We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Friendly Hotel Staff, Everything is so New”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Angkor Sayana Hotel & Spa
Ranked #97 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Location, Friendly Hotel Staff, Everything is so New”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The hotel is located just outside the town center. Hence it is not too noisy or busy outside the hotel. Still, it is within walking distance to the Old Market and Pub Street (though the Tuk Tuk is always outside the hotel ready to fetch you there for a couple of dollars). Takes about 10 to 15 mins of walking along the Siem Reap river to reach the town center. It's a nice walk as you get to see the people and shops, and on a couple of occasions, we also saw children swimming in the river or diving into it from an overhanging tree branch. The hotel staff at the reception and restaurant are all so friendly. My kids liked them a lot. The hotel is one of the newest in Siem Reap. Everything in the hotel is so new. We still can smell the flagrant of wood in the lobby and in the rooms. There's so much wood in the hotel. Even the sink top is made of wood. Impressive.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    137
    23
    2
    2
See reviews for
71
143
44
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

On the positive side: (1) The staff was really fantastic, so helpful, informative, courteous, professional, and always available to answer questions. (2) The location is great, a few minutes by tuk-tuk to Pub Street and the markets, maybe 10 minutes walking, and several good restaurants within a few minutes' walk (Viroth's is just around the corner, and Foreign Correspondents Club a block up the river on the other side).

As for the not so positive, well, it holds itself out as a 4-star property, and it simply isn't. Little things like, 1 tiny bar of soap in the bathroom no more than 1 inch in diameter; left used towels in the bathtub which I think is the universal way of signalling to the maid to please replace them, but instead of doing so she simply hung up the used towels on the shower curtain rod; balcony is a great place to enjoy that second cup of coffee in the mornings but the wooden chairs are so uncomfortable; great to have a pool, but the space around the pool is so limited there's very little seating available; you need to insert your keycard in a holder to turn on the electric power to the room, so whenever you leave the room and take your keycard with you there's no power and it's impossible to recharge phones, camera batteries, or anything else; oh, and the fitness center that the web site and brochure refer to, well, it simply doesn't exist at all.

Had a bit of a negative experience on the "free" airport transfer. The driver clearly wanted to be hired as a tour guide for trips to Angkor Wat, etc., but his English was so limited that really wasn't going to happen. So he then became a little angry, saying the hotel didn't pay him to provide the airport transfer, and he was out of pocket for the cost of the airport parking, gasoline, etc., implying there should be an obligation to hire him for follow-on tour services. So the pick-up may be "free" in the sense that no cash has to be paid, but the bad surprise is that you may end up feeling a little guilty if you resist the add-on-tour hard sell.

If you want to save on expenses and are looking for no more than 3-star quality, this place is fine. But if I went back to Siem Reap I think I'd spend a little more $$ and stay at a nicer place like the Angkor Village just down the road.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side I think are the only ones with balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConcordeOrphan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this beautiful hotel. The reviews were all pointing to the friendliness of the staff but my expectations were exceeded by the wamness of each one of the staff. We would definitely stay again. Another advantage is the location, a stroll down city life and wine/dine.

Room Tip: The family room is ideal with connecting room, especially if you have two kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Subump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Just finished a five nights stay at this hotel. The car driver -pickup from the airport (free)- tried immediately to sell some tours... The check-in was fast and easy, with friendly staff.
If you like the wood (teak) you will be served. The reception, restaurant, rooms have plenty of wood.... The room was OK. A bigger tv might be a suggestion and more light in the room.
The location of this hotel is quite good. You have plenty of tuk-tuk in front the hotel (1 to 3 usd). The best quality of this hotel is the staff !!!

Room Tip: try to have the top floor (4th). Careful of the mosquitoes, so witch on the air con immediately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asiatrip61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012 via mobile

Just finished a four night stay at this hotel.
From the first moment to the last ALL the staff were the friendliest I have experienced ever.
The bus driver -pickup from the airport (free)- was chatty and able to speak good English.
The check-in was fast and easy, again with friendly staff. Nice mint welcome drink also.
The room was OK. We were upgraded so it was on the top floor. Maybe a bigger tv might be my only suggestion. Had only one small problem (nothing the hotel could fix), one night a cricket got stuck on the balcony and the noise was amazing, soon found it and threw it back on the street. One of the pleasures of being in Asia.

Nice quite bar in the lobby, with a super nice waitress that served us the three times we visited.

Overall a big thumbs up for this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianSG_visiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

What can I say more? This is a GREAT place to stay for the price we are paying.

- Friendly Staffs
- Clean Rooms
- Great Location
- Reasonable price
- Just all you need for a Hotel

Check out more photos and review at http://brosche-loo.blogspot.com/2012/07/where-to-stayed-in-siem-reap.html

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brosche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

This hotel was in a great location walking distance to all the hub bub but far enough away to not be noisy. The staff were unbelievable. Every time we returned to the hotel all the staff in the foyer/bar area would now and acknowledge our return with a big smile. Breakfast ok, nothing outstanding. Nice rooms. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimmcfayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Lynnaya Urban River Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Privilege Boutique
The Privilege Boutique
#7 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Reveal Angkor Boutique Hotel
Reveal Angkor Boutique Hotel
#77 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lucky Angkor Hotel
Lucky Angkor Hotel
#207 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apsara Residence Hotel
Apsara Residence Hotel
#83 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor Sayana Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Sayana Hotel & Spa

Property: Angkor Sayana Hotel & Spa
Address: Corner River Road & Samdech Tep Vong Street | Wat Bo Village, Sala Kamroeuk Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Angkor Sayana Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque easy flowing river and historical old French quarter of Siem Reap, Angkor Sayana Hotel & Spa is the latest addition to the Cambodian boutique accommodation sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angkor Sayana Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing