We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb value and service - about £15 a night incl. breakfast”
Review of Bopha Pollen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bopha Pollen Hotel
Ranked #79 of 507 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I stayed here for 3 days in November 2013. I arranged with them to be picked up by tuktuk from the bus station – free. Incidentally I traveled from Phnom Penh to Siem Reap by Giantibis bus – a journey of over 7 hours in a very modern and impressive bus service for a mere $12. Excellent.

The hotel was amazing value for money. The cost for a king sized bed in a large modern well equipped room including breakfast for up to 2 people was £50 (for 3 days).

Being located on the end of Street 4 it is not in an ideal central location – you need to use the tuktuk which costs $1 to take you to the Night Market area. The room was large modern and attractive. It had a smallish modern TV (access to CNN news channel), a room safe, a good sized bathroom with modern fixtures and a shower above the bath with plenty of hot water. My room was on the top floor (lift only goes to 4th floor) so I had to walk up one flight of stairs. My ‘reward’ for this a balcony for a real good view of Siem Reap. Great.

The staff very good indeed – they seemed to want to please and were friendly and did of there best for you. Communication my email worked well setting up that tutktuk pickup and checking that my visit was taking place.

The hotel goes that extra mile. There is some fruit as well as water and drinking facilities free. I had an evening meal on my first night – they gave me a free green salad (very nice) as a starter. The meal was good as well – freshly cooked Chicken with vegetables and cashew nuts – about $5. The following night I even had a cocktail for $2 together with steak and red wine source $10. The beef steak was not to my taste – stringy and too red in the middle – I left half of it. The internet is free and on the two occasions it was difficult to connect (not signal strength). I just tried again in a different position. When it ‘connects’ it worked well.

The breakfast was the type that is self service and finishes at 10 a.m. Someone is on hand to help with things including managing making your toast. So as much as you want from fruit, bread and jams, tea coffee orange juice. Also ‘hot’ food of eggs, small sausages, small salad, more spicy stuff typical of Thailand and Cambodia. The problem with self service is usually that the food is luke warm or cold. Sadly this was the case here. The fried eggs and omelette were already cooked at the fried eggs in particular looked coldish and unappetising. So improvement is needed on keeping the food warm (a microwave for customers?) and cooking your eggs fresh. They could also add some yogurt and/or cereal. By the way, the hot food is changed so one day streaky bacon, the next spicy Sausage.

Overall I was very pleased with my stay and would recommend the hotel and stay there again. The main improvement would be the breakfast but the standard of service, room quality and value is excellent by any standard.

Room Tip: If you do not mind walking up one flight of stairs - get a room on top floor with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nothernman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

My husband and I checked into Bopha Pollen for 4 nights R&R away from home. We booked a superior double room for $27/night on Agoda and felt it was a steal after our stay there. The staff were extremely accommodating, friendly, and greeted everyone. The pool is small but large enough for a cool-off in the evenings. Our room size was more than adequate - plenty of room for our bags and shopping and a very comfortable bed with lots of pillows - which is very difficult to find in Cambodia! The bathroom is pretty tiny - only one person at a time can fit, but they had a bathtub with some of the best hot water I've found in Cambodia.

The breakfast was pretty mediocre - unfortunately they precook eggs and keep them in a hot server, which doesn't work very well. And sometimes the internet was fussy and not consistent. Other than that, everything was great about the hotel.

You're about 15 minutes walking from Old Market, or a $1 tuk tuk ride. At the end of the street where it meets Sivatha, there's a grocery store (Angkor Market) where you can pick up any essentials you need.

The staff at the hotel also booked a taxi to Poipet for us at $30, which is a pretty good price. The driver was safer than most, which is what I had asked for!

Overall, we'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel (i.e. 101-105). We were in 108, at the front, and the road t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingwife09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We spent three days in this hotel. It is very clean, with a good buffet breakfast, and friendly staff. There are always tuk-tuks, organised by the hotel outside to go into Siem Reap for a couple of dollars. They organise Angkor tours with or without a guide, but the guide we had, Mr. Chuop Sarorn, was very competent and enthusiastic. We were very impressed that the hotel, although we had checked out, allowed us to use a room for a massage. Unfortunately the masseur my wife had was so enthusiastic she tore a cartilage in my wifes left knee. Please be careful using these people. We unfortunately left a drawing we bought of Angkor in the tuk-tuk organised by the hotel, but, despite three emails to the hotel we have had no response. This makes one feel that the "friendliness" is very superficial and that no honesty lies behind it.

Room Tip: The lift stops at level 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhiteRabbit5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

An excellent value for money hotel in Siem Reap located a little away from action around the night market area but only a US$1 Tuk Tuk ride away. Good mid-sized rooms with ensuite, clean and quiet. Hotel has a better than expected restaurant service on the ground floor.

The hotel also has affiliated Tuk Tuk drivers with set prices to the temples and around at prices (US$13-$15 per day) less than the street price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuruB0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is what I would consider a 4-5 star hotel at the price of a 1-2 star hotel. The staff are extremely polite and spoke very good English. The room was huge with a separate bath and shower, they offered numerous tours at really good prices through the hotel run tuk tuks. Every morning was a buffet breakfast which changed daily, some of the items were fried rice, rice porridge, stir fried veges, fried eggs, scrambled eggs, stuffed omelets, croissants, toast, fresh fruit and the list goes on. There is a lovely pool with sun chairs all around, free wifi and its only a 5-10 min walk into the main part of town. If you are looking for somewhere to stay and don't mind spending a little extra this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

It's been amazing. The staff was very friendly and helpful with everything. The hotel has tuk tuks and they cost only 13 or 15 for the whole day. Try to do it trough the hotel, otherwise the street tuk tuks can cost you more. Also you can rent the bus to other places from the hotel.

the location is not the best, but is ten minutes walking from the city centre

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diego_1982186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Bopha pollen has offered us very good memory as what i assume is they are very genuine, I had booked online and I requested for free transfer to the hotel from the bus stop. Even though usually its 6 hours journey from Phnompenh to Siem Reap, Our bus took 9 hours to reach there, still i dont know the reason, we had tried to convince the new timing to the hotel on phone in-between , we couldn't conclude our message on mobile as there was line disturbance; I thought We would nt get their tuk tuk for the transfer, but the guy was waiting there at 2 am at the bus stop. It was a surprise.

Hotel rooms are spacious and pleasant. Having a small but good pool with fresh cool water near the front office. Tea or coffee is kept in the lobby and one can have it free of cost. Location also good enough to go the pub street or market..

Recommend it..

Room Tip: Its a very lovely hotel and the tariff is quite low. You will wonder with the money value as this pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomadicstories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.7 mi away
Angkor Safari Hotel
Angkor Safari Hotel
#164 of 361 in Siem Reap
344 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#85 of 361 in Siem Reap
871 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angkor Secret Garden Hotel
Angkor Secret Garden Hotel
#59 of 507 in Siem Reap
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Villa Soksan Square
The Villa Soksan Square
#57 of 507 in Siem Reap
191 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mango Rain Boutique Hotel
Mango Rain Boutique Hotel
#4 of 507 in Siem Reap
390 reviews
0.9 mi away
Petit Temple Suite & Spa
Petit Temple Suite & Spa
#62 of 507 in Siem Reap
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bopha Pollen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bopha Pollen Hotel

Address: #202, Taphul Village, Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 507 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range: £17 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bopha Pollen Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Bopha Pollen Hotel in Siem Reap, Cambodia we have everything you need to relax and enjoy your stay in the Kingdom of Wonder. Luxurious accommodations in a central location means that the Bopha Khmer Hotel is the perfect base for your trip to Siem Reap whether visiting the ancient temples of Angkor Wat or on an important business trip. Our attentive hospitality team is available 24 hours a day to help ensure your stay here is memorable in all the right ways. We can organise your tour and transportation requirements, while you enjoy our restaurant. Free Wifi in your rooms restaurant and bar, so you can access the Internet from the comfort of the hotel. If you are driving to our hotel, please avail of the valet parking. Otherwise we can arrange free airport or bus station pickup. Catering to families, couples or independent travellers and special rooms rate for groups please let us know if we can do anything to make your stay at Bopha Khmer Hotel all the more enjoyable!. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bopha Pollen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing