We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my favorites!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Ranked #59 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California, United States
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“One of my favorites!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

This hotel is one of the most beautiful hotels I've ever seen. It has an old world charm and elegance that can't be beat. The elevator is an old fashioned 1930's style that requires an elevator man to operate, and is beyond charming. The rooms are gorgeous and the pool is fab. I cannot say enough good things about this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: any room is a good room, but the rooms overlooking the pool are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful compliments. It is great to know that you were fascinated by the old world charm and heritage of the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor, and I hope that you have acquired great memories in our hotel. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Kindest regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,201
    278
    82
    36
    15
See reviews for
277
800
101
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Love the rooms. Spacious, has everything you would need. Very close to the ancient city, and right next door to the museum. Food was great. Staff was really friendly and helpful in recommending places to dine.Definitely recommended

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fildircan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
I am very glad that you have found comfort and convenience at Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor. Thank you very much for your compliments, which reflect the great work of our team and which also serve as our reward. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Kindest regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornsby, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

My wife and I stayed here as part of our 40th wedding anniversary. This would have to be one of the best hotels in ASIA. Stayed there 3 day and experienced a level of service and comfort second to none. Staff were so polite and everybody seemed to know your name. Excellent size room maintained impeccably by friendly staff who obviously enjoy and take pride in their work. Everyone made you feel at home. The range and quality of food at breakfast was first class as were the gardens and pool. Would highly recommend this hotel for people looking for a relaxed break in a unique almost colonial style setting. It was difficult to pin point just how they achieve such a great ambience and I can only put it down to very well trained staff with ecxellent management. Woud definately go back again

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
I am very happy to know that you consider Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor as one of the best hotels in Asia. Apart from the warm Cambodian hospitality inherent in every one of our staff, we continuously endeavor to bring the best out of our staff in order to deliver the best possible service and, thus, the most wonderful experience to our guests. We consider your compliments as our priceless reward.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Fantastic heritage property in Siem Reap with a lot of character. Takes you back in time. Rooms are nice and good size, we were with toddler & was perfect. Highlights are
-great breakfast spread, lovely pool, nice bar with cool local cocktails
- Pat at the concierge was very good , helped us organise our local tours/cars etc
- would recommend asking help of the concierge to assist with visa on arrival, you can avoid the long queue's at the airport. For a small fee, you can avoid a lot of hassle especially with a baby
- the best food if you need a break from the cambodian menu is the Penne pasta on the kids menu...perfect after a long day out on the road
- Overall service was great, we needed a lot of help with milk bottles. baby food etc....& we were never dissapointed
- the villa's near the pool are amazing if you are considering them, we visited some friends who were there

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KrishnaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
I am delighted to know that you appreciate the heritage of Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor, and thank you very much for your positive comments about our service and our facilities. It is always a pleasure to each and every one of us to be of help to our guests in any way.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kindest regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

The hotel is not as grand as other Raffles comparatively since the building is a bit older, but the service is EXCELLENT. It is not forced, it is not fake...meaning it doesn't feel like they're just doing it to take your money. I can't explain it but there is something different and special about the people here! They are genuine, professional, quick, sweet, honest, kind...unbelievable. I stayed at this hotel & the hotel next door(Victoria Angkor Resort & Spa). I loved Victoria but Raffles definitely had better service! When I go back to Siem Reap, I would stay here the entire time.

I loved their pool too. Very relaxing, clean, yummy cocktails. Definitely check out their Apsara dance show on certain days.

Breakfast buffet was grand. Lots of options.

CONS: The rooms are OK for the price. They seem a bit outdated and not very big, but still nice.

All in all, I've fallen in love with this hotel because of the staff & would recommend to all.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slee06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
A sincere thank you for sharing your wonderful and encouraging compliments which I will share to the whole Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor team. I am truly glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us because of the warm hospitality and heartfelt service that our team exudes. We are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Kindest regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel prior to taking a boat trip down the Mekong River. It provided a refuge for us for 2 days as the days were very hot especially in the afternoon.

PROS
-Unbelievable service by staff.
-Clean comfortable rooms with all facilities. Hotel was very clean overall.
-Great pool, gym and spa. (Staff cleaned my sunglasses for nothing down at the pool.)
-Excellent food at the Hotel restaraunt, though not street prices.
-Close to city, restaraunts, bars and entertainment. Tuk Tuk taxis cost only $2 roundtrip.
-Ankor Watt temples are only several kilometers away.

CONS
-Noise from other rooms can be heard, (slamming doors ) especially when they are leaving early in the morning for tours or going to the airport.

Overall a great Hotel that provided the best service I have ever experienced.

Room Tip: Rooms that overlook the pool have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jendaveNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
It’s great to know that your visit to the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor was one of the best and thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel. We’d love to welcome you back again and please let us know when you have booked your next stay so we can ensure it’s equally memorable.

Kindest regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012 via mobile

In the midst of our vacation to Thailand we made a three night stop in Siem Reap. This trip was our first trip to Southeast Asia. The Raffles hotel was very nice, with the feel of an older European hotel. We were in the main, original building. The rooms were a nice size, with a small balcony overlooking the pool. The beds were comfortable and there was always plenty of bottled water and complimentary fresh fruit. Our package included breakfast, which was very good. The hotel was very clean and the service was very good. Sometimes they tried a little too hard, but I can't really fault them for being overly friendly and amibitious. The only downsides to the hotel were that the bathrooms were small and outdated and the gym was only fair. One thing worth highlighting is that the hotel set us up with an excellent tour guide by the name of Nara Touch. Nara is an English speaking guide and a Cambodian native. We were travelling with our 15 and 11 year old daughters and Nara was very sensitive to making sure that our tour was enjoyable for the whole family. On our first day he took us to see three temples including Angkor Wat. He knew that anything more than that would be too much for our kids. He took us to a clean, friendly place for lunch and helped us order. He was full of knowledge about the sites and Cambodia's history. We liked him so much, we booked a second day with him for him to show us more stuff off the beaten path. He gave us a real feel for Cambodian culture. We also wanted to go souvenir shopping and he took us to some stores that weren't the typical junk stores. I can't say enough about Nara.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
We really appreciate the great feedback on our hotel and on service in particular. It’s a pleasure to know that you liked your room and our little gestures of showing you our hospitality. With the warmest regards and a huge thank you from our entire team here at Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor.

Kindest regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#38 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
1.9 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#19 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#53 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,494 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.3 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#27 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor

Property: Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Address: 1 Vithei Charles de Gaulle | Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#48 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#48 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set across from the Royal Palace, is one of the landmark historic hotels of the legendary Grand Tour of Indochina. Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor first opened its doors in 1932 but the legend lives on today after careful restoration. The hotel is rich in Cambodia history and full of original treasures, right down to the original working cage elevator in the lobby. Our doorman still welcomes everyone in a uniform inspired by the Royal Palace With the privilege of over 15 acres of beautifully landscaped French gardens and built around the country’s largest swimming pool, the hotel is a peaceful oasis to which to retreat after exploring the temples in the UNESCO World Heritage site only 10 minutes from the hotel. Relax and revitalise under the fragrant frangipani trees beside the magnificent pool inspired by Angkorian architecture, or enjoy a massage to ease away the travel. Stroll along the river to the vibrant markets and wonderful array of dining options. In addition to beautifully restored guest rooms you can choose from one of the luxury suites, including our most popular Cabana Suites with direct access from the balcony to the garden and pool. You may be surprised to know that Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor also has two of Siem Reap’s most luxurious two-bedroom Villas, providing utmost privacy and personal butler service in the private poolside setting. Food gourmets will delight with a variety of options including the popular Raffles Afternoon Tea and the Apsara Terrace, Siem Reap’s best cultural dance performance and dinner in the poolside gardens. For golf enthusiasts, there are several international golf courses and we recommend the award-winning Nick Faldo designed Angkor Golf Resort. Golf packages are available Complete your visit to Cambodia with a stay at our sister hotel Raffles Hotel Le Royal, Phnom Penh open since 1929 and the capital city’s only luxury landmark hotel. With lush tropical gardens and built around two swimming pools it is an oasis for travelers exploring the vibrant capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Grand Hotel d Angkor
Raffles Grand Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing