We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for day trips and night life”
Review of The Moon Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Moon Villa
Ranked #140 of 325 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I chose this hotel because it was close to "Pub Street". I had read that it is best to stay in public areas at night; and as I witnessed, it is quite dark when you leave these areas. This hotel is just a block from the "action" of Pub Street - important as I found little for a tourist at night in Siem Reap. Drinking and music ALWAYS fills this void. Dance clubs, indigenous dance shows, pubs and outdoor restaurants readily available on Pub Street.

Very good availability for tours to the ruins as well as a few hours (no more needed) for a tour of the floating village on Tonle Sap Lake. Both areas are within 30 minutes of the hotel; I recommend both.

The hotel was very unexpectedly clean, well maintained with EXCELLENT staff. Breakfast terrace on the roof was a remarkable plus. Cost of course very low for the excellent service provided. Room very clean with air conditioning (appreciated!) and breakfast excellent with a nice selection of fresh fruit.

Room Tip: I had an excellent 2nd floor room on the corner overlooking the main and side street. I like to thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dean r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

The location of the hotel is very strategic and easy to locate, just opposite of Pub street, walking distance to Old Market and also near to night markets! Yet it was quiet during night so you can have a good quality of sleep after tiring tour to Angkor! There are food stalls, restaurant and 24hrs convenient shop around. Our room was big, with 3 single beds and my brother can even do his breakdance move in the room, but the room without window (attic room). All staffs are very friendly and willing to assist us.

One thing that I think can be improve is the communication (emails). I did emailed to the hotel 2 days ago before my arrival to confirm my booking (booking through Agoda) and request for airport pickup which offered by hotel (stated in Agoda website). However, I did not receive any email reply (checked my email just before boarding on flight) so I order a taxi service from airport on my own expense. During check in the staff told me that they did sent staff to airport for my pickup. On the last day, I have to pay for the tuk-tuk (5USD) to airport, as they offered "FREE ONE WAY PICKUP", and that my first day pickup (which I didn't take the taxi/tuk-tuk which arranged by the hotel) was considered as the free service. It would be just nice to reply your customer a simple email (after my email sent to the hotel, it auto-replied that hotel will reply within 24hours which I didn't receive any).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Right smack in the middle of action but isolated enough from the noise and ruckus. And my god, THAT BREAKFAST! So simple, a piece of sausage, a piece of ham, but their breads simple but are so soft and warm that it really makes my morning. A real bang for the buck.

Only thing I didn't like was the water supply. It badly needs filtering as it smells strongly of metal. You reek of metal the whole day and it stinks up the room. The triple room we stayed it could also use some declogging, and if they can spare a little budget, install a window or two. Good thing none of us were claustrophobic.

The assistance was superb. They arranged all the tuk tuks and tours for us. And then, we checked out at noon but our flight wouldn't be for another 9 hours, and they let us use the 1st floor room for free for that whole afternoon! thank you so much!

Room Tip: Don't get the rooms on the third floor. No view, or worse, no windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suman_monster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The location was great. It was just a few steps away from the night market, old market, and Pub street. The staff was very accommodating and generous. The bathroom just needs some updating. Other than that, I really enjoyed my stay. :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

The service was very good but not excellent because the staff did not speak good English but they allowed us to make local calls to restaurants and hotels for free. They were always happy and pleasant. Also at night were is a security guard, which makes you feel extra safe.

Nicely decorated room. Had a luxury feel to it. Rooftop restaurant where I had a lovely breakfast for only 4 dollars! I have put up a photo of this.

2 minutes walk to Pub Street (lively place with clubs, bars and restaurants). There is a laundry place around the corner, great competitive prices. We paid 1.5 dollars per kg for washing and drying.

Tuc-tuc is the best way to travel around. WiFi works well but no computers at the hotel. Plenty of internet cafes, laundry places and spas nearby.

Worth the money and was 20 dollars a night for 2 people! I would definitely advise anyone staying in Siem Reap to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARG18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Phanna and his staff were very nice indeed and catered to all our requests with kindness and consideration. The room was neat and clean the breakfast very nice in the restaurant on the roof. Only detractions is the restaurant hawkers across from the hotel who keep at it till the wee hours. A luggage rack would be very nice Phanna. Otherwise a delightful experience and near the restaurants and pubs.

Room Tip: ask for one with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wongFong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

I booked online and had no trouble. I contacted the hotel and the arranged a tuk tuk to pick me up at the bus station, so that was one less worry for me. I arrived at the hotel was checked in with no fuss and the room was large and clean (it smells delicious after its cleaned each morning!!) the bed was super comfortable and the aircon was very affective.
The staff are all lovely, but Kosal at reception is delightful, always ready to chat and always willing to help in any way - he organised bus tickets, tours and laundry and always asked how my day/lunch/dinner was.
Just a quick walk from pub street and the markets made it a great base to come and go from. Also if you need a visa just duck next door, the guys there are very helpful!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.2 mi away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#63 of 376 in Siem Reap
586 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bunwin Residence
Bunwin Residence
#116 of 376 in Siem Reap
232 reviews
2.3 mi away
Asarita Angkor Resort & Spa
Asarita Angkor Resort & Spa
#300 of 376 in Siem Reap
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#57 of 376 in Siem Reap
924 reviews
0 mi away
Tan Kang Angkor Hotel
Tan Kang Angkor Hotel
#270 of 376 in Siem Reap
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Unique Angkor Villa
The Unique Angkor Villa
#78 of 325 in Siem Reap
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moon Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moon Villa

Address: Sivatha Road, Phum Steung Thmei | Svay Dangkhum, Siem Reap 93226, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 325 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range: £15 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Moon Villa 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spending time in Siem Reap, Angkor Cambodia is part and parcel of a pleasantly holiday. Angkor Temples known as Angkor City has its histories so extensive and rich, and it is really worth discovering. The trip to Siem Reap and other places within Cambodia would not be complete without learning about the past of Cambodia.As The Moon Villa & Spa located is not only in the heritage land of Angkor but also in the right city center of Siem Reap. The Moon Villa & Spa is easy accessible from airport, bus station, tourist attractions and major shopping center. The Moon Villa & Spa offers great choices of accommodations and wants to be your home away from home. When traveling for business or pleasure, we offer the ultimate in convenience, comfort and value.The friendly team of The Moon Villa & Spa offers a full range of concierge services, complimentary airport pick-up, free use of laptop with WIFI connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Moon Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing