We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, lovely service but unfortunately a very average, dirty hotel”
Review of Kia Kaha Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kia Kaha Villa
Ranked #85 of 485 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Good location, lovely service but unfortunately a very average, dirty hotel”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

THE GOOD:

- Location was ideal for us... just a 15/20 minute tuk tuk drive from the airport and about 15 minutes by tuk tuk to Angkor Wat. We also enjoyed being able to walk to restaurants/markets etc. in about 5 minutes.

- Service was generally lovely... everyone was very polite and happy and offered advice whenever we asked for it.

- Breakfast was good and filled you up for the morning... I enjoyed the coffee but my partner didn't like the fact that it was just luke warm every day.

THE BAD:

- Service can be VERY slow... one day it took about an hour from ordering lunch to receiving it. It was a good job that we didn't have any tours planned for that day! What was quite frustrating was to hear most of the staff trying out some new weird voice app thing on their phone (very loudly!) and giggling about it and so we weren't sure whether there was actually anyone in the kitchen for a while?! It would certainly explain why a couple of dishes took so long (oh and there were no other guests around, so it wasn't busy!) Same for when we ordered cocktails - it takes 20 minutes to make 2 drinks... really?! If you stay here, definitely order everything well before you actually feel hungry or thirsty.

- Items in the room are not restocked/replenished consistently. When we turned up there was no hand soap or shower gel, which I found odd, as even the most basic of hotels would have some kind of soap, so we went out and bought our own shower gel... one then turned up a few days later when the cleaner replaced the shampoo/conditioner... hmmm. Tissues ran out, we didn't get more. Hot chocolate mix ran out, we didn't get more. And don't even start me on the towels - aaaargh! We don't use a new towel every single day but because the temples are so dusty, we did find ourselves washing more and therefore after a few days, we put some used, dirty, dusty hand towels on the floor and looked forward to receiving some new ones... they were taken away but we didn't get any more. We didn't dare throw our shower towels on the floor, as I was scared that we would then have nothing to dry with! And we had to use the last flannel as a pathetic bath mat for when we came out of the shower!

- We didn't sleep very well most nights, somewhat due to the pillows (the kind where 2 together are ridiculously high and 1 just flattens itself down the second you put your head on it!) so we both had to put our own clothes underneath one pillow to try and bump it up a bit. It is also VERY noisy at night... the neighbourhood dogs especially love making a noise and so we had to turn our fan up very high to try and drown out some of the noises. Maybe other hotels are worse for noise level or maybe different locations are more peaceful... I don't know so I can't comment, but I'm just saying that we found the noise at night disturbing.

- The hotel had some workers in to fix blinds to the balcony during our stay, which was fine... I appreciate that renovations have to happen at some point (although why they chose one of the busiest times of year, when everyone is on their Chinese New Year hols and ALL of the rooms are booked out, I'm not quite sure) Anyway, what was frustrating is that we came back from a busy day out to find 5 men standing on our balcony... and with no explanation, no note or comment from the management to say that some noisy work would be happening and apologies for the inconvenience etc, which was disappointing. So after getting up at 4am for the sunrise visit and wanting a quick snooze, that was soon out of the question when we heard the electric drill going for about half an hour and so we had to venture outside instead. When we came back, of course noone had cleaned up so we were left with a balcony and a bathtub full of dust and dirt - thanks very much.

AND THE UGLY:

- Continuing with the towel theme from earlier, there seems to be a reluctance to replace towels by the pool too. On the first day, we asked if there was an extra towel as there were 2 sunloungers left for us and only a towel on one. The guy looked a bit frustrated and asked ''can't you use that one?'' Ummm, yes, but there are 2 of us and if it isn't too much trouble, we'd both love one each?!?! Too much to ask...? And then the part that really creeps me out... I'm fairly certain that once someone has finished with a towel and it's dried, they roll it back up for the next person. Now, I'm not absolutely positive about this, but once when I unrolled a towel, it was still slightly damp down the middle where someone would have sat on it and I knew that there was someone on that sunlounger an hour or so earlier. The thought absolutely creeps me out but considering the lack of cleanliness at this place, it certainly wouldn't surprise me. If you stay here, take your own towel unless you like to sunbathe on a towel that someone else has recently sweated on.

- Housekeeping is unfortunately a disaster... we were pretty underwhelmed when we walked into our rooms anyway, as we didn't feel like it properly reflected the photos we saw on the website. The wallpaper is beautiful (hence why the website photos show that off!) however what they don't show is the cheap green curtains, strange green padded covering on the desk and green tiled floors - we definitely felt as though we were in a hospital at times! The worst part was the fact that it all felt very unclean. I have included photos of the floor with this review, which were taken ON OUR FIRST DAY and I have never done this before on a hotel review! I never actually saw the staff bring a mop to the room... and it shows. We tiptoed around everywhere or else wore sandals and it was horrible to feel so disgusted when we should have been relaxed on holiday! And they may wonder why a lot of people chose to have breakfast by the pool... would you sit on this balcony with dirt everywhere on weary looking chairs with a very dirty, dusty cushion!?!? Sad to think this hotel is so new (part of the reason why we picked it) and yet it already looks so unclean and tired.

I realise that this all sounds a bit intense but I don't think I've mentioned too many things that other reviewers haven't already picked up on (On Trip Advisor and other review sites, I've already seen people mention the cleanliness, luke warm coffee, pillows, noise from the neighbourhood etc) so I'm just sharing my opinion on things that the hotel could do to genuinely make it a 3 and a half star hotel, instead of feeling like a dirty 2 star hostel.

Siem Reap was, however, amazing - the temples, the people, the food... all of that was wonderful! But if we come back, I'd look to stay elsewhere...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nipon4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    38
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
25
94
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We booked 2 rooms for 2 adults and 2 children which we had confirmed via email well in advance of our arrival. Arriving late evening after a 6 hour bus ride from Phnom Penh we were informed there was only one room available. After inspection of the room this was not going to be suitable for 4 nights. This left one of two choices find an extra room or move hotels. Not wanting to move hotels late in the evening we took up the kind offer of a free nights accommodation and meals whilst searching for a new venue. Upon return to the hotel, after a tour the following day, another room had become free due to cancellation and as we had been looking forward to staying here we decided to stay ( due to previous reviews and a recommendation for our previous hotel) and very glad we did. The rooms are spacious clean and comfortable. The breakfast and small meals available from the kitchenette were basic but very nice. The pool area was clean comfortable and kept tidy and the pool very welcoming after a hard days touring. The staff, particulerly Merrani (not sure of the spelling) were friendly and helpful as was the one owner there at the time.

The room error seemed to be a miscommunication between the owners, our previous hotel and ourselves and I will not dwell on it, a small cock up that was not going to mar our holiday. Fix the problem and move on.

We had a fantastic time in Siem Reap and hope one day to return and when we do I know where we will stay

Hope you like the Kiwi
Thanks for everything
John, Ali, Matthew and Josh Winchester

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelbags4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We have both visited Siem Reap many years ago and were both very disappointed by how much the city has changed with the influx of mass tourism (Pub Street is a case in point, as is the one-hour queue to climb up the Angkor Wat). Pippeli Pensione was a paradise away from the chaos - relaxing by the pool after a fully-packed day with deliciously fresh Caprioskas during happy hour, and super comfortable, clean rooms to fully recharge our bodies for the next day! (the only downside was that despite the availability of 4 pillows in the room, they were all the same size and all of them too high - it would be add an extra touch if half of them could be of different height/texture ;)

The rainshower was great, as well as the organic shampoo, conditioner and body foam. As pointed out in the previous reviews, the quality of breakfast varied from day to day (the coffee was often luke-warm, and the orange juice was definitely not "freshly squeezed" as indicated on the menu). But overall they were delicious!

Unfortunately we didn't know that there was a free pick-up from the airport, but we were informed on the last day that the drop off to the airport is free, and it was great to make our last journey in Cambodia with a warm breeze on a tuk-tuk!

Last word about the staff at Pippeli Pensione- they are super friendly and kind, they even lent us their own bikes on our last day when all the bikes were rented out! We were very touched and will not forget this place. THANK YOU for the great stay!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hungrycat27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2013

This is a fantastic little gem just a 5min walk away from the tourist area (Pub Street and the Markets). The hotel sent a Tuk Tuk driver to pick us up from the Airport free of charge as well as sending us back at the end of our stay which was a great convenience.

Rooms were lovely and well kept - the rain showerhead was a welcome relief each day as travelling around the temples can be a dusty expedition! There was a pool to chill by which had towels provided on each daybed if you wanted to take a break from the sightseeing.

We did find that the meal portions during breakfast were a bit inconsistent which i think came down to whoever was cooking the breakfast each day. But it all tasted wonderful which set us off in a good mood for sight-seeing each day.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, thank you for your hospitality! Shall be staying with you guys again in the future!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crispian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The people were very friendly, breakfast/meals were good and the whole place have nice ambience. Definitely would go back there again. Loved the decor. Very convenient to everything -- restaurants (Pub Street) and all the markets. Premises were clean, which I enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

As first-time visitors to Siem Reap, we had no real idea what to expect in the way of accommodation. What we were after was something stylish but informal, a place with the personal touch. What we found was Pippeli Pensione, and I have to say our expectations were more than rewarded in every way. Our hosts, Elke and Wee, were just charming and so helpful in providing information, arranging tuk-tuk bookings, and ensuring that our stay was a delight. When they weren’t available (rarely), Marany at Reception took wonderful care of us. The food was terrific, a nice blend of Khmer and Western flavours, presented with real flair, and our room was clean, comfortable and well-designed. Really, we had no business being this lucky in our choice of hotel, and for travellers seeking that magic combination of comfort, dependability and style, you couldn’t do better than Pippeli Pensione. We’ll be back, Elke!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sean670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Although there were a few hiccups along the way during our stay, it still didn't deter the fact we really enjoyed staying here. The staff were friendly and when things weren't to plan they tried to rectify the situation. The hotel is located very closely to the pub street area which was great, as in the evenings it was nice to walk in, and not once did we not feel unsafe. We didn't meet the owners when we were there as they were away. But the staff were all lovely and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again if we had the opportunity to visit Siem reap again....which i would like to add is amazing...

Room Tip: We staying in a spa room, with the bath tub outside, which was gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dby_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#34 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.4 mi away
Reflections Art Boutique Hotel
Reflections Art Boutique Hotel
#122 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seda Villa
The Seda Villa
#163 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
King Rock Boutique Hotel
King Rock Boutique Hotel
#89 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
#123 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beyond Yangon Boutique Inn
Beyond Yangon Boutique Inn
#37 of 485 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kia Kaha Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kia Kaha Villa

Property: Kia Kaha Villa
Address: Group 07 Wat Damnak | Salakomreuk, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia (Formerly Pippeli Pensione)
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 485 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kia Kaha Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Kia Kaha Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing