We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcome to your family away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sidewalk Never Die Hotel Siem Reap
Ranked #130 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
bangkok
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Welcome to your family away from home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

This is a great place,family run i belive and very friendly,a discount at the front desk is no hassle.Rooms are clean and wifi great.Breakfast is french baguette with egg any kind,with unlimited tea or coffe all day.if u dont have pc,there are some computers free to use in "lobby" or living room as this is where most people hang out.Most guest very nice and relaxed and easy to meet friends there.Outside after working hours,many of the male staff/family members? gather outside,barbecueing drinking beer,and inviting everbody passing by to enjoy a free beer or 10,so buying a case of beer in return(12$) want harm,unless ur under a super strickt backpacker budget.All kind off food is on the grill,so if you are a dog lover,you might eat mans best friend without knowing it.The motos hanging around are very friendly as they are friends with management/staff,The price will be right,and you will get more then you paid for.Me and friends bought a cobra with help from our moto,and we all shared it over the grill,after heart and something else was removed for extra stamina...yukkk.but a fun experience.I see someone complain about removing shoes/slippers at entrance,imagine how the place would look if everbody comming from different adventures with red muddy shoes/slippers just walked straight in to the looby and rooms.It wouldnt be ranked here then.Stayed here 2 times for weeks both times,and returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eric m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    66
    32
    8
    6
See reviews for
26
99
88
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

This hotel is excellent if your expectations are realistic based on the reviews here. Sidewalk is a cheap place to lay your head, the room rates get you what you might expect, but the atmosphere makes the place exceptional. The staff are great fun, very friendly and duly accommodating. We also found the patrons to be good people. They seem to cater mostly to youngish backpackers, but my father (68yo) and myself (21yo) both enjoyed it. Bottom line, you will be let down if you are expecting a 5* joint with Holiday Inn standards of cleanliness, but for friendly, down to earth people who like what I have described, Sidewalk is a great place.

2 asides - First, no "joiners fee". Second, the bar across the street is a great place to chill out. Super friendly staff. Don't hesitate to introduce yourself to the young Cambodian guy behind the bar/running the joint.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spenser R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I really loved the friendly and helpful staff of Sidewalk. I got sort of sick after visiting the temples so they checked on me from time to time, showing genuine concern and kindness. One great thing about them is that they also host small parties for the guests.

Breakfast was basic but delicious. There's a pool. Rooms are spacious.
It's in a strategic location as well - close to Pub St. (but not too close so you don't feel the chaos).

Aside from the hotel staff, I would also like to commend the tuktuk driver who picked me up from the airport when I arrived. He was punctual, kind and informative.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jujuenriquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stayed at the Guesthouse for 6 nights. Won't stay here again.
Good points: Pool was nice and clean and it was good to be able to rejuvenate after a long hot day of temple hopping. The location was excellent - just far enough away from the main area so it wasn't noisy, but close enough that you didn't need to take a tuk tuk into Pub Street/Market Area.
The room itself was a good size with A/C, good fast Ceiling fan, a mini fridge and table and chairs, and good sized bathroom and decent shower. It was also no problem for us to stay the extra 6th night. But that is where it stops.

Bad Points: We booked a double but when we arrived were given a twin room and were told that there were no doubles. After a long journey on the bus we were too tired make a point of it. We were not offered any option of changing to a double at any time during our stay.
The rooms were made up each day but they did not clean the bathroom or toilet at ALL during our stay. They replaced our towels each day but 5 out of the 6 days we were there we could not use the towels because they had an overpowering stale washing smell like they had been left in the machine all day. One day we had put the 'Do Not Disturb' tag on our door but when we went out they came in made up the beds. There were ants in the bathroom constantly around the sink and no matter what we tried we couldn't dispell them. One day we came home to a mountain of ants in the room. Whilst we are aware Ants are a constant in Cambodia it was still off putting since it is the only hotel we have stayed where they have been in the rooms in such numbers. Breakfasts were very plain and simple but ok - however, we were told that breakfast was from 6am but on the days where we tried to go for breakfast at 6am we were told that it was not possible as the baguettes hadn't arrived and were not even offered an alternative.

The front of house staff were unenthusiastic and disinterested at best - especially if you were not into drinking beers on the front porch.
It's clear this Guesthouse is trying to position themselves as a midrange or upper level Guesthouse but it was also very clear to us they are cutting as many corners as they can. They were fully prepared to charge us at their standard rate of $25 a night even though when we made our booking they had a 'special' on of 20% off and it wasn't until we made special mention of this that we were given the reduced rate.
Overall there is nothing majorly wrong with this guesthouse but they are cutting too many corners which makes this a less than ideal experience. It is definitely overpriced - even at the reduced rate. We had friends staying at the Tom & Jerry Guesthouse around the corner at the same time and it seemed to be slightly better - especially in the front house service area and was significantly cheaper than Sidewalk.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wikwall7769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

What a great place to stay reasonable rates, Good clean rooms well serviced, swimming pool plus breakfast. We stayed 8 nights and made great new friends loved all the staff. A well run hotel that always pleased the guests. I will be going back next year as Cambodia is the country to go and explore its people, food and culture. cheers Ted

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor which was quite and very large in size for a twin share room.Great rat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kufstein, Austria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We happened to stay here, because we were not happy in another hotel. We checked in (without reservation) and the friendly staff directly provided us a room.
We only stayed here for 1 night because we went to visit the Angkor Wat temples. When we woke up at 04:30 ready to go, to Ankor Wat, the owner sat with us outside waiting for the tuk-tuk to arrive. This type of friendlyness I have not encountered before while staying in a hotel/hostel in Cambodia. He was very friendly, chat with us for about 30minuts (tuk-tuk ran late) and offered us also two umbrella’s since it was raining so hard.

In regards to the room, it was nice, two beds, telivsion, spacy bathroom. It was quite nice to the hostels we were used to, however it was also a little bit more expensive (25§).
Overall, recommendable

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heinrichos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

We found this hotel had a relaxed, casual atmosphere. A clean and comfortable place to stay if you are on a budget. The pool is a real bonus after a long day of sightseeing. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. For the price you cant beat it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingarni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#80 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.2 mi away
Okay 1 Villa
Okay 1 Villa
#141 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Um Theara
Villa Um Theara
#160 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Angkor Pearl Hotel
#87 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parklane Hotel
Parklane Hotel
#121 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tanei Boutique Villa
Tanei Boutique Villa
#132 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sidewalk Never Die Hotel Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidewalk Never Die Hotel Siem Reap

Property: Sidewalk Never Die Hotel Siem Reap
Address: Taphul Street, Taphul Village | Svaydonkom, Siem Reap 93002, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sidewalk Never Die Hotel Siem Reap 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Side Walk Never Die is enchanting, peaceful, elegant and luxurious. Hotel experience is about stylish relaxation, modern comfort, and the enjoyment a range of activities beyond the discovery of the incredible Temples of Angkor. The Side Walk Never Die has 35 rooms, all fully furnished with modern conveniences to make sure your stay with us is enjoyable and as easy as possible. The entire building is decorated in a colorful and modern way with a splash of Khmer artistry and style thrown in to make an eye-pleasing environment, add to the fact the place is kept immaculately clean at all times. The owners are also security conscious and have sought to make a safe and secure lodging for your peace of mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sidewalk Never Die Hotel Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing