We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bewitching performance!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smile of Angkor

Smile of Angkor
Book In Advance
More Info
US$48.00*
and up
Smile of Angkor Show with Roundtrip Transfer
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "Smile of Angkor" is the first grand Epic daily show that revives the Angkor dynasty in all aspects. It's the most worth view show in Cambodia. From foundation to prosperity, tale to folk customs, past to present, Smile of Angkor expresses the original culture with the highest technology It's a splendid performance directed by the experts of the Cambodia Culture and Fine Arts Ministry and the director team of the Closing Ceremony of 2008 Olympic Games. It's a legendary show that revives all the myths from the reliefs of Angkor Temples with our grand stage and the brightest stars. There is a buffet at the venue to allow you to dinner before the show. A small and cosy restaurant is dedicated to the individual visitors (non-group) but be aware that it s a huge buffet for Asian group so don't expect for food and Western standard level. But you will be able to see all the nationalities of Asia and to taste differents foods : Khmers, Vietnamese, Korean... Be aware that during the high season there should have so queue for the bbq which know a big success. During the show you can not take photos or videos. We wish to welcome you
Bonn, Germany
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A bewitching performance!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The show is totally worth seeing! It is a beautiful fairy tale about the ancient history of Angkor Wat, and a perfect conclusion of the day spent in the temples. We were fascinated by the dancers, costumes, acrobatics, music, light and water! It should be mentioned though, that it is a truly Asian show, a reflection of an Asian mindset, and that makes it so special: it is in no way a product, adapted for the taste of quite predictable Western tourists, it is an authentic Cambodian folklore performance.
And you for sure should not miss it, if you come to Siem Reap with kids: my 4 years old son followed the action during the whole hour and really enjoyed it!
Few words about the buffet: there is only Asian food. So if you are used to sausages and sandwiches, it is not for you.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Varvaritto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice L, Responsable relations publiques at Smile of Angkor, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Varvaritto,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our show.

Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival.

We are so happy to read that you and your son enjoyed the show and the buffet! As you hqvenoticed, it's a great event for family and kids enjoy it a lot!

We hope you enjoy your stay in our country as much as you have enjoyed our show.

Best regards,

The team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    62
    47
    55
    72
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cebu City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst night of my life.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Our tourguide recommended this show to us. The free dinner buffet and the show all for 48$ sounded all so great but the food they served was really bad that I had to starve all throughout the night and the show wasnt that bad but it wasnt that great either.

Please dont make the same mistakes we did and skip watching the show. I promise you will save a lot of money

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank miguelladia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice L, Responsable relations publiques at Smile of Angkor, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Miguelladia,

Dear Ladia1234

Thank you for taking the time to review our show. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission.
We have addressed the food issue to the staff to try to avoid such situation. We should propose a new restaurant for FYT. Our buffet is not the main feature of our show but just a way to satisfy hunger before the show.

You have to know that if you book the ticket on our website, you can get a special discount on our packages: 20%. We have different packages and you can buy a ticket where food is not included.

We hope to welcome you again in our country in the future and wish you the very best.

Best regards,

The team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Waste of money and time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

At first our tour guide told us to go to this show because it is one of the attractions in Cambodia, so we agreed to watch the show the next night for 48$ and that is with buffet inclusive. We arrived to the show and the entrance was amazing. Seeing many people watching the show, and also seeing the huge buffet area filled with people made me think that this show is worth it but actually it isnt. We were being served with food that tastes so bad and the most delicious food in the room, which is still not that good, is only limited to 2 pieces per person. This is so bad cause its not a buffet if you are only limited to a certain amount of quantity. Buffet not worth it!! We then went to the show after eating. The show started and the ironic thing is that the main actor's appearance is a man but his voice is like a voice of a little kid the effects are so old, the actors are not that professional. The characters are not synced when they dance. Ill give this tourist attraction a terrible rating, and totally not worth it. I think this show is worth 10$ including the buffet.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladia1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice L, Responsable relations publiques at Smile of Angkor, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Ladia1234

Thank you for taking the time to review our show. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission.
We have addressed the food issue to the staff to try to avoid such situation. We should propose a new restaurant for FYT. Our buffet is not the main feature of our show but just a way to satisfy hunger before the show.

You have to know that in your price includes a commission for your guide or Tuk tuk driver. But if you book the ticket on our website, you can get a special discount on our packages: 20%. We have different packages and you can buy a ticket where food is not included.

We feel sorry that you didn't enjoy our show. Dancers performers, Technical team, staff give their best to propose a family show to our International audience.

We hope to welcome you again in our country in the future and wish you the very best.

Best regards,

The team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

The free dinner was bad... Show not that good overall the $48u.s. Was not worth it. My guide told me that there is a show for less than $10 in a restaurant you should try this and rate it for other travellers.

Helpful?
Thank Edlin Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice L, Responsable relations publiques at Smile of Angkor, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Edlin Anthony L

Thank you for taking the time to review our show. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission.
We have addressed the food issue to the staff to try to avoid such situation. We should propose a new restaurant for FYT. Our buffet is not the main feature of our show but just a way to satisfy hunger before the show. We do our best to ensure our international audience the best dinner for 8$ in order to enjoy the show. We have different packages and you can buy a ticket where food is not included. And if you book the ticket on our website, you can get a special discount on our packages: 20%.

We hope to see you in Cambodia again in the future and wish you the very best.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Mmmmm, Ok what did I just witness!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Wow, I paid real money for this show for me and my girlfriend.

There has already been plenty of bad reviews on this show which I completely agree with so what else can I say but don't waste your money.

Like a few other people, I agreed to go to the show while on a tour so was unsuspecting of what I was about to witness. The show needs to be redone. Seems likes its still stuck in the early 90s, with cheap 3D effects and laser shows. I witnessed a 3D elephant pulling a stone through space, does he have to be 3D graphics, does he need to be in space, after all this is ment to be live (not saying they need to have a real elephant on stage). The performers aren't great. My grlfriend said they are trying, in this case they need to try a little harder. They have a terrible sounding recorded narrator and I would say all the live music was recorded as well.

Please, please, please don't go and see this show, not even to see an elephant walking through space. Yes see the pagodas/temples as they really are amazing but this show is not.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice L, Public Relations Manager at Smile of Angkor, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Robert M,
Thank you for taking the time to review our show. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.
Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission.
We sincerely apologize to understand that you found our 3D effects ridiculous.
We have addressed the sound issue to the staff to try to avoid such situation. We do our best to insure our international audience the best comfort in order to enjoy the show.

We hope you enjoyed your stay in Cambodia and wish you the very best.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smile of Angkor also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Smile of Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing