We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, but Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Ranked #109 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
184 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Average hotel, but Great staff”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

The only things I have personally appreciated in this hotel, is the location and the staff. Great staff, from the staff at the reception to waiters in the outdoor restaurant. I have really appreciated each and every one of them.

From the hotel point of view, well, I would say that it's an old hotel that was refurbished to the best that they possibly could. It's certainly not breathtaking, nor fantastic, but good enough. On the other hand, it does not justify the price. But hey, it's Siem Reap, the real estate is going crazy over there, but the service and the culture is not following.

I personally appreciated the original wooden floor in the rooms and the old tiles in the corridor. I would not say it's great value for money, but it will be quite challenging to find a better deal in the city. You will certainly find cheaper, much cheaper if you like, but this will take a hit on your the comfort and quality.

Would I stay again if I ever go back again? hummm ... Maybe.
Well, the staff, will certainly compensate for all the small things that you might not like.

Hope this help.

Dr. MAK.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Dr_MAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    143
    29
    13
    3
See reviews for
46
206
71
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Catalonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Quality/price wise, this is probably the best hotel I've ever been to. Only this sentence should be enough to explain my feelings towards the hotel and the team that run it.

But I'll tell you something more: the hotel is basically new, rooms are clean and modern, with AC, flat TV screen, comfortable, large beds, shower that works... A boutique 4-star superior (at least) if you evaluate it comparing to western standards.

The structure is a 4-star superior, but the staff... 7-star? So welcoming, so kind, so gentle... no western standard applies. Just wonderful. The team leaded by Mr. Chen Sopharith makes a true difference.

Moreover, the hotel 2-min away from downtown, yet, on a quite calm street. The swimming pool, the cocktails... perfect mix between the excursions, activities and finding such even upon return to the hotel.

ABSOLUTELY RECOMMEND.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josep M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

I checked-in in the evening. At first, they gave me a room that was on the main floor (where the lobby is) and only about 40ft from the reception desk. There was a lot of noise coming from the lobby/reception area (phone ringing, loud talking, etc.). Then the A/C was very timid and the controls for it were not working very well. The manager in charge at night was really clueless and not helpful. But the day staff was much better, they put me in a different room for the remaining of the stay, and they made sure the A/C was working to my satisfaction. They apologized several times for my initial issues and they did everything they could to address all the issues and make me happy. It was amost overwhelming though, I could not move around the hotel without the staff swarming me and wanting to address any of my needs.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingFrogNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Best hotel in the heart of town for such a good price.
Absolutely quiet, super clean beautiful rooms with all good quality amenities.
Special attention with your name written with flowers on your bed when you arrive gives a good "welcome""
Staff very well train and gentle, going out of their way to help and try to communicate with you and make you comfortable.
Swimming pool is a delightful plus to relax after a long and tiring day .
Break fast with excellent expresso coffee and croissant gives a good star to the hard day ahead!!
Excellent value for money as they are just starting!
We stayed one evening around the pool and had also very good food freshly cooked!
Come and enjoy before the prices go up!! It worth it any day!

Room Tip: take the room with ode numbers...their sit out are a little bigger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank benjiob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We would like to thank Mr Pheap and Ms Vichda for their ever-ready services accompanied by smiles and courtesy. They make our stay there very relaxing and enjoyable. We didn't regret spending our last two nights at the hotel, although we had no complaints over our previous one.

It was also the location and hotel ambiance and surrounding that attracted us to your hotel: the garden, rooms and lobby are all very tastefully done up. The well and prettily decorated beds with fresh flowers to welcome us is a very pleasant and sweet surprise. The friendly staff and good facilities give us that "feel good" feeling that makes your restaurant successful. Well done!

Its restaurant/dining section is equally good. It attempts to provide that fine dining quality in taste and presentation. It is a pity that it doesn't attract diners from outside. The waiters and waitresses are friendly and helpful. Mr Vandy took time to explain to us how the dishes were prepared. This is a plus for culinary enthusiasts like us.

Congratulation to the management.

Guests from Penang, Malaysia
Charles Chia and Nathalie Fougere. (Room A1 - Oct 19 and 20, 2012)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

This is probably not the most beautiful hotel, and without the best amenities compared to a 5 star hotel ...

Very quiet room, and comfortable ... except during the day, when the kids are playing at the pool, but it didn't bother us because we weren't even trying to sleep ... :)

But the staffs made the difference ... the services provided is even better than a 5 or 6 stars hotel ... seriously ... I've stayed at very beautiful hotels, but his hotel's staffs hands down beat the crap out of other hotels' staffs, including Four Seasons, Sheraton, Hilton, Hyatt, Peninsular, etc. Everyone in the hotel speak fluent English ...

Vandy, the bartender, very skillful in making his cocktails, and was very attentative to customer's request, and worked his extra mile to satisfy us ... to make sure we were well taken care of when we were at the swimming pool ... and boy, we were at the swimming pool every day/night, because the weather was so hot and humid, we just had to cool ourselves down by dipping in the small but served its purpose pool.

Savna, the hotel receptionist, what can I say? He took our booking for the hotel, he personally made sure the room was made to our likings, he designed two rooms (my room and my buddy's room) in a way that both our girlfriends were surprised, made it look like a honeymoon suite, except the room was smaller. We got a free upgrade to a room with balcony, facing the swimming pool, on the 1st floor (above ground floor)., it was room B15 and B16. Oh yeah, when we arrived, Savna personally picked all four(4) of us up from the hotel in two(2) separate Tuk-Tuk's, and brought us to the hotel. He filled up all the forms for us, only asked us to sign. Oh yeah, before I forget, we were treated to welcome drinks, and cold towel, in the midst of a super-hot-day ...

The other lady, working at front desk, I can't remember her name exactly, was very helpful, gave us all kinds of recommendations as in where to eat, and where to go, directions, etc. The manager was friendly, even walked with us for about 500m to show us around.

Free breakfasts, free wifi (fast internet, was surprised, speedtest showed 4mbps, not bad)

Recommendation:
Must eat at:
Haven Restaurant, directly opposite the hotel, good food, reasonable price.
The Touich, a bit far, and the road is adventurous, very bumpy ... felt like the tuk-tuk was going to roll-over ... but worth the ride ... try the steak, and fish (with lots of salt all over it?)
Viva, Mexican bar/restaurant, food was very good, delicious, and price was very reasonable too
One of the shops when you walk out of the hotel, turn left, instead of right (bar street/night and old market), you get breakfasts for USD$1.50 with bagel, omelettes, etc.
Beer is available everywhere for USD$0.50 per glass

LOCATION: Could not get better than this, 2 minutes away from Old Market, Night Market, Bar Street

LAUNDRY SERVICE: Walk out of the hotel, turn left, less than 1 minute away, laundry service available for USD$1 / KG of clothes ... so you can pack light, travel light, as that's what we did ... and of course you can haggle around and buy cheap clothes from night market/old market ... We paid USD$8 for 5 T-shirts from the night market ... wasn't the most beautiful T-shirts, but very comfortable and did it's purpose ... :)

MASSAGE: Right beside the hotel, available for USD$5 per hour ... recommend two hours, only USD$10, tip them USD$2-3, and they're happy ... Also you can visit LEMONGRASS SPA, about 3 minutes walk, turn right after leaving hotel, then turn left on the mainstreet, about 100m, LEMONGRASS is on your left ... USD$10 per hour, nicer and better environment ... Of course you can book masseuse to your own room from the massage parlor beside the hotel, for USD$8 per hour ... always tip these masseuse, they make very little money ... about $40-60 per month salary ... tip really help them ... :)

If I ever visit Siem Reap again, I will definitely stay at this hotel ...

Stayed from 12th till 17th October 2012, booked two rooms, paid USD$35 per night.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank yskwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Apsara Centrepole in one of the balcony rooms earlier this month. The room was beautiful, really large and very luxurious for the price and the room and bathroom were very clean. We were really pleasantly surprised when we arrived as we had gotten a very good price for the room.

The staff were absolutely lovely and the service was great. Breakfast (which was included in the price for our room) was good and offered Western and Khmer food.

It's in a great location for exploring Siem Reap. There is always a tuk-tuk outside to take you to the temples and attractions of Siem Reap, and it's an easy walk to most of downtown Siem Reap.

The nearby 'Alley West' has some great restaurants, bars and shops, and I'd recommend visiting this alley rather than the noisy and popular Bar Street.

The only issue we had was that we sent some laundry to be cleaned while we were staying here, and some of it came back ruined. The dark clothes looked like they had been streaked by bleach.

Also, if you need a taxi for the airport, I'd recommend booking one in advance. We ended up taking a tuk-tuk as they didn't seem to be able to get hold of a taxi when we were leaving.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms upstairs are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#70 of 342 in Siem Reap
406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayon Boutique
Bayon Boutique
#95 of 342 in Siem Reap
395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cheathata Suites Hotel
Cheathata Suites Hotel
#53 of 342 in Siem Reap
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Reaksmey Chanreas Hotel
Reaksmey Chanreas Hotel
#181 of 342 in Siem Reap
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Steung Siemreap Hotel
Steung Siemreap Hotel
#101 of 342 in Siem Reap
895 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apsara Residence Hotel
Apsara Residence Hotel
#84 of 342 in Siem Reap
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsara Centrepole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsara Centrepole Hotel

Property: Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Address: 522 Svay Dungkum | Old Sok San Street, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apsara Centrepole Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 19-room 3.5 star colonial-style boutique hotel is located in the exciting central old market area of Siem Reap City, just 2 minutes walk away from Pub Street and the night markets. The hotel is about 7 km from Siem Reap Airport, 15 minutes drive to Angkor Wat and 20 minutes drive to the floating village at Tonle Sap. All rooms and suites feature en-suite bathrooms, air-conditioning and many other modern conveniences to make guests feel at home. The hotel offers 24 hour front desk, restaurant and lounge bar, swimming pool, free Internet access, tours desk, free pick-up for direct bookings, ticketing services, daily housekeeping, massage and laundry services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apsara Centrepole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing