We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for such a small room...”
Review of The Moon Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Moon Villa
Ranked #104 of 299 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We had the standard double bed room. The room was super small - barely room for our two small backpack-size bags. There was only room for one person to walk between the end of the bed and the table against the wall. No storage for clothes or anything. Bathroom was ok - large but a bit worn, but hot water with great pressure. The air-con worked ok but was quite noisy. The location was really good - within walking distance to Pub Street and the Old Market (this also made it pretty noisy at night, too). The staff were helpful, and the breakfast on their rooftop garden was nice - bread basket with croissants, scrambled eggs, bacon/ham, and juice and coffee/tea. We only stayed one night; I don't think we would have stayed any longer in a room that size! $30/night seemed a bit pricey for the size of our room, comparing it with other hotels we've stayed at in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellingwife09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2013

The hotel situated in a very convenient location, a short walk to pub street. Staff is friendly and not too attentive. They are willing to help with arrangement you may need. Room is clean, bedding is clean and no loud music near ur hotel at night. If u are not a tough negotiator, hotel also provide tuk tuk service, tour guide and taxi (traveling to Poipet) at a reasonable price. I would recco a day trip tuk tuk service 20$ and add sunset/sunrise 5$+5$ trip to Angkor wat.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warnza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

In February 2013 we booked a room in this hotel. However, when we arrived, the receptionist told us they didn't have any free rooms and they did not cooperate with hostelworld.com through which we made our booking (redirected from tripadvisor :-)). Half an hour before us, two French girls were greeted with the same information and after 1-2 hrs 6 Americans appeared with a similar reservation and didnt' get a room. So we were not alone. At first we thought it was a scam with a fake website but it appeared that they overbooked or just accepted other tourists paying more and pretended they are concerned and worried about us. The problem was that it was high season so there were no rooms in almost any hotel in town. Only after 2 hours did we manage to find a room somewhere else.
So, if you book this hotel, don't be surprised if they don't have a room for you.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank MarzenaJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boutique59, Manager at The Moon Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

We can say officially that The Moon Villa & Spa had not been sold its room accommodation via Hostelworld.com and we are extremely wondering why the Hostelworld.com sells our room accommodation. The property can be displayed unless there is mutual agreement signed between both sides.

We did send e-mail messages to Hostelworld.com sine we had found there were bookings through this company but there is no response so forth.

The Hostelworld.com may make our hotel available on the peak period and unavailable on the normal period.

We are not only running The Moon Villa & Spa but there are more properties and we are proud of our operation thank to our experience for years in the hotel, tourism and hospitality. Further more, we have equipped with hotel management system to control daily operation activities especially the reservation system to avoid overbooking.

Please be in mind that The Moon Villa & Spa implements his long term business honestly and respectfully in which mean that the rooms are surely reserved and allocated for the bookings materialized. For any incident may occur upon guest arrival, the hotel will frankly inform him and find out another solution to cater for him.

In addition, room rates are specifically divided for two different seasons each year: USD25.00 for Low Season and USD30.00 for High Season. The rates are parity for all sources of booking either via online or walk-in rate.

As the review said SCAM is not really accepted. He is an idiot and the nervous person otherwise he would absolutely judge who was right and who was wrong.

We would once again like to deny the review posted as the hotel did not incur the mistake and we urge TripAdvisor to remove the review.

The Moon Villa & Spa's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

The experience was only marred when I asked a male staff at the counter for a tuktuk. He got the driver in, who quoted me a ridiculous $12 for 2 hours. (Trip to Angkor Wat for whole day cost $12) The plump male staff kept quiet, and was most happy to let me get ripped off. The next day, when I asked for another tuktuk, he quietly told the driver in Khmer that I was charged $6 yesterday, and driver quoted the same. I suspect he gets a commission from the drivers.

I'd recommend Ponleu Chan restaurant, which is the last eatery opposite the hotel's entrance! Fried rice cost $1.50, and western food around $3.

Room Tip: My room which face the street was noisy in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boutique59, Manager at The Moon Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thanks for offering us a chance to serve you at The Moon Villa & Spa while visiting Siem Reap and taking your valued time to post the review.

We are responding your review as we have found that you have mentioned regarding the over charge of your Tuk-Tuk fee. We did work out with our staffs for days sine the review gotten live in order to avoid such case.

Not end at this, we brought the constructive feedback on board to discuss.

Once again, appreciate for your kind feedback to improve.

Wish you the best and hopefully to welcome you back to Siem Reap

The Moon Villa & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I liked this place nice staff good location and nice massage. Was billed on last minute as being in phnom pehn and having a pool - neither is correct it is in Siem Reap and does not have a pool. Nice staff

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpowell88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

The staff is very helpful and attentive The restaurant has a good menu and is very reasonably priced. Outside the main door is a variety of food stalls with very tasty and cheap food. Located within walking distance to Pub Street, the night markets, and shopping - very safe to walk around at night. Take advanage of the Spa, great rates and so worth it!
I had asked for a room with an outside window, which over looked the side street with the food stalls. Some found it noisy, but I found it quieted down fairly early in the evening. I always ordered my tuk tuk through the hotel, avoiding the ones parked on the street that may try to take advantage.
All in all, great place to stay while in Siem Reap and touring Angkor Wat,etc.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlust1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Staff was very friendly and attentive. One of us would like to use the free pick up service from a pier and a friendly staff member (who could speak a little Thai) kept checking on his status to make sure everything was ok when the boat arrived late. The waiters at the rooftop terrace were also very good and attentive.

Breakfast was good. A basket of breads, eggs cooked in the style of your choice and fruitto finish with.

Room was basic but quite clean. The only thing I don't like about the room is that they use the same style of tiles inside and outside the room, and the tiles were paved at the same level.
Television had lots of channels even Animal Planet.

Location near Old market / Night market / Pub Street is very convenient.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveCip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.2 mi away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#55 of 361 in Siem Reap
575 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moon Residence & Spa
The Moon Residence & Spa
#48 of 361 in Siem Reap
222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Reaksmey Chanreas Hotel
Reaksmey Chanreas Hotel
#183 of 361 in Siem Reap
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#127 of 361 in Siem Reap
557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Prestige D'Angkor
Central Prestige D'Angkor
#54 of 507 in Siem Reap
222 reviews
0.0 mi away
OneStop Hostel Siem Reap
OneStop Hostel Siem Reap
#13 of 299 in Siem Reap
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moon Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moon Villa

Address: Sivatha Road, Phum Steung Thmei | Svay Dangkhum, Siem Reap 93226, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 299 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range: £12 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Moon Villa 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spending time in Siem Reap, Angkor Cambodia is part and parcel of a pleasantly holiday. Angkor Temples known as Angkor City has its histories so extensive and rich, and it is really worth discovering. The trip to Siem Reap and other places within Cambodia would not be complete without learning about the past of Cambodia.As The Moon Villa & Spa located is not only in the heritage land of Angkor but also in the right city center of Siem Reap. The Moon Villa & Spa is easy accessible from airport, bus station, tourist attractions and major shopping center. The Moon Villa & Spa offers great choices of accommodations and wants to be your home away from home. When traveling for business or pleasure, we offer the ultimate in convenience, comfort and value.The friendly team of The Moon Villa & Spa offers a full range of concierge services, complimentary airport pick-up, free use of laptop with WIFI connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Moon Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing