We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel/Amazing Angor Wat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort
Ranked #27 of 384 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2009

Great hotel located close to Angor Wat. Rooms were nice. Spa service great. Beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vdoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,849 - 2,855 of 3,608 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2009

The resort was breathtakingly beautiful. The service at the hotel was brilliant and the green around the resort was so relaxing. The friendly smiles from each staff member was so welcoming. On top of it was the fabulous Angkor temple which was so close to the hotel... infact, the hotel/resort is at the center of the activities, not that there is much to do in Siem Reap but it was a great experience.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Promila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2009

Sofitel must be located in one of the best settings, it has a huge garden with lakes and swimming pools. Rooms are large, if you get upgraded like us, you even have an espresso machine. I really enjoyed my time there, especially to relax after the Angkor temples, which makes you very tired when its 40degrees outside!
On the negative side, food on one evening was average, they serve you an outside buffet, but with the heat, careful as what you eat as it can go off very quickly and some items were missing. Breakfast buffet has a large variety, but orange juice is not fresh.
Otherwise, i would recommend this hotel, as it has amazing settings compared to others which are usually by the river and dont offer as much space.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SamDBxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2009

This is a terrific hotel. Beautiful grounds; friendly, extremely helpful staff; great food. When you enter, the grounds look like a luxurious Hawaiian resort carried across the Pacific ocean. The rooms are lovely, large with beautiful wooden floors. There is a charming Khmer dance show outdoors every night. The breads and pastries are excellent as are the spring rolls. The place is an oasis. I cannot imagine anyone who would not like it.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2009

My family and I stayed three nights at the Royal Sofitel Angkor during our visit to Cambodia three weeks ago. We were blown away by the hotel. When we entered the large and sprawling lobby we were greeted with fresh flowers, a very cold drink, and cold facial towels. Staff took care of our luggage and had them in our room before we even got there.

The hotel environs are absolutely gorgeous, with the pond and the over the water walkway. We stayed in room 520, it's a suite with a living area and another small room for storage and makeup. My 23 month old son loved the spaciousness of the room, he was able to explore. Right outside our patio is the lush landscape - every morning we woke up to birds singing on the trees.

The buffet breakfast was also top notch - the selection can't be beat. I kept going back to the omelet chef. My wife enjoyed the rice porridge and the hot noodles selection as well. The variety of juices was great as well. It fueled us for our tours of Angkor, which is just 5 minutes from the hotel.

We also thoroughly enjoyed the enormous lake-like pool. I liked the shallow area at the north end of the pool for children. The "island" in the middle was also a nice touch. I also had the chance to use the fitness center at night. While it was a nice fitness center with new treadmills, I didn't like the fact that the room air conditioner was activated via motion, so the system kept turning off while I was in there running (it apparently didn't detect me) so it got very hot. But I appreciated the complimentary water.

We liked the free gifts that the housekeeping staff left every evening during turndown. The DVD of the history of Angkor Wat at the end was a nice farewell gift. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and were sad to leave. But when we return to visit the magnificent Angkor Wat we will be sure to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paolo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2009

Stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed the hotel's spaciousness, large grounds, swimming pool and cheerful staff. Our room (the cheapest) was excellent except that it didn't have a balcony, but it did overlook the grounds so was nice and quiet. The patio windows are locked, but can be opened with a key by the maid.
Ideal location for all the local exploring, but a bit too far outside the centre of town to walk in at night, so you need a tuk tuk really. Recommend Mr Thet who is based outside the hotel, the concierge will arrange.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davidfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2009

My husband and I stayed here for chinese new year (end of Jan) and we really liked the hotel. As many others have said on this site, the service is excellent and its in a good location. It also has a huge pool which was normally empty everyday! However we were disappointed with the 'golf resort' as the hotel itself does not have a golf course on site! the golf course they take you to is a country club golf course (which i think most hotels will offer) and its quite a way out (past the airport, over 30mins). The golf course is very nice and we were the only ones on it, however the caddys didnt speak english so dont expect advice when taking a shot! The cost of a round was also quite expensive considering your in Cambodia ( I think it was $120 USD for 9 holes).

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HongKongPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.8 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#28 of 384 in Siem Reap
825 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#67 of 384 in Siem Reap
3,324 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#51 of 384 in Siem Reap
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
1.1 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
1.3 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort

Address: Vithei Charles De Gaulle | Khum Svay Dang Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#7 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#23 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#24 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £107 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in landscaped gardens on Charles de Gaulle Avenue, Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort is the closest Siem Reap hotel to the ruins of Angkor Wat. This unique Siem Reap Cambodia hotel is situated near traditional markets, tourist attractions and the airport. Enjoy the many features of Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, including 238 rooms, a swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, five food & beverage outlets, the Phokeethra Country Club, and a world class 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf Hotel Siem Reap
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Hotel
Sofitel Siem Reap
Siem Reap Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing