We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Siem Reap!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sun Sothy Guesthouse
Ranked #115 of 486 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
1 review
“Best in Siem Reap!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

Ive stayed in quite a few places in Siem Reap, but Sun Sothy Guesthouse is by far the best. Away from the hustle and bustle of the city, it is close to local villages and the "real" Cambodia. The rooms are clean, comfortable (AC, hot water, TV, fridge, large beds) and affordable. What sets this guesthouse apart from others is the welcoming feeling expressed by its lovely owners. Sun (owner) cooks some of the best Cambodian food Ive tasted (and great pizza!) and for the European traveller, her husband speaks many languages (French, German, Dutch, English, Khmer). They are also more than happy to help you find your way around Siem Reap and will put you in touch with a trustworthy tuk-tuk driver.

The owner couple also run a non-profit organization from there guesthouse, so you are likely to meet one of the hundreds of children they help, as they are like family!

All in all, this is a great place, very relaxing, friendly staff, and a great opportunity to see what Cambodia is really like!

Room Tip: All rooms seem great, there are 5 double rooms and 2 twin rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    17
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
17
54
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

We stayed in sun sothy guesthouse for some days and we enjoyed it a lot.
Roger and Top are very nice and friendly people. The guesthouse has a very nice garden with a swimming pool and nice little places you can chill enjoying your book or checking your emails with the free wifi etc. the rooms are nice with aircon, cable tv and fridge. The location is out from the city center so is great if you want to have some quiet days after visiting the temples or have some bicycle rides but not so good if you want to be in the restaurants and bars every day, even though Roger is more than happy to give you a lift in the city when he goes or take one of the free bicycles they provide. Also Top is a great cook, from the homemade pizza and traditional khmer food to the fantastic pork fillet!!! Roger and Top apart from running the guesthouse they give so much effort to help the local children providing them with goods (food, bicycles, money, education) and getting sponsorships from all over the world which is truly remarkable!!

Nikos

Room Tip: All rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank n s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaisalmer, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

This guest house is run by Roger, his wife Sothy with a little help from some delightful kids. The pool, whilst small is always clean, the rooms are cleaned daily with fresh towels and sheets available should you need them. The restaurant offers a variety of cuisine including pizza 'like mama used to make'. The house special should be Rogers Tofu Schnitzel, a welcome break from rice with soy sauce for us veggies. Nothing is too much trouble even bus transfers.
We ended up staying for a week after discovering this tiny oasis in what can be a chaotic and busy town. Ah..the free bike loan is a real bonus, we cycled to and around the area including Angkor Wat.

Room Tip: The rooms can be a little hot at night but the owner plans to install air conditioning. All rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markhollowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

A very friendly and quiet guesthouse. brand new rooms with bathroom and very nice patio outside. Located just outside the siem reap town you will taste some quiet and peacefull time next to the swimming pool after a long walking day at the temples. The food is as delicious as the kindness of the hosts. Very involved in the local khmer living they will guide you through a very authentic and respectful meeting of cambodian people. For about 15$/ night with breakfast cannot have better, close your eyes and enjoy your stay on the Angkor temples territory.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThibaultAkame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

this guesthouse is perfect when you want to stay in quiet location. its only 5 to 10 minutes from the town. here you can relax after a long day by the temples. the rooms are very clean and big. also the restaurant serves very delicious western and local food. when you stay in Sun Sothy Guesthouse you feel like you are a part of the family.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momsandwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duesseldorf
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

What shall I say!?? This is a very nice place... and MY place to stay, whenever I am in Siem Reap! I recommend this guesthouse to anyone, who is NOT addicted to nightlife and who enjoys to get the feeling of living in a village. It's only a 5 to 10 minutes ride to the center, but far away from the huzzle and buzzle of the town though.

Enjoy the hospitality of this lovely family... and get addicted to Sothy's kitchen! She is a great cook and I love everything, she is composing for me! :-) And those, who like to have western food, they get the best pizza and pasta in town. Well, also Sothy's homemade fries are adorable.

Expect a Cambodian/Belgian couple with the biggest hearts in the world... who also are very active in helping the people in their community.

Within the last 1 year and 2 months I stayed 3 months in this guesthouse, and I am looking forward to my next visit!

Big, big hug... and see you soon Roger and Sothy!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Himmelswesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phnom penh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

If you don't like to be in the middle of busy/noisy/dusty Siem Reap, this is the place... 3 km outside town and run by a western/khmer couple, this charming little guest-house has also a swimming pool and a restaurant serving Italian food. They have bicycles to go to Siem Reap. Simple but comfortable, I liked it, nothing wrong even AC in my room!

Room Tip: All rooms are about the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitedragon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Van Song  Villa
Van Song Villa
#121 of 486 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Siem Reap Rooms Guesthouse
Siem Reap Rooms Guesthouse
#11 of 486 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bun Kao Guesthouse
Bun Kao Guesthouse
#152 of 486 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Happy Guest House
Happy Guest House
#25 of 486 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.0 mi away
Babel Guesthouse
Babel Guesthouse
#9 of 486 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sun Boutique Resort
Sun Boutique Resort
#60 of 486 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Sothy Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Sothy Guesthouse

Property: Sun Sothy Guesthouse
Address: Kontrohk community, Siem Reap 767946, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 486 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun Sothy Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small and friendly family run guesthouse located 3 kilometers from the center of Siem Reap. Experience the village life of Kontrohk community and enjoy the relaxation after a busy day full of exciting unforgettable impressions in and around Siem Reap. Let us be your home away from home! Comfortable rooms with all necessary facilities like minibar, cable tv, fan, free wireless lan, private bathroom and your own seating accommodation with view to the garden are awaiting you. Enjoy the refreshing swimming pool, a good breakfast, have a seat in our pavilion or just go for a walk and experience the friendliness of people in this village. Our own restaurant is offering Khmer Food as well as western dishes. And if you like to try some local specialties: Just ask us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Sun Sothy Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing