We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, clean, comfortable and friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angkor Sayana Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Angkor Sayana Hotel & Spa
Ranked #82 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very nice, clean, comfortable and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

When you've only got 3 days in Siem Reap / Angkor to see all the temples, you need somewhere like this that's clean and comfortable with a pool to help you get over the day's sightseeing, without costing the earth.
This is a busy and popular hotel, close enough to the centre of town to walk to bars, restaurants and markets.

Staff are friendly, trained at the local hotel college. They got rid of the swarm of bees that took up residence on our balcony door window without too much fuss. Thank you.
They also arranged a birthday cake for me - a lovely touch :-)

Breakfast is a good mix of East and Western food, with great coffee to help start your busy day.

Overall, comfort, service and value for money were all excellent. A credit to the owner, Daryl.
Pleasure to meet you and see you again on my next visit to Siem Reap.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank StevePies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    135
    23
    2
    2
See reviews for
71
141
42
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We arrived at this hotel a little early for check -in . We were sitting patiently in the lobby when the extremely charming and friendly Australian Owner/ Manager ? Daryl came and sat with us.

Daryl was not the usual dark suited stuffy manager but a dressed down short sleeve shirted "mate". After talking for a while about worldwide adventures he invited us for lunch while we were waiting for the room . We had a fantastic meal, the breast of duck with red wine sauce would not have looked out of place in any of the Ramsey establishments , my wife had the " Taste of Cambodia " selection and it was impressive ! if we had paid it would have cost about $15 inc. wine!!!!

We never stopped being impressed with this hotel, the staff were amazing especially the young ladies on reception and the waitreses in the restaurant. (Daryl said that they are not trained to be so efficient and friendly , it's the natural Cambodian way).

It is quite obvious that the staff have a great deal of respect for Daryl , they smile and almost bow when you mention his name ! I think if I had worked for him in my much younger days i would have learned a lot about good management.

We had a fantastic river view room with a large balcony and spent lots of time watching kids playing in the river and ball games going on in the parks by the river.

The town is only a few minutes walk , shops , transport is cheap and plentifull and of course Angkor Wat is quite close as well.

We have ben traveling for about 5 weeks now and have stayed at some amazing hotels but the Sayana is the one that we are going to spend a lot more time at on our next trip , even if we do not visit the temples again ,

Very well done Angkor Sayana , you have made a huge immpression on us and that takes some doing - believe me!

I should also mention the spa which my wife used a lot , not only does she give a glowing report but compared with other countries Vietnam and Laos - IT IS AS CHEAP AS CHIPS!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Me and a few friends stayed here for 3 nights in March 2014. The hotel arranged free airport pickup which is always appreciated when you arrive somewhere and don't really have your bearings. Our driver was waiting for us when we came out of the airport and that was our first experience of how wonderfully smiley and cheerful Cambodian people are!

On arrival at the hotel, we were given a welcome drink whilst we checked in and then taken to our rooms which were very large and very comfortable. The bathroom had all the toiletries you need and a hairdryer so I you don't need to pack these if you're travelling light.

The location was great. It was a 10 minute walk into the centre of Siem Reap which under normal circumstances is perfectly fine but it was incredibly hot and a 10 minute walk in the blazing sun felt much longer and harder than it should. We did it once and resorted to tuks tuks after that. There are always tuk tuks available outside the hotel that will take you into town for $2. It’s about 40 mins in a tuk tuk to Angkor Wat which is about average. But we booked the tuk tuk through a travel agency in town. The price we paid gave us a tuk tuk and guide for the day. Our guide was incredible - his conversation wasn’t limited to information about the temples at Angkor Wat, he talked to us about everything from politics to religion to just general banter. The Cambodians have an amazing sense of humour. I would strongly recommend anyone planning on visiting Angkor Wat to book it trough s travel agency as we heard stories about people trying to book tuk tuks directly which didn’t turn up. Also, you’re not getting a qualified and certified guide this way.

Breakfast was excellent. A huge choice of western and eastern food which changed everyday!

The staff were lovely and were very welcoming. It was my friends birthday on our second night there and they came up to the room with a cake and sang happy birthday! None of us had arranged this so we’re assuming they saw the date in her passport when we checked in.

There is a small pool area which was a lifesaver for me in Siem Reap. If there is one thing I would say to anyone when booking a hotel anywhere in Cambodia is make sure it has a pool. The heat is quite intense and it’s nice to have a pool to dive into when you’re hot and bothered.

I would recommend a stay at this hotel to anyone who is planning on a trip to Siem Reap. You won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

This hotel was a surprise for us. We had a little difficulty of making a reservation due to their email system (they fixed whwn we get there) but the hotel room and services were excellent. The spa and breakfast and diner were good. The located on the river(?) bank and is good for the Museum and Temples. Hotel provided the airport transportation. The best thing is that staffs were very frindly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed here for 8 nights and well worth the price.
Ideally located halfway between Lucky Mall and the Old Market/Pub Street area, and both can be easily walked within 10-15 minutes.
The rooms were clean, albeit a little dark due to the deep mahogany ceilings and floors.
The daily buffet breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of choice, including and egg and noodle station.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the river, even a little noisy in the morning, but hey, you are going to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanKay2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

A great hotel, ideally located (an 8 minute stroll to the old market or a $1-$2 tuk tuk ride) and excellent value for money. The owner/GM Daryl is very present in the hotel and is on hand if you have any questions, complaints or just need advice. As we arrived early (before check in time) he did his best so we could check in to our room which was very much appreciated. The staff were lovely and had a great sense of humour. Also as it was my birthday while I was there, after coming back from dinner and drinks in the old town area I was surprised to hear a knock on the door to be greeted by a birthday cake. Such a lovely though and was not expecting it at all.

A short walk from Peace café (Vegetarian food, yoga, cooking classes) as well as Butterflies Garden Restaurant (Community Restaurant).

Has a small pool which was a bonus after a hot day temple trekking. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed for four nights in this hotel and were really satisfied. It has a good location, a good restaurant (try the Khmer menu) and pretty good room sizes. Staff was helpful and polite. The swimming pool is a bit limited in terms of its size – but who travels down to Siem Reap for the swimming pool anyway?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balazs G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Lynnaya Urban River Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Privilege Boutique
The Privilege Boutique
#75 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Karavansara Retreat & Residences
0.1 mi away
La Riviere d'Angkor Resort
La Riviere d'Angkor Resort
#105 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apsara Residence Hotel
Apsara Residence Hotel
#73 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor Sayana Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Sayana Hotel & Spa

Property: Angkor Sayana Hotel & Spa
Address: Corner River Road & Samdech Tep Vong Street | Wat Bo Village, Sala Kamroeuk Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Angkor Sayana Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque easy flowing river and historical old French quarter of Siem Reap, Angkor Sayana Hotel & Spa is the latest addition to the Cambodian boutique accommodation sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Angkor Sayana Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing