We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity and elegant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort
Ranked #26 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The gardens and surroundings of the hotel are grand and there is a certain awe of tranquility crossing the large pond filled with water lillies to get to the rooms . Our room was large and very comfortable. The selection of breakfast buffet was superb. The staff were very helpful. The concierge recommended two restaurants in the centre and both were excellent. On the down side, Internet access was frustrating as wifi was erratic and slow. Regarding the food, when we had salads, club sandwich etc was excellent, however when we had Phad Thai Royale and some other Asian food it was rather oily. Otherwise a fantastic stay and I would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ninnapace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Bonjour, I have just been looking back at our previous comments and just realized that I never replied to your message. I apologize for this delay but would like to thank you for your valuable comment – it will certainly encourage all the Ambassadors of the hotel to strive to excellence. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future. Fabrice Ducry – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,022 - 2,028 of 3,348 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

Booked a 2 nights stay through the Accorhotels.com. Airport pick-up was chargeable at USD70 for a two way service. Quite steep considering location and Le Meridien offered it for free.

Location :- The hotel is very near to Angkor Wat and also the shopping places, but still, ‘tut2’ or any kind of transportation would be needed.

Check-in :- Check-in was smooth, done while having the welcome drink (Lemon Grass Tea). Since my room was not ready at the time of check-in, they asked to wait and offered an upgrade for a sum of amount which I declined considering I will only use the room only for sleeping purpose =-). But the staffs frequently come and apologies for the waiting and frequent updates were given.

Lobby :- The lobby was nice and fragrant. Complimenting it are the superb smiling staffs.

Room :- We took the Luxury Room which comes with a balcony. The room itself was quite spacious and very well maintained. A basket of local fruits were ready in the room but the flowers for the vases came a bit later by housekeeping.

Bathroom :- The bathroom was very clean and well-maintained. Standard bathroom amenities were given but a shaver would be good to add. Water pressure sometimes dropped for a while but it was still ok.

View :- View from the room was nice, facing the lake though it was a obstructed by tree branches. Same goes for the balcony but to the left side of the balcony was not such of a nice view to look at. Sort of an old house dirty house.

Food :- We did not have any meals at the hotel considering we wanted to look for “halal” food at the town.

Remarks :- Through the reservation system, I noted that the trip was in conjunction with my wife’s b’day. One of the staffs from the café was kind enough to wish my wife happy b’day. Though we did not use the pool and any other facilities, but the pool was a large one and looks so tempting, we were informed that the pool closes around 8pm but if we wanted to dip at night, just bring the towels from the room. The lake, a no to swim… hehehe. Internet was free but it somehow logs u in for only an hour and you have to re-login every hour.

p/s :- Faced a minor issue where our transportation to the airport was not arranged and not charged even though confirmation was sent via e-mail, but that did not disrupt our holiday mood since we were still on time for our flight, however, the driver dropped us at the international departure gate and we were supposed to drop off at the domestic gate. Just a few drops of sweat to walk =-).

Would love to come back to this hotel if there were any trips to Siem Reap again.

Room Tip: Mosquitoes are quite plenty-full, however the hotel installs quite a few anti mosquito mats, but its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RACD76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Bonjour, in a first instance I wish to apologize for my delayed response. I was reviewing our previous comments and I just noticed that I had not yet replied to the one you left in February. Be assured that we have, however, well noted your remark and we will be taking it into account for our future operations. I hope you will have the pleasure of coming back to Cambodia one day and we will have the delight of welcoming you back to Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra  Fabrice Ducry – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Beautiful property with very large rooms and wonderful amenities. We ate buffet breakfasts and dinners. These buffets were exceptional with a very wide variety of choices. We enjoyed live entertainment at both dinners by local Cambodian dancers in beautiful costumes. Service from the staff was wonderful. I would recommend checking to see what dates the live entertainment is playing and schedule your stay for those nights. The tuk tuks were always immediately available. You can travel most anywhere for $3 or less. Very fun way to travel. Our first driver stayed with us and waited at three different stores while we shopped. When asked what we owed him, he responded, "whatever you think". The second driver took us to an event and waited one hour for it to finish, then took us to the night market and waited another 30 minutes before returning us to the hotel. His charge was $10 for 4 people.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cooperlynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Bonjour, I have just been looking back at our previous comments and just realized that I never replied to your message. I apologize for this delay but would like to thank you for your valuable comment – it will certainly encourage all the Ambassadors of the hotel to strive to excellence. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future. Fabrice Ducry – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Everything about the Sofitel met or exceeded our high expectations. Best of all was the room itself, gleaming with shiny teak floors, pleasing art and tasteful Asian furnishings, all in a very large room. Other hotels might call such a room a junior suite or more. The lobby was beautiful, the bar outstanding, the food very good and the service first rate. The pool was huge and impeccably maintained. The entire property serves as a lovely example of how a low rise five star on a smaller resort size footprint should be designed, maintained and operated. My only complaint is that their WiFi protocol requires far too many log ins, sometimes multiple log ins an hour. Apart from this nuisance, our stay was first rate in all respects.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Bonjour, I have just been looking back at our previous comments and just realized that I never replied to your message. I apologize for this delay but would like to thank you for your valuable comment – it will certainly encourage all the Ambassadors of the hotel to strive to excellence. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future. Fabrice Ducry – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My stay here was wonderful. I felt like it was an Oasis and the time spent resting on my patio were necessary to protect myself from the heat, chaos of town, and exhaustion of temple viewing.
I had quite a walk to my room- but it was gigantic with a patio the size of most hotel rooms that overlooked palms and the bird sounds trickled into my room.
The staff was amazing. A good example is that my last night I decided to take a bath, but forgot to put the Do not disturb sign out. the staff kept knocked and I announced several times that I was bathing, and they left me alone, after an hour of them frequently coming back, I finally got up to put the sign out and when they approached me I tersely said "I don't need a turn down!" and the nice man said "But, we just wanted to give you this gift", Which is a nice scarf that I have worn most of this winter now!
The breakfast, dinners that I had here were downright amazing. I think I could sit there all day and graze and still not taste everything.
I could totally see making this place a week long destination of relaxation and never leave the place.
What more can I say... stay here!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Bonjour, I have just been looking back at our previous comments and just realized that I never replied to your message. I apologize for this delay but would like to thank you for your valuable comment – it will certainly encourage all the Ambassadors of the hotel to strive to excellence. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future. Fabrice Ducry – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Service was great and staff very friendly. Pool area was good for the kids although the water was a bit cool and a few more toys/slides would be good. Room was good although there were a few mosquitoes there. Coffee was excellent. Concierge very helpful and obliging. Tuk Tuk drivers called on by the hotel were friendly; only once did they try to ask for more money than the norm. Really good hotel to stay at and recommend it to families.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Bonjour, I have just been looking back at our previous comments and just realized that I never replied to your message. I apologize for this delay but would like to thank you for your valuable comment – it will certainly encourage all the Ambassadors of the hotel to strive to excellence. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future. Fabrice Ducry – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

A beautiful hotel surrounded by lovingly maintained grounds and a pool to die for.
My party of four spent two nights there immediately before Chinese New Year. The rooms were excellent, the restaurants were marvellous and the service was superb. The hotel is situated very close, a two dollar tuk tuk ride, from the centre of Siem Reap. All in all, very much to be recommended. The people are so friendly !!

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor. This has the added advantage of a larger 'patio' area lea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DustySooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Bonjour, I have just been looking back at our previous comments and just realized that I never replied to your message. I apologize for this delay but would like to thank you for your valuable comment – it will certainly encourage all the Ambassadors of the hotel to strive to excellence. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future. Fabrice Ducry – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#61 of 361 in Siem Reap
3,029 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#46 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,361 reviews
1.8 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#27 of 361 in Siem Reap
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
1.1 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
1.1 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort

Address: Vithei Charles De Gaulle, Khum Svay Dang Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#7 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#21 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#22 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £128 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in landscaped gardens on Charles de Gaulle Avenue, Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort is the closest Siem Reap hotel to the ruins of Angkor Wat. This unique Siem Reap Cambodia hotel is situated near traditional markets, tourist attractions and the airport. Enjoy the many features of Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, including 238 rooms, a swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, five food & beverage outlets, the Phokeethra Country Club, and a world class 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf Hotel Siem Reap
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Hotel
Sofitel Siem Reap
Siem Reap Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing