We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury hotel in Cambodia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort
Ranked #27 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Hanoi
2
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We had a wonderful time! The hotel is very clean and quiet. The pool is also very cleanand huge. Great location for family and a break away from civilization....

You better try Apsala show too.

Sofitel service is always good.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,301)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,438 - 2,444 of 3,301 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2012

This was the best hotel we stayed in on our trip around Vietnam and Cambodia. Our room was spacious, well-equipped, very clean and comfortable. A great place to relax and unwind after a hectic tour schedule.

Our room had a balcony with table and chairs. This over-looked the gardens which contained coconut trees amongst other things. We had twin beds which were larger than we're used to in Europe. The bathroom was excellent with a full-size bath tub at one end and a large, walk-in shower at the other. The toiletries provided were lemon verbena which smelled gorgeous. They were a bit mean with the towels though: only one hand-towel and one bath-towel per person. There were more TV channels than I could possibly remember. The aircon was very efficient.

The grounds of the hotel include a pond with water lilies and a lovely pool around which are arranged sun loungers, chairs, tables and parasols. There is a swim-up bar. The spa (where we had an excellent foot massage) is nearby.

The hotel laundry service was cheap and efficient. For a surcharge of 50% you can get everything washed, dried and returned (in beautiful packaging) in two hours which came in handy when one of our group fell in the moat at Angkor Wat the day we were leaving.

The hotel has several restaurants including a buffet service restaurant out in the open air. This is where they have evening entertainments - local dancers etc. I found this too hot and humid.

You can get to Angkor Wat and back in a tuk-tuk from the hotel for around USD 7. If you go at sunrise be sure to take a flashlight.

A tuk-tuk into the centre of Siem Reap cost USD 2. There are many restaurants and bars in the town itself. We particularly liked the Red Piano.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlackAmber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

I would like to thank you for staying with us. It has been a pleasure having you here at the Sofitel and we were delighted to read your comments about the facilities, laundry service and amenities. Furthermore, we appreciate that you pointed out the fact that you would have liked more towels. Such hints enable us to consistently re-evaluate our product and services. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Fabrice Ducry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

stayed for two nights.The first room we received was not up to our expectation and without any delay we did receive an other room which was very quiet,pleasent an comfortable. On our request we received,free of charge, late check out .We had a very good snack and also dinner at the bar.Location very good to explore the sites of Angokor.5 stars !!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to share your experiences on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments about the room change and are delighted to know that your stay was memorable. We will be posting your comment on our employee information board. Your message of appreciation will motivate them even more! Thank you. Fabrice Ducry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel in Jan 2012. Manager came to greet us upon entering the hotel. The room was very clean, especially the bathroom. The hotel staffs came to check the room almost every time we left the room. I took a bath before I went to swim for around 2 hours. When I got back,
everything in the bathroom was in a good and clean condition. The swimming pool was large and clean. Definitely will come back !!

Room Tip: Try the French restaurant in the hotel, nice and not expensive.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler171819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed at the Sofitel for 7 nights. The staff were helpful, and polite. We were given a welcome drink and cold towels upon arrival which was nice after the heat, while they checked us in. The check in process was slow, it was really a case of only 1 thing at a time, but after we stayed for a few days and went around town, we realised this was the norm, everyone runs on Cambodian Time.
We stayed in a Junior Suite room 511 which was a fabulous room, very spacious with walk in robe, bath tub, and a lounge room with 2nd TV, and a dressing table in the wardrobe area. Everything was very clean and immaculate. The welcome fruit basket was yummy. Although slow the staff are very thorough. Every night we received a gift with the turn down such as a Khmer scarf, spices etc.. which was a nice touch. The only thing I did not like was the room above us I think it must be room 611, had someone staying there who really walked like an elephant, very heavy stomping, which was annoying at times but nothing serious.

The pool was fantastic, go mid morning as it is the quietest then, afternoons can get busy. The pond and gardens were beautiful to walk around in after the heat from templing and town.
The buffet breakfast was very good. It was a nice selection and very good quality, but not too much variety like in Thailand or Fiji or Australia. BUT then we went to the Le Meridien next door to check out their breakfast and it was really bad. The food was messy as they had a very small area with hordes of people jostling and diving in, guys it's a holiday not an eat fest! And the rice and noodles were hard and chewey like rubber, the only good things there were the yoghurt and juices only. The buffet dinner had great food, and the Apsara dance show was pretty good.

My sister stayed in a standard room overlooking the pool and she was very happy. We enjoyed walking around the grounds and it was a welcome respite from templing and crowds, to have some space and quiet to yourself. The cocktails and coconuts by the pool were great, the cocktails were $AUD 6!

We hired the tuk tuk driver from the hotel. It was a bit expensive comparatively at $18 per day, extra $7 for sun rise or to go to Banteay Srei, but the driver knows his stuff, and all the roads and locations of all the spas, restaurants etc. He was professional and I guess if we had any problems we can report back to the hotel. Twice we flagged down a tuk tuk on the road outside the hotel to go to Frangipani Spa, and also once to go back to the Hotel from town, and we ended up directing the drivers as they did not know! One did not speak any English at all, but he was very poor from the way he was dressed so I gave him a tip just the same. But yes I had to direct him, and me a female, I thought I did a pretty good job!

We tried Le Spa as well at the Hotel. We all had the Indian Head Massage with Oil, and it was not good. The therapists kept asking us personal questions during the treatment, I could not relax, and just vege out. Where are you from, what do you do etc...It was not very professional. Also the massage itself was not good. My head was being scratched with very light strokes, and when she did put pressure on it was on my bones, not on muscles so it hurt. My husband had the same experience. My sister said hers wasn't as bad. However the atmosphere was very quiet and peaceful with the sounds of water etc, but the treatment itself I did not enjoy. I think for the same price you can try both Frangipani and Bodia spas.

Room Tip: The junior suite was worth the money but the standard rooms are also very nice. Book months in advan...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and your kind comments about the service and facilities. Our culinary brigade will be delighted to hear your praise about the quality of food. Furthermore, we appreciate that you pointed out some concerns with the Indian Head Massage. Our newly appointed Spa Manager is currently working on a new massage offer and will take your valid comments into account. It has been a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back … soon. Fabrice Ducry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

This hotel was first class all the way, 5 stars plus ! The rooms were comfortable and immaculate, bathroom facilities-modern and luxurious. The food was excellent. The grounds were truly beautiful. We especially enjoyed the outdoor barbeque and entertainment. We have stayed in many Sofitels, not all were acceptable but most were very nice...This property beat them all. I highly recommend this hotel during your stay in Cambodia

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leplap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Excellent service, besides the fact that we arrived almost 19:00 and the room was not ready...We had to wait for 1 hour...
The room is really confortable but it needs a renovation, looks tired..
Good spa, amazing garden, pool and lobby.
The staff is really well trained and welcoming!!!!!! The concierge team was fantastic and really made things easier for us!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EDUDUSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#49 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#61 of 361 in Siem Reap
2,999 reviews
0.7 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
1.8 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#26 of 361 in Siem Reap
730 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort

Address: Vithei Charles De Gaulle, Khum Svay Dang Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#7 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#22 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#23 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £115 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in landscaped gardens on Charles de Gaulle Avenue, Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort is the closest Siem Reap hotel to the ruins of Angkor Wat. This unique Siem Reap Cambodia hotel is situated near traditional markets, tourist attractions and the airport. Enjoy the many features of Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, including 238 rooms, a swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, five food & beverage outlets, the Phokeethra Country Club, and a world class 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf Hotel Siem Reap
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Hotel
Sofitel Siem Reap
Siem Reap Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing