We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Purple Mangosteen
Ranked #49 of 483 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Excellent location, room and facilities. Despite the absence of breakfast, there are two bakeries around, and it's very easy to have it before visit city or temples. It's in the middle of nightlife, like night market, restaurants, etc. At night, it's a little bit noisy because the nightclubs around, but it's not annoying.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pedrotozoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    48
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
98
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Our stay here was excellent! After several days in backpacker hostels with cramped bathrooms, thin sheets and flat pillows, we were beyond relieved and excited to finally stay at a comfortable and beautiful room with real comforters, fluffy pillows and a spacious bathroom! The holy grail!

It was centrally located and is within walking distance of everything so there will be no need for a tuktuk to get around. The price may be a bit more expensive than other hostels but the level of comfort and ease they provided is definitely worth it! I cannot stress enough how pleasant our stay was!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

+ Clean spacious room

+ Large comfy bed

+ Good aircon & strong shower - Really great especially after a sweaty dusty day touring the angkor temples or walking around the city

+ Convenient location - Central area, very near to lots of restaurants, street food & 24hr convenience stores

+ Polite & helpful staff - When we asked for some help with getting bus tickets to travel to Phnom Penh, they promptly made phone calls with the bus company to book the tickets for us and even drove out to collect the tickets for us while we went for dinner. Housekeeping regularly kept our room clean as well and changed our towels.

+ Tuk tuk - Very grateful that they were able to get a tuk tuk driver to take us to the angkor area, when we actually asked them about it at the very last minute (it was almost midnight when we inquired, and we wanted to head to Angkor for sunrise at 5am). At that point, we were pretty much expecting that we won't be able to hire a tuk tuk on such short notice, but were pleasantly surprised when they immediately introduced one of their resident tuk tuk drivers to us and he promptly said okay to meeting us at 5am later. We booked him for two days, and on the first day we were late (our bad) but he did not seem affected at all, instead he earnestly drove us as fast as he could towards Angkor Wat to catch as much of the sunrise as possible. On the second day, he met us even earlier at 4.30am so that this time we could be sure that we wouldn't miss the break of dawn at the temples.

One main thing that we were very happy about was his willingness to take us around the various temples according to the order we wanted (eg. heading to the further temples first and then ending off at Angkor Wat), which meant that we did not have to follow the conventional route (eg. starting with Angkor Wat first and then heading to the further temples) and clash with the huge crowds who took the same common popular routes to visit the whole Angkor site. Out of all the tuk tuk drivers whom we've asked about this matter, every one of them insisted that we must follow a given 1-day or 2-day route, otherwise additional petrol costs would be incurred, and refused to take us when we asked if they could follow our route instead (which explains why we couldn't get a tuk tuk right till the last minute).

Our tuk tuk driver was also very familiar with the entire Angkor area, and drove us efficiently to every temple that we wanted to see, in addition to giving us a thorough explanation of each building before dropping us off at the respective compounds (thus eliminating any need for a tour guide, and enlightening us further on the history of the temples). With such a kind and cooperative driver, we were able to explore most of the temples without squeezing with crowds of fellow tourists (eg. we took a quiet road to Bakheng for sunrise on day 2 - most people head there for sunset after finishing a round of the other temples - and enjoyed the view with the entire hilltop temple to ourselves), making it a thoroughly wonderful experience. When we were back in the city, he even agreed to drive us further to get tourist SIM cards for our mobile phones when we told him we had trouble finding a decent shop to purchase it, very helpful!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJH2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williams Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Found this place based on a friend's recommendation and stayed for 3 days in June. The rooms were clean and surprisingly sleek. The hotel staff were incredibly helpful and employee their own, totally trustworthy, Tuk Tuk drivers - they even had one pick us up from the airport for free. Unlike some of the other reviewers, we had no problems with noise.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramblingman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

If you want a place that's right where the action is, with a nice room, and the best staff ever - look no further. Sokohn at the front desk and the rest will take care of you with a big smile. Sokohn even walked me to the bike rental place under the noon sun just to make sure I get the bike I wanted. So impressed with the level of friendliness and genuine care of the staff at this hotel, something you don't even always get in 5 star hotels.Great job ladies. I'll be back here when I visit SR again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BussClass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendota Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We chose the Purple Mangosteen to be close to the center of Siem Reap and it was excellent for that purpose. The property is well managed, ownership is attentive and responsive, the room was perfectly clean every day, the staff was delightful and the location - for proximity to the heart of town - was excellent.

The only reason their rating is not all 5 stars is that the X Club, about 1 block away, is a loud music venue. Weeknights the music ran until 3:00am and on weekends until 5:00am. Although we were plenty tired from touring temples and visiting the beautiful countryside around Siem Reap, there were times when the music interrupted our sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoolTuneMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The staff was friendly and delightful. The room was clean and comfortable. The location was in the heart of Siem Reap's tourist district. And the rooftop terrace was a great place to watch the sun set. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel.
If you're looking for a quiet room away from city noise, this is not the place for you. The bar music goes until early morning. If you want a comfortable, clean, centrally located and locally owned place to rest, I highly recommend the Purple Mangosteen.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katehst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#107 of 337 in Siem Reap
528 reviews
0.0 mi away
Terrasse des Elephants
Terrasse des Elephants
#177 of 337 in Siem Reap
385 reviews
0.0 mi away
Reaksmey Chanreas Hotel
Reaksmey Chanreas Hotel
#182 of 337 in Siem Reap
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#65 of 337 in Siem Reap
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Steung Siemreap Hotel
Steung Siemreap Hotel
#96 of 337 in Siem Reap
884 reviews
0.0 mi away
OneStop Hostel Siem Reap
OneStop Hostel Siem Reap
#16 of 251 in Siem Reap
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Purple Mangosteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Purple Mangosteen

Property: The Purple Mangosteen
Address: The Alley West | Near Old Market, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 483 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Purple Mangosteen 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Purple Mangosteen is a small boutique Hotel with 6 stylish rooms in the heart of the historic centre of Siem Reap. It is located in the fashionable lane tucked behind the Old Market which still has some of the last original shop houses that are now art cafés, restaurants, boutiques and galleries. Only a few steps away from the vibrant night life of the Old Quarter this Hotel is quiet with elegant fully air-conditioned rooms. Each room has an en-suite bathroom with a rain shower and a full range of locally produced cosmetics for the guests to sample. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Purple Mangosteen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing