We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort
Ranked #29 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great hotel with excellent service”
Reviewed 31 July 2008

Stayed at the Sofitel for 5 nights and enjoyed every minute of it. There was a mix up in our airport transfer and it was basically my fault. I had inquired about rates etc but did not actually confirm that I wanted a pick up but yet they showed up at the airport. And when I told the driver I had made alternative arrangements he was still all smiles and very polite. This speaks greatly to the level of service at the Sofitel. The staff were always very friendly and helpful.

Although right outside the hotel there seems to be a flurry of people and activity, the hotel itself is tranquil and quiet. They have a large pool with a bar/restaurant, we enjoyed our poolside lunches there. The rooms were large and comfortable with a nice view of the lake.

  • Liked — The staff and the comfort level
  • Disliked — Not the closest to town
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank twotencents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,694
    424
    75
    18
    16
See reviews for
604
1,529
157
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2008

After a hot, exhausting trip to Bangkok, we had a short trip to Cambodia to see the temples. After landing in Cambodia, we went directly to Angkor Wat for a few hours and then to the hotel. Upon arrival, we were greeted with cold lemongrass tea to refresh and the lovely simplicity and gentle service of the Sofitel. It was like stepping into paradise...

I have been to several Sofitels across the world and this one delivered the same experience- great service, comfortable beds and excellent food - which is surprising given the extreme poverty and lack of infrastructure of the country.

I had one of the best massages of my life at the spa - and although it was expensive for SE Asia - it was reasonable compared to what I would get at home. The spa and pool is comparable to any resort, with swim up bar and tropical setting.

Although check out was a pain (had to try 5-6 times to get the credit card machine to work) and the phones could not call out to the US (and no-one understood how to do it), the bell captain offered his own cell - who could ask for more?

I would have liked to stay another day and relax at the wonderful Sofitel, but have to admit that it was hard to feel completely comfortable amongst the nice people who worked there and have so little.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank woodysloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2008

Firstly - in Cambodia there are a few choices of accomodation and many cheaper options are fine but be aware that you are in a country that has extreme poverty, you cant drink the water etc and for health and security (and because we are Advantage Plus Members and got good discounts) we chose to stay at the Sofitel in Siem Reap.
If you are going to stay at an Accor hotel in Australasia def join the Advantage Plus, we used our free night for one of our nights there and our 50% off dining for breakfast lunch and dinner for all three days - the Citadel Resturant was fantastic - staff lovely and very professional (give many service staff in AUS a run for their money!) and the buffet (which we ate mostly at) was a large choice, rotated reguarly for freshness and perfectly fine to eat at.
Room was very comfy - we were in a superior room - shower was lovely and one of the few Sofitels i have come across that provide a laundry line in bathroom - when your out at the temples all day your clothes become soaked in Sweat and the need to change reguarly means you also need to wash frequently.
Overall a great hotel we will go back.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank magentahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2008

We stayed here for 6 nights as part of a multi centre holiday in SE Asia.

We had a junior suite on the 3rd floor here which was very comfortable and spacious. The bed was extremely comfortable, there was a large sitting area, a massive dressing area and huge bathroom, as well as a balcony overlooking the lake.

We ate at most of the restaurants at the hotel. All of the meals were excellent, with a good choice of different foods and excellent service. There was an aspara dance show performed each night at the Royal Court for no extra charge. You were able to eat from the a la carte menu or the buffet here and enjoy this interesting show.

The hotel grounds were beautiful, with amazing plants and statues scattered around a large lake. The swimming pool was huge, with a large amount of sun loungers and a wonderful bar serving a good selection of food and drinks.

The spa offered a large choice of excellent treatments at very competitive rates for the beautiful surroundings of the spa. We had experienced spa treatments at some top spa hotels and felt that the massages offered here were some of the best we have had the pleasure of experiencing.

The hotel was located within a short drive of the temples in Angkor which gave us the opportunity to visit many of the wonderful archaeological sites. We could then relax in the quiet beautiful surroundings of the hotel between our visits.

We would definitely return to the hotel if we are able to visit Siem Reap again in the future and would recommend others to do the same.

  • Liked — Standard of service, comfort and beauty of hotel surroundings.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Gatekeeperdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2008

We stayed at this hotel in February of 2008. The grounds and buildings are truly first-class. The rooms in the hotel were well-maintained and extremely comfortable. However we found the prices for food and spa services to be extremely high and not good value. The service in the restaurant was generally slow when we ordered à la carte.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Pietro65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2008

A typical softel, based in one of the most poverty stricken areas in the world, takes the edge off you whole experience, as you are constantly aware that 1 night in this hotel is equal to a months wage.

That aside it is a fantastic hotel, the free form pool is large, and the "turn-down service" at he pool is much appreciated.

The rooms themselves face a beautiful man made lagoon, all standard Sofitel décor. A taxi to the airport costs 20 US, but your better off walking the 20 metres to the street, and paying 10US to a local.

Its difficult to rate this hotel without mentioning the surrounding area, as its integral to the experience. If yo are weak of resolve , don't go to Cambodia, there is a dire need for healthcare and money, and this is constantly in your face.

The sofitel is perfectly located in proximity to Angkor, and you can get taxi driver for the day for about $25

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Seemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2008

This is a lovely hotel with outstanding service. Our room (a suite) was spacious and beautifully furnished. We particularly enjoyed the pool after a morning of touring temples. The evening dance performance and dinner was well worth it. The guide books say that this hotel is outside the town, but you should not let that discourage you since it is only a 3-4 minute tuk tuk ride from the center of town. That it is not in the center of town is an advantage since it is a bit quieter and the grounds are lovely.

A few suggestions:
It is really important to have a good guide for touring the temples. It would be overwhelming without a knowledgeable guide and you will learn much more about the incredible sights. We also enjoyed the newly opened museum which is very close to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank NewYorkTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#49 of 356 in Siem Reap
1,314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#62 of 356 in Siem Reap
2,949 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
1.3 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
1.8 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#30 of 356 in Siem Reap
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort

Property: Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort
Address: Vithei Charles De Gaulle, Khum Svay Dang Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#7 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#24 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#25 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in landscaped gardens on Charles de Gaulle Avenue, Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort is the closest Siem Reap hotel to the ruins of Angkor Wat. This unique Siem Reap Cambodia hotel is situated near traditional markets, tourist attractions and the airport. Enjoy the many features of Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, including 238 rooms, a swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, five food & beverage outlets, the Phokeethra Country Club, and a world class 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf Hotel Siem Reap
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Hotel
Sofitel Siem Reap
Siem Reap Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing