We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Ranked #69 of 376 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Great hotel and great staff. The food was good, the swimming pool was excellent, the rooms were adequate. I enjoyed speaking to the staff, I hoped they managed to improve their English and were able to understand the strong scottish accent.
Hotel's famous restaurant was closed as part of hotel was being refurbished. The refubishment was a little noisy. Hotel should let people know about the refurbishment.
Cost of trip from airport to hotel was $25, this was for a Lexus with 3 people and 3 big bags. Concierge suggested we use the van for the return trip. On checking out the fee was $60. I could have ordered two lexus for the trip and it would have been cheaper. Cost was reduced to $40. However concierge traveled with us, not to say goodbye but to pick up another fare. Not only were we overcharged but we were used, or so it seems. Shame cos the hotel was a nice place to stay.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank paul1953uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Thank you very much for your compliments and suggestions. I am glad to know that you have enjoyed our hotel and our service despite some inconvenience and please accept my sincere apologies. I hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and thank you very much again for your comments.

Kindest regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,759)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,108 - 1,114 of 1,759 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of our Pandaw river cruise.The hotel was beautiful with large spacious rooms with coffee and tea making facilities.Each time we returned from touring staff were at the hotel doors with with face towels to refresh us.The pool was lovely, breakfast was excellent.It cost $3 for a tuk tuk to visit the night markets and they are readily available as you walk out of the hotel

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhodesiabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Thank you very much for your kind compliment which serves as our reward. I hope you had a great stay with us and a wonderful visit to Cambodia. We look forward to your next visit.

Kindest regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed here for the final two nights of a 3 week tour of Indochina, and we couldn't have asked for a better place. In dark glowing woods and cream paints the hotel has a period colonial style and charm that combines with modern comforts and luxury. The staff are unfailingly attentive and totally charming, the service impeccable, and the delicious buffet breakfasts offer a variety of cuisines. Fringed with frangipani, the pool is a delightful area to relax after a hot morning or afternoon spent at the jaw-droppingly amazing glories of the nearby Angkor temples; servicing the sunloungers, courteous pool attendants offer ice cold towels, hats and even cleaned our sunglasses as a complimentary service. As well as dance displays on several nights with dinner, in the evenings the hotel lounge hosts welcome tasters of cocktails, lotus cultivation, and other Cambodian cultural delights. We loved this.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minimusSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

It is particularly heartwarming to receive an evaluation like yours and to know that our team’s effort to provide superior service and hospitality are recognized. These positive comments about our hotel are greatly appreciated.

Kindest regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Spent the weekend here. Very charming property with well appointed rooms. The service here is extremely good and the staff are so polite, it's embarrassing. The buffet breakfast is very modest for a 5 star hotel in terms of its selection and choice. Given the French influence I was hoping for a better selection of breads, cheese and pastries as a similarly rated property on the other side of the border ie Vietnam.
The pool is incredibly impressive both in terms of its size and the ambience. The hotel is about 2 km from the main "town". You may be better off asking for a room that overlooks the pool instead of the gardens. I find the prices at the spa very expensive especially when you can get quality treatment at the nearby Lemon grass spa.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

We really appreciate your great feedback especially regarding our service. We will take note of your suggestions in order to maintain and improve our services. We hope you had a wonderful stay and we’d love to welcome you back again in the future.

Kindest regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Very efficiently run place with great, attentive, professional and friendly staff.
Once the renovation is done in two weeks in the main building it will be again a classy and charming place full of history and Cambodian hospitality!
Would recommend them to put some rugs in the hallways since without it the hallways tend to be very noisy and look a bit hospital bare like.

Room Tip: For the time being the annex building is without construction noise. If you have the money, book the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunny1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Thank you for appreciating the heritage of the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor as well as the warm Cambodian hospitality emanating from all of us. Looking forward to serve you again in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Having worked in the travel industry for close to 25 years...I'm rather fussy. Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor exceeded all of my expectations! The staff were lovely and very accommodating. Our room overlooking the pool was well appointed and comfortable including a welcome letter from the General Manager! The buffet breakfast was one of the best I've experienced. The amazing temples are a short distance away and are easily accessed. Since we only had a day in Siem Reap prior to starting a cruise we decided to return early to spend the afternoon at the spectacular pool. Two nights was not enough!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Thank you very much for sharing with us your heartwarming compliments. I am very pleased to know that you liked everything about our hotel and most of all I am very glad that we have exceeded your expectations. I hope you had a wonderful visit to Siem Reap and looking forward to serve you again in the future.

Kindest regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My second stay this past July. While I like the older building, staying with my sister this trip, we were given a villa, which was a lovely setting and I will try and comeback just to relax. The service was stepped up since my last trip at the pool. The poolman was a trainee but seemed to be a veteran as far as service and attentiveness. Having seen an Apsara dance before I wouldn't have gone except for my sister wanting to and I am glad I did. The food variety was excellent and dancing excellent. Just long enough to enjoy. Had a family with two boys in front sat throughout the dance and every member not gotten up and down to get. Food, it would have been nicer, but not hotel fault of course. The rooms were spotless and any problem was dealt with quickly. The bar a welcome evening respite after trekking during the day, the bar staff friendly and welcoming. The restaurant was nice as well, with Cambodian fare and excellent seafood. Actually the entire staff, restaurant manager to chefs, just great for all food venues.. A 100! Our butler nice and accommodating as well. Not enough time for more than one spa treatment but it was good too I'd stay there again and again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelandL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

A big thank you for staying with us again and for sharing wonderful and encouraging compliments which I will share to the whole Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor team. I am truly glad that you have enjoyed the food, the hotel and especially our service. We are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Kindest regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#50 of 376 in Siem Reap
1,446 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
1.9 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#27 of 376 in Siem Reap
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#66 of 376 in Siem Reap
3,257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#46 of 376 in Siem Reap
1,365 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor

Address: 1 Vithei Charles de Gaulle | Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#25 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#58 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#60 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £167 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set across from the Royal Palace, is one of the landmark historic hotels of the legendary Grand Tour of Indochina. Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor first opened its doors in 1932 but the legend lives on today after careful restoration. The hotel is rich in Cambodia history and full of original treasures, right down to the original working cage elevator in the lobby. Our doorman still welcomes everyone in a uniform inspired by the Royal Palace With the privilege of over 15 acres of beautifully landscaped French gardens and built around the country’s largest swimming pool, the hotel is a peaceful oasis to which to retreat after exploring the temples in the UNESCO World Heritage site only 10 minutes from the hotel. Relax and revitalise under the fragrant frangipani trees beside the magnificent pool inspired by Angkorian architecture, or enjoy a massage to ease away the travel. Stroll along the river to the vibrant markets and wonderful array of dining options. In addition to beautifully restored guest rooms you can choose from one of the luxury suites, including our most popular Cabana Suites with direct access from the balcony to the garden and pool. You may be surprised to know that Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor also has two of Siem Reap’s most luxurious two-bedroom Villas, providing utmost privacy and personal butler service in the private poolside setting. Food gourmets will delight with a variety of options including the popular Raffles Afternoon Tea and the Apsara Terrace, Siem Reap’s best cultural dance performance and dinner in the poolside gardens. For golf enthusiasts, there are several international golf courses and we recommend the award-winning Nick Faldo designed Angkor Golf Resort. Golf packages are available Complete your visit to Cambodia with a stay at our sister hotel Raffles Hotel Le Royal, Phnom Penh open since 1929 and the capital city’s only luxury landmark hotel. With lush tropical gardens and built around two swimming pools it is an oasis for travelers exploring the vibrant capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Grand Hotel d Angkor
Raffles Grand Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing