happy with the Im Malis and would highly recommend it as a budget hotel.

Room Tip: Maybe choose a room facing the back if you like to sleep in. Our room was on the first floor facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2012

Im Malis was a great home for our 5 nights in Siem Reap.

From the welcome to check-out, they took such good care of us. The rooms are simple but have everything you need. They are cleaned twice per day, the bed was so comfy, and my husband was thrilled with the sports coverage on TV. But I have to say, it's the over-the-top friendliness of the staff that stands out & makes Im Malis such a great home away from home. The only reason I haven't given an "Excellent" rating is because the bathrooms could use a bit of an update.

We highly recommend our Tuk-Tuk Driver, Mr. Houng (ID 017). You can book him directly with Im Malis. He was always on time, always had a smile and was willing to do whatever he could to make sure we were happy and comfortable for 2 days. A really nice, friendly guy, he made our stay in Siem Reap very special.

Thank you to all at Im Malis, we will recommend Im Malis and Mr. Houng to our friends & family in Canada & England.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KGreen236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

This hotel is really good place to stay. Very clean (they clean the room twice a day) and lovely place. The staff always smiling and very helpful. And the best is...really 24 hours hot coffee, tea and bananas. It's really something especially after long excursion to Angkor Vat or to other places near Siem Reap. So even at night you find something to drink and eat.
I can recommend this hotel with clear conscience.

Room Tip: They haven't elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I spent 4 nights at Im Malis hotel. They were extremely friendly from the very beginning. Organised everything what I asked. Got me a reliable, kind tuktuk driver and an experienced, intelligent, king guide. If you travel to Siem Reap, ask for Mr. Caom as a driver and In Khemrin as a guide. They`ll make your trip more memorable.
Back to the hotel: the room was very clean, the staff cleaned it twice a day. They have free internet connection, and you can have tea or coffee and bananas all day for free.
I needed a haircut while I was there, one of the receptionists took me to his barber with his own motorbike. He also joined me for a boattrip on Tonle Sap river and helped me there with everything.
The location is good (10 minutes from the city center, so it`s close, but enough far for being calm during the night.
The price is cheap compared with the quality of the service.
And one more thing: those young guys at the hotel really work hard for living, let`s make it easier for them a bit.
Perfect choice, really.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Istvan1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I enjoy my stay at...........(hotel's name) in Cambodia. The staff was very nice, friendly, attentive and also helpful. They was willing to give an information and go out of their way to make sure your stay is enjoyable. The hotel was clean and so comfortable. It made me feel like my home. I have no wonder if I will go Cambodia again, I will stay this hotel again. Finally, I would like to say "Thank you so muchhh" for all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lert_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

This has been my best stay in Cambodia. The staff is very friendly, attentive and competent. My room was small but very clean with a great bed and stocked fridge. It was on the loud side, though (neighbouring rooster).

The location is within walking distance of the famous pub street (5-7 minutes), but in a quiet alley (apart from the rooster).

The big plus is the staff. Really nice! The included breakfast is basic but you can upgrade it, if you like.

A negative amenity is maybe the high laundry price (2$/kg), which is a bit ridicoulous, considering that there are 3 or 4 laundries for half the price within 1 minute walking distance.

But I can really recommend this place!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco_Sav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

The staff at IM Malis is what makes the stay. Their attention to detail and efforts to meed the customer's needs in unparalleled. This was my second time staying at this hotel and I would not hesitate to stay here again next time I come to Siem Reap. The owner of the hotel throw a party my first night there, it was a really good chance to mingle with the staff, other guests, and local dignitaries. Best hotel for the money in Siem Reap by far!!!

Hotel also offers free pick-up from airport or bus station. My tuk tuk driver was Mr. ROM. Fantastic guy! Honest, polite, and very helpful. Please use him if you have the opportunity to stay at this hotel.

Thanks to the owner and all the staff at this great hotel!!

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have windows. Request a room with a window when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BingHan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.1 mi away
Lotus Blanc Resort
Lotus Blanc Resort
#32 of 361 in Siem Reap
2,380 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.9 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#38 of 361 in Siem Reap
5,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#22 of 361 in Siem Reap
3,696 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#49 of 361 in Siem Reap
901 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jasmine Family Hostel
Jasmine Family Hostel
#176 of 300 in Siem Reap
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Im Malis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Im Malis Hotel

Address: Taphul Street, Taphul Village | Svaydangkum Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #311 of 507 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range: £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Im Malis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Im Malis Hotel is located walking distance from the historical heart of the city, this prime location also boasts a variety of entertainment clubs and brilliant restaurants. Tourists will be delighted to find the Central Market, Old Market, Angkor Night Market, the National Museum, the Royal Residence and the City River just a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Im Malis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing