We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been great.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort
Ranked #27 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Stayed as this hotel. First night we were placed in a room less than I had paid for. Apparently a miscommunication between expedia and sofitel. They upgraded us to a better room which was pleasing. My partner asked for as complimentary dinner to make up for the inconvenience. We were asked which restaurant so we requested the French and told a time of 7.30. When we arrived they hadn't booked us in. My partner became nervous so asked them to ring the assistant manager and confirm the complimentary dinner. He came over after we had already ordered and told us he didn't say it was complimentary but thought we were just asking for advice on a restaurant and what time would be good for us to eat. As if we need advice on what would be a good time for us to eat.
It was very embarrassing in front of the other diners so I just said don't worry I understand and will just pay for the meal which cost over $100. My girlfriend spoke to the assistant to the general manager the next day and also complained about the fact that we had the windows open and weren't warned about the bug spray that they would be spraying outside which wafted into the room. Also the fact that our toilet in both the rooms we were in were blocked. Apparently they are going to now look at implementing a warning to guests on Mondays that they will be spraying. After all the complaints he offered us a complimentary dinner in there other restaurant. And promised there would be no confusion this time. I was feeling very happy and grateful that they were making amends. Went to the dinner and felt more positive about the stay. As it has beautiful gardens and a nice atmosphere. The next day though when checking out I noticed we had been charged for the two pineapple juices that we had with our complimentary meal. It is for this single reason that I am writing my first ever review and making my first ever complaint about anywhere. It is beyond repulsive and petty that they would charge me for these two drinks at what was supposed to be a complimentary dinner to make up for the crap we had to put up with for a hotel that cost me over $500 for 3 nights. I am not wealthy and have never even stayed at a 5 star hotel. It was supposed to be a treat for my girlfriend on our first overseas adventure. I expected better.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,300)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,342 - 2,348 of 3,301 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2012

This was the end of our 4 week trip around Vietnam & Cambodia, and what a way to finish. We were welcomed by very friendly and helpful staff on arrival. Our room was great (Junior Suite), it was super clean and very large. Bed was so comfortable, bathroom was large with a great shower. Separate sitting room and dressing room came in very handy for packing all our souvenirs.
Restaurants were good quality with good service. Breakfast had a great selection. Pool was warm and clean. Gardens were magnificent.
I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McGTaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I stood at the Sofitel for the third time within the last three years. This time for nine nights. They improved details (brand new bicycles, new tv-sets, etc.) which makes it still my first choice in Siem Reap. During my stay I checked other hotels (Heritage Suite: good for dinner, but rooms just large but not nicely decorated. Shinta Mani: Nice interior design but view, location and staff are not comparable to the Sofitel). Of course the Sofitel has a little bit of an old style charm, but at least a very classy one. They have fast Wifi everywhere and it's free!
Book one of the superior room in the Lake Wing (as opposed to Pool Wing).

Avoid breakfast between 7 and 8:30. That's time when the groups (if there are any) used to have their bf, what might get a little noisy.

Room Tip: Lake Wing. Superior room (they come with a very nice lounge area), upper floor. I stood at room 509.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CYTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Great setting, great staff, not far to the sights and markets, have a swim, have a beer or a wine or spirit; great restaurants and bar; great food both western and eastern. A fine 5 star hotel. What else can I say!

Room Tip: Corner suites have large balcony and wonderful sun
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PhilS321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

WOW, what a hotel, the pool, gardens and grounds are just fabulous.

Check In was pretty cool, they take your details in the lobby, bring you a cold drink and damp towel and then onto your room, I was lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite.

The location is great, not too far from the aiport and centrally located to the temples/ruins of Angkor Wat/Angkor Thom (spectacular) and also to Pub street.

Staff are extremely polite, courteous and attentive, nothing was too much trouble for them

Breakfeast was very nice, beautiful buffet and choice of numerous hot dishes also.

I will certainly visit the Angkor Wat/Angkor Thom again (be prepared for the heat and humidity) and I will definitely stay in the Sofitel again, faultless stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dara100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The room, the staff, the food - everything was pure quality. The hotel staff were attentive and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. While we were there the Sofitel had a porblem with its air conditioning affecting some services. They went out of their way to personally explain what was happening and the timing of the fix.

Both checking in and checking out were trouble free and I would go back to Siem Reap just to stay at the resort.

Thanks for making our holiday such a pleasure.

Room Tip: I think any room would be fine as the hotel is well back from the road and just out of town.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aussie_travellers_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We just got back from a great trip staying at the Sofitel. Excellent pool and fabulous rooms. The grounds are incredibly well maintained. We will come back!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank W K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#49 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#61 of 361 in Siem Reap
3,003 reviews
0.7 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
1.8 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#26 of 361 in Siem Reap
730 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort

Address: Vithei Charles De Gaulle, Khum Svay Dang Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#7 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#22 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#23 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £115 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in landscaped gardens on Charles de Gaulle Avenue, Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort is the closest Siem Reap hotel to the ruins of Angkor Wat. This unique Siem Reap Cambodia hotel is situated near traditional markets, tourist attractions and the airport. Enjoy the many features of Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, including 238 rooms, a swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, five food & beverage outlets, the Phokeethra Country Club, and a world class 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf Hotel Siem Reap
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Hotel
Sofitel Siem Reap
Siem Reap Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing