We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely ambiance, nice people, service could be better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort
Ranked #17 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely ambiance, nice people, service could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

It's easy to like the place; it's airy and very attractive, with a beautiful spread for buffet breakfast and large well appointed rooms. Everyone is smiling and are always friendly. There is a difference though between actual service and just friendly faces paying lip service to the 'service' orientation they have. I asked about my points that I didn't see on their rewards account system multiple times. each time, very nicely the front desk staff say they will check and get back to me. Each time, they fail to do so. By the fourth time the 'service' is offered to me, I have it in mind to say Forget it, why even say you will if you don't? There is no follow-through. So, the next time that room service screwed up my order, I made it my duty to point out the error. I had to repeat several times, all the while the staff saying they understand and saying something else, which is not what I meant. 'so you order 2 extra toppings so there's extra $3 charge' (this is when someone called 30 minutes AFTER i had placed the order, to check on my toppings!); Me: 'No, the room service menu says each one is $1 extra.'; Staff: 'Yes, so $3 more'; Me: 'No, each one is a dollar. i have two extra, so $2'; Staff: 'Ok, peppers and onions. $3'; Me: 'No, $2"; Staff: 'Ok, thank you'... i wasn't so sure. Then, the food comes with the bill that says "1 scoop icecream. $2.50" Ugh.... It's not the 50 cents extra obviously, but... I made it a point to show the delivery guy the menu and explained. but after a while, i was tired and hungry.
The prices in the hotel restaurants are reasonable if you're comparing to the U.S. at most lunches about 15 to 20 USD.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loracYCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Greetings from Cambodia! We would like to thank you for taking the time to express your opinion of our hotel here on TripAdvisor. We consider feedback like yours as one of the most important sources for improvement we could get. I took good note of all your comments, and will push and work harder with all my team to ensure that such matter would not happen again but most importantly, that we can show all our guest our professionalism. Our ambassadors expressed their desire to prove to you and all our guest that they do possess all the qualities, knowledge, motivation, passion and etiquette to provide a true 5-Star hotel service. Therefore we hope that we may welcome you back in order to experience again our services. Fabrice Ducry - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,461
    405
    73
    18
    14
See reviews for
552
1,400
152
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

French-cambodian oasis to explore Siem Reap and temples. very helpful staff, great room, food and service. Pool was under renovations, but hotel arranged nice pool in another hotel - 300 m. Also, you can get bike from the hotel to cycle to Angkor Wat

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank litprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
A quick message to thank you for your kind understanding during our pool repairs. Though the set up organize with our neighboring hotel is working well, I am glad that this issue of pool repairs is not behind us as we were able to complete the work this week and started refilling our pool… We should be able to swim back in it by this week-end ! I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us… and hope to soon welcome you back in Angkor! Fabrice Ducry - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hongkong
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed one night in garden view room. The room is tidy and clean. The hotel is well situated on the way from town to Angkhor Wat so we can enjoy the peaceful atmosphere during stay. its decorations especcially the stunning pond with lotus is very beautiful. Our compliments go to the very polite staffs who always assist us in everything.
The pool is under construction but they are so kind to offer the other pool.
However overall we have a nice stay there.

Room Tip: Garden view room is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mayny_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Greetings from Cambodia!... Thank you for your kind message. I will just start by saying THANK YOU, for your kind words on our hotel grounds. There is so much love and dedication put into these gardens, I am happy that travelers passing by do take the time to enjoy them… as much as we do too…
I will surely share your comments with the team tomorrow and give them a boost of “satisfaction” with your kind comments… On their behalf, THANK YOU SO MUCH!  We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra, and this time, for a great swim in our swimming pool which we are opening back, more beautiful than even … at the end of this week! Fabrice Ducry - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We arrived in Siem Reap at 2am and our reservation was for that next day. We figured we would drop our bags and head out to Angkor Wat for sunrise. They graciously checked us in to a beautiful and spacious (super clean) lanai room and we were able to nap a few hours before heading out with a tuk tuk ride they arranged. The driver was one of their regulars for hire and he did a great job getting us to AW, arranging our tickets and waiting for us to come out hours later (still don't know how he found us when we exited). The buffet breakfast was sumptuous and the service outstanding. A lovely escape and place to refresh before and after touring.

Room Tip: The lanai rooms facing the lotus pond are great with terrific landscape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank metravel818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
I must admit it is quite unusual to have a check-in so early morning…but I am delighted to read that you did not miss a second and decided to enjoy the beauties of the temple from the early morning. I saw a beautiful smile on our Chef’s face when I read your comment to all the team this morning. I am pretty sure he will very proudly spread the news to his brigade and to the Food & Beverage team also  I truly hope you will have the opportunity to enjoy the convenient location and delightful service of our Ambassadors in the near future. We will be honored to welcome you back. Fabrice Ducry – General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed with my two young kids and hubby in the junior suite for 3 nights. The room was tidy and clean. The staffs were really friendly and very helpful. The only regret was the swimming pool was under renovation. Thus, closed down for the time being. But the hotel had made effort to arrange alternative swimming pool facility at a nearby hotel. The breakfasts spread can be improvised. For three days, the breakfast spread were almost the same. The hotel environment was very tropical and very calm. Overall we enjoyed our stay in this hotel and will most definitely consider coming back again if we are to visit Siem Reap again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nirmalahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
I am delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your getaway in the Kingdom of Wonders and particularly treasured the hotel’s guestroom and grounds. I appreciate your understanding regarding the swimming pool as we were faced with some unforeseen technical issues which lead to closing the pool. I am now confident that we will be able to enjoy a nice swim in our pool by the end of the 1st week of July and therefore hope you and your family will have the pleasure to experience the beauty of our swimming pool next time you visit us. I did not omit your comment regarding the breakfast and will make sure that we review this matter with our Chef and F&B Manager – we are always seeking to improve the quality of our offer. I hope we will welcome you back in the near future. Fabrice Ducry – General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Sofitel is a lovely property and you will not be disappointed. You will be disappointed by the concierges when trying to plan activities when you are siem reap. They were not helpful and it felt liked they never planned day trips, drivers, tours before

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
I truly feel saddened that you did not go back home with only good memories of your stay in Siem Reap. Our Concierge Team, headed by Mr. Visal, Clefs d’Or Concierge are used to organizing tours and I feel frustrated that you could unfortunately not experience their habitual knowledge, passion for excellence and attention to detail. I however, take the fact that you still have the desire to write that you enjoyed the hotel’s ground and facilities, even 5 months after your stay with us, as a compliment. I really hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back and show you that your disappointment was only an unfortunate “one time mistake”. Kind Regards. Fabrice DUCRY – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.0 mi away
Shinta Mani Resort
Shinta Mani Resort
#4 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
1.5 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#3 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#53 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,510 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
1.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#39 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort

Property: Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort
Address: Vithei Charles De Gaulle, Khum Svay Dang Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#7 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#16 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in landscaped gardens on Charles de Gaulle Avenue, Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort is the closest Siem Reap hotel to the ruins of Angkor Wat. This unique Siem Reap Cambodia hotel is situated near traditional markets, tourist attractions and the airport. Enjoy the many features of Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, including 238 rooms, a swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, five food & beverage outlets, the Phokeethra Country Club, and a world class 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, ACCOR, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf Hotel Siem Reap
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Hotel
Sofitel Siem Reap
Siem Reap Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing