We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sparkling clean, great food, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gloria Angkor Hotel
Ranked #139 of 365 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Service was excellent from the moment we were picked up by the tuk tuk driver from Giant Ibis bus station. All the staff were very friendly, especially Mr. Phal at reception, as in greeting me with "Heeyyyyyy!!" every time I walk into the lobby and then proceeding to chat for the next half hour! Expect to get a cold wet towel, a glass of water, and banana chips every time you walk in!

We had a large room on the 3rd floor overlooking NH6 towards Siem Reap centre. The room is very clean and comfortable, A/C powerful enough to cool the room within a few minutes. Rooms were made twice a day, with the second time in early evening. The bedtime stories we got every night was a nice touch.

Breakfast is complimentary and made to order, and they are fantastic. There is also unlimited coffee, tea, fruits, and snacks in the lobby available 24/7. For one night where we didn't feel like hitting the town, we tried the 3-course Khmer set dinner from the restaurant, which was also quite good.

The hotel booked us to a tuk tuk driver, Mr. Sa Rouen, whom we used for all of our travels. He always managed to accomodate my picky demands, provides free cold bottled water, and rates are reasonable and also negotiable. His English is good, and you can ask him for advice on restaurants or places to visit.

If I have to pick a bone to pick, it would be the location away from town centre. It's only 5 mins away by tuk tuk, which is provided free of charge in the evening, which is just fine for us. But if you are the spontaneous bar hopping type, you may want to find a place closer to Pub St.
The in room wi-fi is not very reliable, but that seems to be case with most places in Cambodia. Signal is good in the lobby though, and they also have public computers for everyone.

At the end, the cherry on the cake was a souvenir scarf when I checked out. Thanks for making my stay in Siem Reap!

Room Tip: Upper floors facing NH6 for good sunset over the city; lower floors if you don't want to climb t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twotterdhc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 436 of 595 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2012

Very friendly staff, free tuk tuk to the old town, room are very clean and confortable, the tv has over 90 channels, great massage for 6 dollar hour. They give you full service to the Temples, overall I defenelly would recommend anyone to stay at hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 385Kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Me and a friend had the pleasure of staying here in November. At first we were a little skeptical about the location, but that was changed the minute we set foot in reception. The staff were so friendly and eager to help you and to know about your day. We were given welcome drinks and a cold towel, which was much needed, along with all the information you will need. On an evening they turned your bed covers down, put a story and some sweets on your bed for you coming in. Was lovely and clean, staff went the extra mile. They provide a free tuk tuk on a night between 6pm-10pm in to the city. Great hotel for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luce86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

The Gloria Angkor Hotel in Siem Reap gives you great value for money and is a gem in a city packed with hotels. The manager and staff (such as Mr. Phal) were all extremely nice and helpful and can arrange anything from a trip to Pnom Penh or Bangkok to fresh towels or a massage. Drinks and fresh fruit are complementary in the shared areas and there is a cute bedtime story and flowers waiting on the pillow when you come back after a long day at Angkor.
They also arrange full day trips to the temples, which are not the absolute cheapest deals in town, but they are still fairly priced and it saves a lot of bargaining during the day. Our driver (Mr. Van Tha) did not speak perfect English, but had vast knowledge of the area, was very professional and kept us well fed and free from rain under all circumstances.
The restaurant staff could use a bit more training, but they will do anything in their power to be of assistance as well.
The hotel is just outside of the busy center of Siem Reap, so it is not the best pick if you want to be in town, but on the up side the hotel offers free tuktuk service to the center after 6pm and if you rented a driver for the day, he can also take you there before 6.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

This hotel was the best we stayed in on our budget backpacking trip in South East Asia. We were greeted with nothing but smiles and laughter from the staff from beginning to end. They were extremely attentive to us, opening our taxi door and caring our luggage to our room without asking for tips. They were very helpful and friendly, especially Paul, Seyha, Sok and Jak. Our tuk tuk driver, Pon, was wonderful. The hotel left flowers on our beds and a cute bedtime story. Lots of free snacks... everytime we used the free computers downstairs they brought us banana chips and a drink. It is very clean, great air conditioning and great WiFi. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel: Top of the line service for an insanely low price!

Room Tip: You can also ask for a room with good wifi... but they are currently installing more routers as I ty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We picked this hotel after reading about it on TA the reviews were spot on!! This hotel is a little wonder in wonderful town. Please don't be out off by location as the tuk tuk rides that are included are such fun and you see the local life. Free breakfast is huge and such a choice! Had dinner there on the first night and it was fantastic, lovely staff also. Rooms a good size and spotlessly clean. Attention to detail is excellent. Turn down service has a lovely twist. We got the hotel to book their own tuk tuk driver for visiting the temples and he was amazing. We have already recommended this to many already and wouldn't stay anywhere else in SR!

Room Tip: Note of caution no safe and no lifts but you do not carry the bags up thankfully
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012 via mobile

We've been traveling since May 2012. After countless hotels, hostels, guest houses, etc. (over 40 for sure), Gloria Angkor is clearly the best budget hotel experience ever, bar none. It felt luxurious on a budget. We don't even know how they pull it off!

We want to give this place a 10 out of 5 for all the details that other reviewers have already mentioned. We had an opportunity to talk to the GM, and he's one passionate, service-oriented guy. He is committed to hiring people not necessarily experienced in hospitality, but with a great attitude, usually university students, and trains them himself. He takes every feedback seriously and works on improving.

The service and cleanliness were impeccable, but we really fell in love with the friendliness and eagerness of the staff. Our tuk tuk driver, Mr. Sa Rouen, was first-class. We especially enjoyed sharing Cambodia beers with him at the end of the day! We enjoyed talking to both the restaurant and front desk staff's stories.

Wifi is very important to us for our travel blog and maintaining contact with our families at home. We specifically requested a room with good wifi signal, so we were on the main floor and it worked great from our room.

What a neat place that made us truly feel like we were part of their family for the 5 days that we were in Siem Reap. We said we would be back again, and they said, "Next time, you have friends here".

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelSabbatical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel 20th Street
Hotel 20th Street
#124 of 365 in Siem Reap
252 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tanei Boutique Villa
Tanei Boutique Villa
#135 of 365 in Siem Reap
589 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
#149 of 365 in Siem Reap
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#43 of 365 in Siem Reap
513 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kiri Boutique Hotel
Kiri Boutique Hotel
#143 of 365 in Siem Reap
515 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sidewalk Never Die Hotel Siem Reap
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Angkor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Angkor Hotel

Address: National Road #6, Chung Kaosou Village, Siem Reap 855KHM, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 365 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: £22 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gloria Angkor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gloria Angkor Hotel is about 6km from Angkor Wat Temple. 1km from Chong Kaosou Bus Station and about 10km from Siem Reap International Airport. The property offers complimentary airport pick up services. Each air-conditioned room is fitted with a flat-screen cable TV, private bathtub which combined with a shower in one area Telephone with international direct dial function. Free two bottle of water and a nightly turn-down service is provided. Massage, transport rental and laundry services are available. The hotel also provides tour desk and business center. Complimentary use of the hotel's bicycles (base on available) to explore the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gloria Angkor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing